Upgraded my Cube from a 500MHz to a 1.5GHz!

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by gavinstubbs09, Mar 9, 2015.

  1. gavinstubbs09 macrumors 65816

    gavinstubbs09

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Location:
    NorCal boonies ~~~by Reno sorta
    #1
    Wanted to say thanks to ctmpkmlec4 for selling me this CPU upgrade he had sitting around.

    Anyway, this job was about three hours to rip apart the Cube and install a fan then the processor. I ended up removing 95% of anything attached which was a major pain but it all worked out. This project is a major pain in the ass, and you'll only want to do it once! The nice thing is pretty much every screw is a T9 torx. The worst part was trying to make the fan connector work with the port on the VRM board which unfortunately I broke, not to worry I just tapped into the 12v/ground line on the hard drive/optical drive wire.

    Runs great and the startup speed compared to before is quite impressive, even other programs in OS X are much more responsive. TFF is much happier and doesn't lag nearly as much as it used to!

    I wish I geekbenched it with the 500MHz but too late now. I will however geekbench it in a bit and compare it to my 466MHz Digital Audio.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. ctmpkmlec4 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2014
    Location:
    Lyons, KS
  3. desantii macrumors 6502

    desantii

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Location:
    Aurora, IL
  4. bunnspecial macrumors 603

    bunnspecial

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #4
    Very nice, and I'm also jealous :)

    I'll benchmark my 500mhz Cube when it arrives for comparison.
     
  5. fhall1 macrumors 68040

    fhall1

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Location:
    (Central) NY State of mind
  6. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
  7. poiihy macrumors 68020

    poiihy

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2014
    #7
    How much heat does that 1.5GHz chipset emit? Can it be used without a fan?
     
  8. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #8
    A fan must be used for any CPU upgrade in a Cube.
     
  9. poiihy macrumors 68020

    poiihy

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2014
    #9
    I see. Gavinstubbs what fan are you using there? It looks like it has a metal core or cap on the propellor.
     
  10. ctmpkmlec4 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2014
    Location:
    Lyons, KS
    #10
    It's a Panaflo brand. Can't remember model number, but it's nearly silent.
     
  11. bunnspecial macrumors 603

    bunnspecial

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #11
    Gavin,

    What's the RAM configuration in yours-i.e. the size of sticks that are giving you 768mb?

    I want to benchmark my still-stock 500mhz, but want to duplicate your RAM set-up so that the results are as comparable as possible.
     
  12. gavinstubbs09 thread starter macrumors 65816

    gavinstubbs09

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Location:
    NorCal boonies ~~~by Reno sorta
    #13
    3x256MB sticks :)
     
  13. bunnspecial macrumors 603

    bunnspecial

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #14
    Okay, I don't think I can do that at the moment. Stand by-I'll try to do it on Monday.
     
  14. bunnspecial macrumors 603

    bunnspecial

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #15
    I found a stash of 256mb RAM sticks so I could duplicate Gavin's set up in an otherwise stock 500mhz Cube.

    Here's Geekbench and Xbench.
     

    Attached Files:

  15. Anonymous Freak macrumors 601

    Anonymous Freak

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Location:
    Cascadia
    #16
    I have a 1.5 GHz upgrade that I haven't gotten around to throwing in mine yet. I want to figure out how to underclock it to 1 GHz so that it's still reasonable speed, yet draws less power. (I also need to throw my passively cooled, flashed GeForce 6200LE in, and an SSD.)
     
  16. desantii macrumors 6502

    desantii

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Location:
    Aurora, IL
    #17
    I'll run it on my cube at 1.8ghz to get my score as well
     
  17. gavinstubbs09 thread starter macrumors 65816

    gavinstubbs09

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Location:
    NorCal boonies ~~~by Reno sorta
    #18
    Thanks for the results bunn :)

    I'll benchmark mine once I get home from my college classes.

    -

    My Cube loves to create heat, so much that the system will lock up after using it for a bit with the fan running at full speed. I had to let the cube air cool one day for hours on end!

    ----------

    Awesome! I'd love to create a dedicated Cube page on the PowerPC Archive talking about the difference in speeds between 450/500MHz and the various CPU upgrades!
     
  18. desantii macrumors 6502

    desantii

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Location:
    Aurora, IL
  19. flyrod macrumors 6502

    flyrod

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2015
    #20
    Which way is that fan pointed?
     
  20. poiihy, Mar 23, 2015
    Last edited: Mar 23, 2015

    poiihy macrumors 68020

    poiihy

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2014
    #21
    It's pointed downwards looks like.
    Huh I never noticed that before.
    It really should be pointed upwards.
    All it's doing is sucking air from the top and blowing it out the bottom. The air doesn't flow straight through the heat sink. The fan should be sucking air from the bottom and blowing it straight through to the top.
     
  21. ctmpkmlec4 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2014
    Location:
    Lyons, KS
    #22
    There should be arrows in the outside of the housing to indicate fan rotation and airflow. You want the airflow going upwards.
     
  22. bunnspecial macrumors 603

    bunnspecial

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #23
    I can benchmark a 450 pretty easily. I also want to redo the 500 with 1.5gb of RAM, as that's what it will have in it for actual use(all my other Cubes have 1.5gb). The RAM amount DOES affect the Geekbench score. Even though Xbench doesn't give a nice "total" number like Geekbench, I do like the fact that you can actually examine individual aspects of performance in their real, measured value.
     
  23. jbarley, Mar 23, 2015
    Last edited: Mar 23, 2015

    jbarley macrumors 68040

    jbarley

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Location:
    Vancouver Island
    #24
    Just something to add to this thread, my Cube is 1.0 Ghz running off an internal mounted SSD.

    GeekBench and XBench
    ---------------------------------------------------------
    IMG_0199.jpg

    Results 45.75
    System Info
    Xbench Version 1.3
    System Version 10.4.11 (8S165)
    Physical RAM 1536 MB
    Model PowerMac5,1
    Processor PowerPC G4 @ 1.00 GHz
    Version 7455 (Apollo) v2.1
    L1 Cache 32K (instruction), 32K (data)
    L2 Cache 256K @ 500 MHz
    L3 Cache 2048K @ 250 MHz
    Bus Frequency 100 MHz
    Video Card ATY,Rage128Pro
    Drive Type OWC Mercury Extreme Pro SSD
    CPU Test 45.37
    GCD Loop 81.03 4.27 Mops/sec
    Floating Point Basic 34.48 819.24 Mflop/sec
    AltiVec Basic 114.63 4.57 Gflop/sec
    vecLib FFT 36.08 1.19 Gflop/sec
    Floating Point Library 30.85 5.37 Mops/sec
    Thread Test 44.19
    Computation 42.99 870.93 Kops/sec, 4 threads
    Lock Contention 45.46 1.96 Mlocks/sec, 4 threads
    Memory Test 25.72
    System 29.13
    Allocate 84.04 308.63 Kalloc/sec
    Fill 30.50 1482.85 MB/sec
    Copy 17.15 354.28 MB/sec
    Stream 23.02
    Copy 25.90 535.00 MB/sec [altivec]
    Scale 26.24 542.01 MB/sec [altivec]
    Add 21.77 463.65 MB/sec [altivec]
    Triad 19.57 418.56 MB/sec [altivec]
     
  24. desantii macrumors 6502

    desantii

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Location:
    Aurora, IL
    #25
    If it's running at 1.5ghz it's probably a 7447 with no L3. No point in running it at 1.0ghz when you could get a sonnet 1.0 or 1.2 with 2mb cache. Those run fairly cool

     

Share This Page