Upgraded from 1,1 to 2,1; Now what?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by CharCat, Jan 28, 2018.

  1. CharCat macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2018
    #1
    I ran the firmware upgrade referenced in these fora that was p[osted over on netkas. Other than a few a few moments of worry as the screen stayed gray then black, it went as slick as snot on a door knob. Boot ROM now shows 21.007F.B06 (SMC is still 1.7f10).
    I'm currently running 10.7.5 on 2 x 2core 2.66 Xeon & 8GB RAM. I still need to see if the the second riser is bad as the last time I tried loading it with 8GB RAM the Mac Pro wouldn't boot. GPU is a NVidia 7300GT.
    So, can I easily upgrade beyond 10.7.5 now? I ask as so many app and even Apple Radio stations are crippled by anything older than 10.9 or 10.10. Hopefully in a few years I'll be as proficient on my Mac Pro as I was on my homebrew WinTel box.
    Thank you much.
     
  2. CapnDavey macrumors 6502

    CapnDavey

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2015
    #3
    get a better video card first a hd4870 or better that will boot on a 2006 mac pro flash it yourself its not hard then install a hacked version of a newer OS X bingo you got something more useable.
     
  3. pl1984 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2017
    #4
    The difference between a 2,1 and a 1,1 is that the 2,1 utilizes the quad core Xeon X5365 processor. Otherwise the two systems are identical with the same limitations. Upgrading a 1,1 to a 2,1 allows you to use the quad core processor which is the only benefit to the upgrade.
     
  4. CharCat thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2018
    #5
    pl1984 - Thanks for the tip.
    Capn Davey - I may just try that. Right now I'm just surfing and playing Solitaire as I learn the quirks of OSx.
    orph - Thanks for the link.

    To all - Thanks for helping this half blind old man playing with his first Mac. For $150 I figured I couldn't go too far wrong, especially considering a new Mac is ten times that but without ten times the functionality.
     
  5. CharCat thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2018
    #6
  6. orph macrumors 68000

    orph

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #7
  7. CharCat thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2018
    #8
    Thanks for the tips but they all say nothing older than a 2008 Mac Pro. My Mac Pro is originally an 1,1 machine. And what is a "sported version" of OSX.

    And how dare you suggest just using Windows on a Mac web site. :)
     
  8. orph macrumors 68000

    orph

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #9
    well iv never tried it so all my help is from a quick google.
    there is guides here for it im shore worth looking.
    or
    may be worth seeing if you can use an alternative app or see if you can pick up a used macmin cheep (one that is supported on the currant version of OSX ) they tend to not cost to much used.
     
  9. CharCat thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2018
    #10
    I found this YouTube video - - that gives some hints and links for modded El Cap. It's worth a shot I guess.
     
  10. SamirPD macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2018
    Location:
    HSV CHI
    #11
    The other thing you can do if you just want to use the system is to run linux. Many distros now have a very OS X feel and are pretty quick, especially on older hardware. You can even try a live cd before installing it permanently.

    And that system has a lot of potential--with some quad core cpu upgrades, a video card update, and maxing out the ram, you can have a little powerhouse for next to nothing (since all the components are so old--I have so much spare RAM because I got a bundle so cheap).
     
  11. CharCat thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2018
    #12
    Thanks, SamirPD. It's running fine with Lion (10.7.5). The main reason I'd like to bump up to El Cap or even Mav is because so many apps are crippled with Lion or less. Planned obsolescence by Apple. I do need to check the second RAM riser to see if it's funked up because under Snow Leopard the unit wouldn't boot when the riser was installed. If it was a matter of PEBKAC, I'll have 16GB RAM. Onwards and upwards.
     
  12. SamirPD macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2018
    Location:
    HSV CHI
    #13
    Yeah, the upgrade game really sucks. At least on PC platforms you can find the old versions and just run them.

    It might not be the risers, but even the ram for whatever reason. The good thing about two risers is that you can swap them and use divide and conquer to figure out whats wrong. You know that can go up to 32gb of ram right? 4GB PC2-5300F modules are cheap. Just remember that the jedec heatsink versions may need extra cooling; I recently did some tests on a bunch of 4GB modules I have and found different heatspreader designs cool up to 14c differently between designs.
     
  13. CharCat thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2018
    #14
    Right. Reset the ram into the riser then reset the riser. The Mac booted just fine and showed 16GB. I have too many projects going on at once but my next step is to install second HDD (WD 500GB SATA) and then see if I can install a later version of OS X, such as El Cap. The box has a Geforce 7700 in it and I've read I'll need to get at least a 8800GT. Is that correct?
     
  14. iModFrenzy macrumors 6502a

    iModFrenzy

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2015
    Location:
    Our actions define our legacy
    #15
    Mac Pro 1,1/2,1 doesn’t support any SSE4.1 CPUs(making Sierra and above not possible), El Capitan is the max it’ll go.
     
  15. rawweb macrumors 6502a

    rawweb

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2015
    #16
    I just picked up a 1,1 for $30 at a university sale. Not a bad little machine, decided to make it my tinker toy.

    I found the following parts on eBay:

    Apple Airport and Bluetooth cards - $13.99
    Xeon X5635 x2 3GHZ Quad Core (8c total) $50
    32GB 667 ECC Ram - $38
    And a couple of long L SATA cables on Amazon for $5.00 for adding SATA to the optical bays.

    Flashed to 2,1 and threw El Cap on, not a bad little machine for being as ancient as she is. I'm impressed with how zippy it is for it's age. I had a couple of old SSD's laying around and two Apple/ATI 5770 GPUs collecting dust. So total investment of about $137? Not a bad little tinker box. I'm going to take it to work and let interns cut Facebook videos on it for a while. I'm running low on Mac's ever since the 6,1 chocked on it's video flex cables and went to iHeaven. Hehe.
     
  16. CharCat thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2018
    #17
    I'd be happy with ElCap. I haven't seen any real benefits beyond it, kind of like no benefits except more spyware in Win10 as opposed to Win7.
     

Share This Page

16 January 28, 2018