Upgraded 2009 2.66 Mac Pro With W3580!

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by wispy007, May 6, 2011.

  1. wispy007 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #1
    Hi,

    I completed the upgrade earlier this week, however the system profiler shows the cpu as 3.32Ghz.

    Does anyone know how to correct this?

    All the other programs that use the system info show it correctly at 3.33Ghz.

    It's not really important but kind of annoying :rolleyes:

    By the way, aperture now updates pictures almost instantly :)
     
  2. derbothaus macrumors 601

    derbothaus

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    #2
    Not important. It just isn't rounding up. 3.329 is most likely it's operating freq. When discussed it is rounded up.
     
  3. sbb155 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
  4. wonderspark macrumors 68030

    wonderspark

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Location:
    Oregon
    #4
    For what it's worth, mine shipped from Apple with the W3580, and it says 3.32 as well.
     
  5. wispy007 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #5
    The upgrade was easy, it took about half an hour. I followed this thread http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1122551

    I bought the chip from here http://cgi.ebay.com.au/ws/eBayISAPI...24263&ssPageName=STRK:MEWNX:IT#ht_1476wt_1141

    I did not apply thermal paste all over the cpu as he did, i just applied a line down the centre as per the artic silver web site. When the cpu is under constant load (750% +) the fans do kick in and it the temps get close to 95-97C.

    Wonderspark - do you see the same temps/fan activity in your machine?
     
  6. jcgraphics77 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    #6
    Was it worth it?

    Hey Wispy, do you find a dramatic performance increase going from the 2.66 to 3.33 processor? I also have a 2009 2.66 and would like it to be a little snappier. I primarily run Photoshop CS5 and Lightroom 3. What apps do you run?

    Thanks,
    John
     
  7. wispy007 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #7
    Hi John,

    I use Aperture 3 and iPhoto mainly. Aperture performance increase was very good, iPhoto also improved. On the OS side everything feels a lot snappier but I would find it hard to quantify. I picked mine up as a new OEM for $480 but you can get the W3565 (3.2 quad) for around $300. You should get a similar performance upgrade, It's a nice upgrade for very little effort.

    If you want me to perform any tests then I'd be happy to help.
     
  8. AZREOSpecialist macrumors 68000

    AZREOSpecialist

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    #8
    If you follow this thread and install the 2010 Mac Pro firmware on your 2009 Mac Pro (identical hardware), your Mac will report the frequency of your W3580 correctly as 3.33 GHz, not 3.32 GHz. I've had the same chip in my Mac Pro since March 2009, and until I swapped the firmware it also reported as 3.32 GHz.

    By applying the 2010 firmware, you will also be able to upgrade to any of the Xeon chips used in the 2010 Mac Pro models. Just make sure you get the correct series chip depending on if you have a DP or SP system. I'm eager to get my hands on a 6-core W3690 @ 3.42 GHz, which should work. Apple doesn't even offer this configuration, just like they didn't offer the W3580 when I installed one into my machine. This is so awesome... for $1,000 I can buy a W3690@ 3.42 GHz and I have a 2009 Mac Pro (single processor) system that can beat the pants off of any single-CPU Mac Pro offered by Apple in its store TODAY.
     
  9. philipma1957 macrumors 603

    philipma1957

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Location:
    Howell, New Jersey
    #9
  10. sammyman macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    #10
    Did the price of that RAM fall last night? Yesterday the cheapest I could find was closer to $180. I thought I got a screaming deal at around $115 / stick, but it was used. That looks like a great deal!

    Edit: Is there any difference between:

    http://www.google.com/products/cata...sAPi9uDMCw&ved=0CEoQ_QgwBg&biw=1869&bih=1084#

    AND

    http://www.google.com/products/cata...w&ved=0CEgQ8wIwAw&biw=1869&bih=1084#scoring=p

    I bought the latter. Hope it works in my MP.
     
  11. rawbot69 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2012
    #11

Share This Page