USA Tax Question

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by Jason Beck, Nov 9, 2009.

1. Jason Beck macrumors 68000

Jason Beck

I am a student here in the US and will be filing taxes for 2009 in the upcoming tax season. My question is, "Has any of you (students or otherwise) filed and claimed your college for the Lifetime Learner tax refund?" I just was browsing last night and was checking out the Obama Stimulus monies and saw his "Hope" refund for students going back to school. Then on the irs.gov website I came across "Lifetime Learner Refund Credit." I went over it like a hundred times and it seems like I qualify. Meet the criteria anyway. Seems like an extra 2500$ that I can actually get back! Well, because your student loans (tuition) count as income. After I minus the Pell Grant and do the required math as per irs guidelines, it seems as though I can actually get this!

Has anyone done it? :confused:

2. yg17 macrumors G5

yg17

I have no idea about the credit thing, but since when did student loans count as income? :confused: Is that something new?

3. steve2112 macrumors 68040

steve2112

Student loans are not considered income, since you have to repay them. Grants and fellowships may be taxable income, depending on circumstances.

http://www.lawyers.com/~/link.aspx?_id=B309F989-91CE-4EF5-9C5C-B047F6A0F312&_z=z

Taxable income for students from the IRS:

http://www.irs.gov/individuals/students/article/0,,id=96674,00.html

I've never used the Hope credit, though. It looks like for 2009, they moved it to four years worth of school, and you can claim the credit, even if you don't owe any taxes.

4. rowsdower macrumors 6502

I have used both the Hope credit and the Lifetime Learner credit. Nearly any student qualifies for Lifetime Learner, and it can be used as many times as you want, as long as you have educational expenses that year.

5. Zombie Acorn macrumors 65816

Zombie Acorn