Upgrading 2011 Mini Server - questions

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by patent10021, Jun 26, 2012.

  1. patent10021 macrumors 68020

    patent10021

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    #1
    Hi

    So I installed 16GB of RAM a couple of weeks ago and wow is my Mini Server fast. Anyway next are the HDs and I just want to confirm some info. I want to install a 2TB 2.5 inch SATA HD as a scratch disk but can't seem to find them. I guess they don't exist? 1TB is the max?

    Then I want to install SSD for my OS and main audio applications i.e. Logic/ProTools. I might wait though because not only are they still expensive but people are reporting compatibility issues. Still seems a bit sketchy to upgrade to SSD for the moment.

    What do you think?
     
  2. swordfish5736 macrumors 68000

    swordfish5736

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Location:
    Cesspool
    #2
    Western digital makes a 2.5" 2tb drive. Not sure if it can be bought as a bare drive or in there enclosure only but you could pull it out of that. Just make sure whatever drive you get is 9.5mm tall
     
  3. patent10021 thread starter macrumors 68020

    patent10021

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    #3
    Oh, thanks didn't know that.
     
  4. blevins321 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2010
    Location:
    Winnipeg, MB
    #4
    Had you thought about THIS? Much faster compared to a single 5400 internal drive. Especially if you leave it in RAID0.
     
  5. Ifti macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Location:
    UK
    #5
    I have a 2TB 2.5" WD drive in the 'My Passport Studio' case.
    I don't think it would fit in the Mini even if taken out of the case due to the increased height of the drive.

    I have both 1Tb and 2TB My Passport Studio drive - both exactly the same, although the 2TB drive case is even a few mm thicker then the 1TB.
     
  6. patent10021 thread starter macrumors 68020

    patent10021

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    #6
    Ah so not 9.5mm hey?
    Interesting.
    190MB/s hey? How fast are regular 7200rpm SATA HDs that everyone uses? Do I have to use it in raid? Unfortunately if used separately they are only 1TB each. You can find 1TB HDs for $70.00.
     
  7. kobyh15 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2011
    #7
    WD makes a Scorpio Blue 1 TB drive that should fit. Don't know of any 2 TB drives that will fit.
     
  8. philipma1957 macrumors 603

    philipma1957

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Location:
    Howell, New Jersey
    #8
    i think you should leave the 2 drives inside your mini alone. i think you should look into a thunderbolt external ssd. read my threads on this site about the lacie little big disk and about seagate t-bolt adapter.
     
  9. patent10021 thread starter macrumors 68020

    patent10021

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    #9
    Thats fine about the external but what about the System HD? Im doing audio so I would like it to perform as fast as possible.
     
  10. Ifti macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Location:
    UK
    #10
    I would go ahead with the SSD for the system disk - I will be installing a SSD as the system disk and a 1TB WD Scorpio Blue as the second drive. That sounds like it would be suitable for you as well?
    Just waiting for this bloody update to come along!!!!
     
  11. philipma1957, Jun 28, 2012
    Last edited: Jun 28, 2012

    philipma1957 macrumors 603

    philipma1957

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Location:
    Howell, New Jersey
    #11
    the internal hdds are for your backups the external thunderbolt is your system hdds. did you read the threads? here are the links

    this is good

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1317577


    this is better

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1280118


    I run 2 lacie little big disks using 4 ssds 3 in a raid0 1 as jbod .


    I built this in dec and it is very stable I have run this with 3 256gb samsung ssd's in a raid0 for months as my osx disk. I use 2 lacie little big disks in daisy chain.

    I built this cutting edge in dec so i used 256gb ssds you could build this for under 1127 with 2 512gb ssds or for under 815.00 with 2 256gb ssds.
     

    Attached Files:

  12. patent10021 thread starter macrumors 68020

    patent10021

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    #12
    I'm a little surprised here. I Read the threads. Are people using these external Thunderbolt HDD now for the OS only? If the HDD can be connected to various Thunderbolt devices such as "27 display via Thunderbolt then what function does the Mac Mini serve? Is it possible to have a working system contained within a single Thunderbolt HDD and not have the Mac Mini in the equation at all?
     
  13. blevins321 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2010
    Location:
    Winnipeg, MB
    #13
    You still need the Mini to be the Processor, graphics, memory, etc. the only part taken out of the equation is internal storage.
     
  14. patent10021 thread starter macrumors 68020

    patent10021

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    #14
    Hmm so someone like myself who is doing audio could just go out and find the fastest CPU config in the market connect to these Thunderbolt SSDs. Same idea as OSx86 I guess?
     
  15. philipma1957 macrumors 603

    philipma1957

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Location:
    Howell, New Jersey
    #15
    yes you could. state of the art thunderbolt is this ;


    http://www.techpowerup.com/167558/P...stest-Ultra-Portable-Thunderbolt-Storage.html


    it comes out in sept. in theory you could bring this and plug into different machines in different studios. this works on 2011 mac minis imacs macbook air macbook pro but this would work for windows this year.


    http://www.anandtech.com/show/5904/gigabyte-dual-thunderbolt-on-z77


    http://www.tonymacx86.com/viewtopic.php?f=277&t=62846&start=0


    I have been with mac for more then 15 years but last year I have been doing more windows. I am looking to build a home network of 3 or 4 minis and a killer diy pc. Just gathering parts for now.
     
  16. patent10021 thread starter macrumors 68020

    patent10021

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    #16
    Yeah as long as I can run Lion on it for Logic pro I don't care if its Mac or Pc hardware. I just want the fastest.
     

Share This Page