Upgraded mac pro 2.66 Quad to 2.66 Octo. Questions.

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by orbitalpunk, Aug 3, 2007.

  1. orbitalpunk macrumors 6502

    orbitalpunk

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    #1
    Hi there,

    I upgraded my quad 2.66 to a octo 2.66 mac pro and had a question for someone else you has done the same. My activity monitor now only shows 1 CPU meter. but the system profiler says 8 cores. anyone else only seeing 1 cpu meter in the activity monitor?

    Thanks
     
  2. Eithanius macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2005
    #2
    I have a standard octo-3.0 and yes, it has only 1 CPU meter. The lower area of the Activity Monitor has an area way to small to accommodate 8 CPU meters, unlike the duals and quads. And when you try to load 4 cores, half the CPU meter will display load activities. The increment goes when you load more cores...
     
  3. sbb155 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    #3
    how did you upgrade? are quad 2.6 processors out? was it easy?
     
  4. Lone Deranger macrumors 65816

    Lone Deranger

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #4
    Okay.. this won't do at all... You're going to elaborate on how exactly you pulled that one of. :confused:
    I'd be very interested in going this route myself. Please spill the beans. :)

     
  5. orbitalpunk thread starter macrumors 6502

    orbitalpunk

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    #5
    well your in luck, i took the whole process on video and will be posting it as my initial video on my website soon. its free, dont worry. give me a day to cut it up into a nice vid. ill post back here.

    and yes, 2.66 quads have been out of a while. they just price dropped also. on price grabber you can find them for $800 a piece. i found mine on ebay for 710 a piece.


    oh, theres only one other glitch, they show up as unknown under about this mac.

    [IMG]http://tinyurl.com/2vekr8[/IMG]

    but system profiler is fine

    [IMG]http://tinyurl.com/2m58je[/IMG]

    and this is me rendering a 3d scene in maya. cut my render times in half.

    [IMG]http://tinyurl.com/2vluzx[/IMG]
     
  6. Lone Deranger macrumors 65816

    Lone Deranger

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #6
    That's awesome Orbitalpunk! Using Maya here myself alongside modo, zBrush and XSI. Speaking of which, have you tried checking under bootcamp if all is well?

    I shall look forward to seeing your vid. Thanks for doing this! :D

     
  7. cr2sh macrumors 68030

    cr2sh

    Joined:
    May 28, 2002
    Location:
    downtown
    #7
    Rock on. This is fantastic news... can't wait to see the video, although right now.. the quad 2.66 FAR exceeds my needs.
     
  8. motoxpress macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2006
    #8
    Very interesting! So much for the warranty though :/

    -mx
     
  9. macenforcer macrumors 65816

    macenforcer

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    Location:
    Colorado
    #9
    He can just put the original cpu's back if there is a problem. Like apple would know the difference. Besides, I think the Mac Pro rarely has any problems requiring service. Not like it has liquid coolent leakage problems you know?
     
  10. slughead macrumors 68040

    slughead

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    #10
  11. motoxpress macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2006
    #11
    Yeah, if he holds on to those procs then he could be fine. Most will probably sell them though to try to recoup some of their investment.

    -mx
     
  12. motoxpress macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2006
    #12
    Not trivial but, reminds me a bit of the process of changing a HD in a MBP :)

    -mx
     
  13. Lone Deranger macrumors 65816

    Lone Deranger

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #13
    So what type of quad proc specifically does one need to get hold of (other than 2.66 or 3.0GHz) to ensure it'll work? I had a quick browse for Xeon Clovertowns, but quickly got lost in the confusing array of numbers, names and technotalk.
    Any good tips for reliable UK shops?
     
  14. Umbongo macrumors 601

    Umbongo

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Location:
    England
    #14
    Intel Xeon X5355 are the 2.66GHz clovertowns you'd probably want. Looks like they are selling for just under £500 at the moment here in the UK. I'd normally buy from scan.co.uk, but their pricing on this item is messed up at the moment. Wait a couple of weeks and see what the prices settle at using one of the pricing sites like pricegrabber, pricerunner or google's product search.
     
  15. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #15
    Great video. :D

    That might be me in a few years.
     
  16. Multimedia macrumors 603

    Multimedia

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2001
    Location:
    Santa Cruz CA, Silicon Beach
    #16
    Refurb 8-Core 3GHz Mac Pros Are Only $1,200 More Than Refurb 4-Core 2.66GHz Model

    That means it's cheaper to buy a refurbished 3GHz 8 core Mac Pro with warranty intact for only $1200 more than the refurbished 2.66GHz 4 core Mac Pro. So no point in doing this.

    4 core 2.66GHz Mac Pro refurbished $2,199
    8 core 3GHz Mac Pro refurbished $3,399

    Only $1,200 more.

    But still looking forward to your video. The german video is incomplete. Nothing about how they dealt with the goo on the processor before replacing the heat sinks. And I can't understand what size-type those screw drivers are either. Thank you for sharing.
     
  17. Wild-Bill macrumors 68030

    Wild-Bill

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    Location:
    bleep
    #17
    Screws I believe are "torx" screws.

    As far as the "goo" goes....... you would prep the mating surfaces (bottom of heat sink and top of processor) by cleaning it with some isopropyl alcohol and a lint-free cloth, making sure not to get your fingers on either because you will leave grease deposits. Before installing a heatsink to a processor you need to apply some thermal interface material (TIM). Best on the market right now is called "Arctic Silver 5". Apply a dab in the middle of the processor (the size of about a grain of rice), then install heatsink. Done.
     
  18. Fearless Leader macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2006
    Location:
    Hoosiertown
    #19
    The screw type in the video is an allen wrench.

    What happens if you put two different processors in there?
     
  19. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #20
    I thought they were hex or torx.

    Thermal paste isn't that complicated either. Well don't ask Apple about it...
     
  20. ziwi macrumors 65816

    ziwi

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    Right back where I started...
    #21
    What would happen if one only upgraded one chip - is that possible? Essentially having a 6 core machine...that would be an interesting experiment...
     
  21. Umbongo macrumors 601

    Umbongo

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Location:
    England
    #22
    I don't think they will boot with two different processors in them.
     
  22. orbitalpunk thread starter macrumors 6502

    orbitalpunk

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    #23
    but i sold my old cpus for $700. so i saved $500 when compared to your refurbished numbers. But I never buy refurbished. my 2.66 was brand new. it would have to be new which a 3ghz is $4,545.00. so comparing from selling my old 2.66 for say $2200 on ebay I would have to put $2345 more into a new 3ghz system. so only spending $700 more for a 2.66 octo cpu's for me sounds a lot better. so in my case i saved myself $1645. and you dont think thats worth it? hmm.....

    and its a desktop so i am not worried about having a warranty like a am with my macbook pro. with the money i saved, i could buy a motherboard if that ever blew, which has never happened to me at least since my 486DX 33mhz packard bell w/turbo button waaaaaay back in the day.

    oh and yes, i used the x5355 cpus.
     
  23. orbitalpunk thread starter macrumors 6502

    orbitalpunk

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    #24
    the heatsinks are 3mm or 1/8 hex. not torx. but oddly enough, on two of the screws the hex would not fit. really really strange. but a torx of similar size worked fine.

    in my vid will talk about thermal paste and proper cleaning of the older past. so clean you can lick it. using a 2 stage process. and no strong chemicals either. its s citrus based cleaner.
     
  24. mcc macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    #25
    I went to Intel to look at the quad-processors. I found the X5355. One thing that I didn't find was anything that matched the 3.00 GHz quad-processor in the 5000 series that matches Apple's offering. What does Apple use?
     

Share This Page