upgrading good 'ol Mini

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by fran010180, Jul 12, 2011.

  1. fran010180 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    #1
    Hi guys
    I was wondering if it was possible/advisable to put an SSD into a ICD/1,66 mac ?

    Actually I'm fancing to remove the optic drive for a small SSD and to substitute the HD for a larger one.

    Am I totally nut ? :confused:

    thanks for your advice
     
  2. philipma1957 macrumors 603

    philipma1957

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Location:
    Howell, New Jersey
    #2
    costly. you need an adapter as the 1.66 mac mini's optical drive uses pata/ide you need an adapter tray 20 bucks or so a 64 gb ssd 100 or so a nice hdd like a scorpio black 500gb 65 bucks so that is about 185 or more to do it.
     
  3. jackerin macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #3
    Would it be possible to hook up an IDE drive in the optical slot and then an SSD in place of the old HD?

    I'm thinking of upgrading the HD in my 1.83ghz C2D to SSD myself, heard it's about the best upgrade you can do after RAM...
     
  4. fran010180 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    #4
    a smaller SSD smaller would fit for the purpose: just the system.
    The only thing I know is that it should be an SLC with SATA II (i.e. Vertex 2), hopefully stable enough to last (SSDs seem not so long lasting).
    Any hints ?

    An adapter ?! Mmh... Would you please provide me some examples of what to search for (PATA for SATA, ... ) ?
     
  5. philipma1957, Jul 12, 2011
    Last edited: Jul 12, 2011

    philipma1957 macrumors 603

    philipma1957

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Location:
    Howell, New Jersey
    #5
    give me some time to find one for you


    http://cgi.ebay.com/2nd-SATA-Hard-D...C_Drives_Storage_Internal&hash=item4aac7776ff



    this one above may fit





    http://cgi.ebay.com/Intel-SSDSA2VP0...111?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item3cb907d187


    this is an intel slc 20gb





    let me check more on that caddy


    http://newmodeus.com/shop/index.php?main_page=product_info&products_id=306


    this is perfect fit but costly. I believe the ebay one works.

    I know the newmodeus is a certain fit I built a few dozen of these machines.



    after more ebay searching this one looks good:

    http://cgi.ebay.com/IDE-SATA-12-7mm...C_Drives_Storage_Internal&hash=item3cb2bbf5f8
     
  6. 4JNA macrumors 68000

    4JNA

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2006
    Location:
    looking for trash files
    #6
    just my two cents after doing several like this...

    upgrade the main drive to SSD, leave the optical alone, and use and external FW drive or raid set for storage. fast, easy, cheaper.

    best of luck.
     
  7. philipma1957 macrumors 603

    philipma1957

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Location:
    Howell, New Jersey
    #7
    a lot of truth to this. I have been using owc's


    http://eshop.macsales.com/item/Other World Computing/MEQMH0GBK/


    fw800 pair of scorpio black hdds from newegg inside of it. you have an old mini dropping a lot of cash and having it stuck in the old machine may not be as good as this. they stack well on the mini. there is a 2009 mini with 2 of the raid0 enclosures stacked on it along with a dvd sudperdrive
     

    Attached Files:

  8. fran010180 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    #8
    thanks guys
    I'll just calculate the delivery cost for shipment here in Milan (Italy).

    I'd just asked a guy here at Apple-care for their installation fees: 50euro + VAT (just the installation providing them the disks). I asked them because I'd experienced some difficulties in a simple task as changing the RAM in the mini. On the contrary I have had no problem at all (following iFixit instructions) when I changed the HD from my MBP.
    Am I a dummy or is the mini that is not so easily approachable ?

    Uh, another thing. The Apple guy told me that he was not totally sure (he just needs to have a look at the device) if the SSD could be placed in the optic unit area).:confused:
     

Share This Page