UPS for Mac Pro

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by laserbeam273, Feb 12, 2012.

  1. laserbeam273 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Location:
    Australia
    #1
    Currently looking at getting a UPS for a Mac Pro (5,1 2 X 2.4 GHz quad) which will need to support the computer and a 24" LED monitor just long enough to turn it all off, will this be sufficient?

    http://www.cpsww.com.au/products/ups_systems/Value_soho/value1500elcd.htm

    We don't face blackouts often and surges are fairly low. Again, the moment we lose power we'll be turning it all off. Thanks in advance for the help.
     
  2. philipma1957 macrumors 603

    philipma1957

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Location:
    Howell, New Jersey
    #2
    it has enough power but it has the wrong sine wave. it is a 230 volt which may be what you want but it also has a simulated sine wave which can hurt your mac pro's power supply.
     

    Attached Files:

  3. laserbeam273 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Location:
    Australia
    #3
    That's a shame.. so is this model:

    http://www.cpsww.com.au/products/ups_systems/pfc_sinewave/cp1500epfclcd.htm

    The current cheapest UPS that'd work well with a mac pro?

    And on a side note, do iMacs require a pure sine wave?
     
  4. wonderspark macrumors 68030

    wonderspark

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Location:
    Oregon
    #4
    That's the model a lot of people are going with. I found an APC SUA-1500 for $25 locally, thanks to a local "going-out-of-business" sale. I've also seen used ones for really cheap ($100), and at worst you need to buy a new battery unit from APC for $150 or so... way less than retail cost.

    Either that one you listed, or APC SMT-1500, SUA-1500 or better is what you should use.

    No personal system requires a higher-end UPS, but it certainly helps prolong the life of the computer as well as give you sound peace of mind.
     
  5. thirdkind macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2005
    Location:
    Columbus
    #5
    I'm using what seems to be the US version of that model, and it's been great with a Mac Pro 1,1 and 24" display. I worked from home one day last week, and the power blinked off and back on again once or twice per hour (no idea as to why, the weather was fine). My workstation didn't miss a beat while everything in my entertainment center shut down. Nice unit.
     
  6. laserbeam273, Feb 12, 2012
    Last edited: Feb 13, 2012

    laserbeam273 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Location:
    Australia
    #6
    Hmm.. unfortunately there's not much of a market for second-hand UPS's in Australia. Will have to give it some thought.


    Do the Mac Pro 1,1 use a different PSU? I tried calling Apple to ask whether mac pros really needed a pure sine wave, but they didn't help. Might try calling again.

    EDIT: I just realised that my iMac also requires a pure sine wave, and my UPS (basic-level APC 350) doesn't provide that. So far my iMac has survived brief tests and only makes a very faint buzzing noise when on battery, so we probably won't be throwing in an extra $200 into the Mac Pro's UPS for that feature. We're just uni students so we can't shell out on luxuries like that - the only reason we're getting such a good Mac Pro is that someone was selling it brand new for $1,750!!

    Though of course, if it were for "mission-critical" work, we'd be getting a pure sine wave UPS for both. There's heaps of good discussions on UPSs on Mac Rumors and elsewhere, here's the links to two quite constructive discussions, for those interested:

    https://discussions.apple.com/thread/2556767?start=0&tstart=0

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1024208
     

Share This Page