[URGENT] Mac Pro 5.1 w/ EVGA GTX 970 SC ACX 2.0 + no picture

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by flekus5, May 16, 2019.

  1. flekus5 macrumors newbie

    flekus5

    Joined:
    May 13, 2019
    #1
    Hello I'm Leandro from Argentina, im trying to upgrade a mac pro 5.1 with 2 CPU Xeon E5620.
    My OSX is High Sierra 10.13.6 (17G6030).
    And i just got the gtx 970 sc ACX2.0, and followed all directions to install the web driver downloaded from https://create.pro/nvidia_drivers , and nothing, black screen.
    I try all
    1. Install Web Driver version 387.10.10.10.40.127, which is compatible with macOS Sierra 10.13.6 (17G6030) that I'm running. Install latest CUDA driver
    2. Restart
    3. Choose to use the NVIDIA web driver in the menu bar, when let me choose to restar, i put "later"
    4. Then I Shutdown
    5. Install card and power cables
    6. Turn on the machine
    At this point, I could still hear the start up chime, but I waited and waited and there simply was no signal to the monitor, also I try all ports, DP1, HDMI, and both DVI. I popped the old card back in and started trouble shooting. Here's what I tried
    • I ScreenShare with my Macbook Pro, and realize that theNvidia Drivers its not on. I cant set it.
    • I try via terminal with "sudo nvram nvda_drv=1" restart, and nothing.
    • I try to set again and restart, directly from the nvidia panel, and nothing.
    • I try SIP disable and all again, Nothing.
    • I try the card on a regular PC and founds correctly
    • Moved the card to the 2nd PCIe x16 slot. No signal either

    I now have the HD5770 back in, and everything is good so far, but I really really want to use the 970 and High Sierra. I've done everything I can think of.

    Do you guys have any suggestion?

    Thanks!
     
  2. Spacedust macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
  3. tsialex macrumors 601

    tsialex

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Location:
    Brazil
    #3
    Clear NVRAM 3 times, reset SMC and do it all again.
     
  4. flekus5 thread starter macrumors newbie

    flekus5

    Joined:
    May 13, 2019
    #4
    With the Nvidia inside, or with the ATI and then install again webdrivers
     
  5. h9826790 macrumors G5

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #5
    Read this.

    https://forums.macrumors.com/threads/faq-nvidia-web-drivers.2170497/

    Then remove all your current Nvidia driver.

    Then try the 387.10.10.15.15.108 drive.

    IMO, it's so much easier to keep using this driver for cMP users. It won't break because of OS update.

    If still doesn't work.

    Then remove all installed Nvidia driver again.

    Disable SIP

    Open terminal and run
    Code:
    bash <(curl -s https://raw.githubusercontent.com/Benjamin-Dobell/nvidia-update/master/nvidia-update.sh) 378.10.10.10.25.106
    This will go further back to the V378 driver. Which may have a bit lower performance, but higher stability / compatibility.
     
  6. flekus5 thread starter macrumors newbie

    flekus5

    Joined:
    May 13, 2019
    #6
    Thnxs but here in Argentina we dont have no one. and ship international its too risky.
     
  7. tsialex macrumors 601

    tsialex

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Location:
    Brazil
    #7
    Just NVIDIA. Clear NVRAM 3 times, reset SMC, then activate the NVIDIA web driver via screen sharing.
     
  8. flekus5 thread starter macrumors newbie

    flekus5

    Joined:
    May 13, 2019
  9. flekus5 thread starter macrumors newbie

    flekus5

    Joined:
    May 13, 2019
    #9
    First, thanks for the help.

    I disable SIP , then the 387.10.10.15.15.108 driver, sees that is not for my OSX version, so i try the 17G6030 (CUDA 10.1/418.163. and nothing.

    then uninstall, to try the terminal code , the driver install correctly, but nothing.

    Maybe there is no way to do that, i never can make that the nvidia drivers get set in place.
    I try via terminal sudo nvram nvda_drv=1

    but seems like when i reboot all go back to original config.
    --- Post Merged, May 17, 2019 ---
    Thanks Tsialex, I can make the 3 times nvram clear, i hold the keys, it make it twice, and allways in the second mac sounds boot the system. I hold the keys from the start and dident move, but always let me reset 2 times, not more, then i reser SMC shuting down and taking off the power cord 15 secs, plug it 5 seconds power on, and nothing. always the same.

    Thanks
    --- Post Merged, May 17, 2019 ---
    Maybe I should buy a ATI compatible card, but i really want to use Octane render that only founds on Nvidia system.
    Im too sad.
     
  10. tsialex macrumors 601

    tsialex

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Location:
    Brazil
    #10
    There’s a way to inject the NVIDIA drives NVRAM config directly in the SPI flash but it’s a lot of work…

    I’ll PM you later.
     
  11. flekus5 thread starter macrumors newbie

    flekus5

    Joined:
    May 13, 2019
    #11
    Ok , Thnxs!
     

Share This Page

10 May 16, 2019