Upgrading the ram in my 27" i7 (11.3) imac..

Discussion in 'iMac' started by jrm27, Dec 29, 2011.

1. jrm27 macrumors 6502

Hello all,

Though I am not new to macs, I am new to upgrading them. I've always just used what was stock in my system. However, I think it is time to upgrade.

I do a lot of work in Adobe Creative Suite. Lots of video work, lots of graphic work, lots of photo work. Currently I have the stock setup of 4 gigs of RAM. Would I see a noticeable increase in speed by upgrading to 16 gigs? Will things like video encoding/rendering speed (Premiere and After Effects) get a boost?

What is the max my imac can take? On some sites I see 16 gigs, on others I see 32 gigs? Are some RAM producers better than others? Sorry for the questions, I'm sure they've been answered here before but I'm not even sure how to find the answer for my specific mac.'

I'd just like this machine to work faster.. especially when it comes to stuff like video encoding/rendering.

-jon

2. SandboxGeneral Moderator

SandboxGeneral

Staff Member

If you're running multiple resource heavy apps, more RAM will help out and keep the speed up to par. It won't boost the speed per se, but extra RAM will prevent slow downs and page outs.

Your iMac can hold up t 16GB of RAM. I have that much in my 2010 i7 iMac and it runs great.

Check OWC for RAM.

3. jrm27 thread starter macrumors 6502

Thanks! When I look there it says that my mac can handle 32 gigs? Not that I want to spend $600+ on ram though... It seems like 12-16 would be quite an upgrade.

4. SandboxGeneral Moderator

SandboxGeneral

Staff Member

32GB? Maybe... I haven't personally checked the max on the newest iMac's. I know that my 2010 is maxed at 16GB though.

16GB is more than enough I think. The most RAM I've seen it use at one time so far has been 7GB which includes Free and Inactive RAM.

5. philipma1957 macrumors 603

philipma1957