Upgrade to SSD

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Lynne326, Sep 12, 2018.

  1. Lynne326 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    #1
  2. Gen macrumors 6502a

    Gen

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
  3. Fishrrman macrumors G5

    Fishrrman

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #3
    NO !!
    DO NOT GET
    a "hybrid" drive!

    Get a REAL SATA SSD.
     
  4. Lynne326 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    #4
    Thank you Gen and Fishrrman, I didn't actually notice it was a hybrid. Thanks for pointing that out. Looking for a 1TB one though, the Samsung is 500GB.
     
  5. Fishrrman macrumors G5

    Fishrrman

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #5
    Do you really need 1tb?
    Why not get a 500gb drive and "leave some not-really-needed stuff" on the old drive?
     
  6. Lynne326 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    #6
    Yes, I thought of that too, probably is what I'll do actually. :)
    Thanks!
     
  7. weckart macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    #7
  8. theluggage macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    #8
    Do you use the CD/DVD drive much?

    If not, you can get a ""data doubler" kit that lets you fit a second HD drive (e.g. the old drive that you're replacing with the SSD) in place of the CD/DVD drive. Then you can get the speed advantage of having a SSD as your system drive while offloading bulky stuff (iTunes library, photo library, static video files etc.) onto the HD. For a long time my 2011 MBP had a 256GB SSD as a system drive and the original 700GB spinner in the optical bay - hat worked well.

    This is the sort of thing: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B077M2R98K - not the one I had which seems to be unavailable.

    ...its a bit trickier than just replacing the hard drive (which is a doddle) but not too bad - just make sure you have the right screwdriver so you don't strip screw-heads - some of the kits include screwdrivers which may be worth it if you don't have a set of mini crosshead/torx drivers.
     
  9. Lynne326 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    #9

    Thanks you, theluggage! I appreciate the suggestion. :D
    --- Post Merged, Sep 12, 2018 ---

    Great to know, thank you weckart!
     
  10. MSastre macrumors 6502

    MSastre

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2014
    #10
    A good place for quality SSDs is Crucial. I've put several of them in the different Macs here. Highly recommend them. Come in several sizes.
     
  11. Lynne326 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    #11
    Awesome! Thanks!
     
  12. Lynne326, Sep 13, 2018
    Last edited: Sep 13, 2018

    Lynne326 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    #12
    Once I install the SSD, can I just use my time machine backup for all my files and programs? Is there something I need to install first? Thanks!
     
  13. NT1440 macrumors G4

    NT1440

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    #13
    I’ve used time machine OR plugging in the old drive with a usb to sata cable on that exact machine for several friends. Both methods work flawlessly. Your machine is going to work better than ever with an SSD.
     
  14. Lynne326 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    #14
    Thank you, NT1440. So that's it? I don't need to install an OSX or anything first before my time machine?
     
  15. NT1440 macrumors G4

    NT1440

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    #15
    On a 2010 machine once the drive is installed you’ll need to install the OS first (either via recovery mode which you’ll need to look up as it changed around that timeframe). Once the OS is installed the setup process will present you with the option to restore from Time Machine, point to your backup and let it run. You’ll be good to go once it’s complete, with an exact copy of your previous installation.

    I’d make sure your Time Machine backup is fully up to date.

    From Apple’s web page:

    Shift-Option-Command-R to start up from macOS Recovery over the Internet.

    You want to do the internet recovery as it will install the latest OS.
     
  16. Lynne326 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    #16
    So, once I have the SSD in, I do the Shift-Option-Command-R while powering up?

    Does it install the factory version of the OSX, or what version?

    Thanks!
     
  17. NT1440 macrumors G4

    NT1440

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    #17
    That option, if it works, will install the newest version of macOS available.

    I say if it works because Internet Recovery (what we're trying to use) was introduced around 09 or '10 and I can't remember which.

    But yes, once you get a picture of a globe you just wait a while for the setup screen and you're off to the races.
     
  18. Lynne326 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
  19. Cave Man macrumors 604

    Cave Man

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Location:
    Neander Valley, Germany; just outside Duesseldorf
    #19
    I suggest that a USB to SATA adapter or case should be used to clone the original drive to the new SSD using Carbon Copy Cloner (free for 30 days) first, then test that the computer can boot from the USB-connected SSD before replacing the internal hard drive with the SSD.
     
  20. Lynne326 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    #20
    I have one of these that I used before - https://eshop.macsales.com/item/OWC/MOTGS3U3/ Is this what you are talking about?
     
  21. Cave Man macrumors 604

    Cave Man

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Location:
    Neander Valley, Germany; just outside Duesseldorf
    #21
  22. macagain macrumors regular

    macagain

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2002
    #22
  23. Lynne326 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    #23
    Thank you, Cave Man!
    --- Post Merged, Sep 14, 2018 at 7:54 AM ---
    Hmmm.. "sudo trimforce enable to enable TRIM on 3rd party drives" is a bit over my head, is it necessary? Sounds complicated.
     
  24. NT1440 macrumors G4

    NT1440

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    #24
    Good advice, I didn’t know whether OP had a cable already or not son I opted for instructions based on a Time Machine backup. Your method is way simpler.
     
  25. MSastre macrumors 6502

    MSastre

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2014
    #25
    If going into Terminal is too complicated for you, Disk Sensei can take care of enabling TRIM for you. I use it on a 2009 MBP and also a 2010 Mac Pro.
     

Share This Page