Used Mac Pro??

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by iMarcusx, May 12, 2011.

  1. iMarcusx macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    #1
    So I have been looking at the base iMac model but upon reading about this no hard drive switch bug/"feature" I think I need to stay away from it... I was wondering, is it possible to find a half decent Mac Pro for around $1000ish? Preferable something I can upgrade as more money rolls in? I appreciate your insight! What I plan to use it for is Logic ,Abelton, iMovie, PS, Aperture, and games. Not trying to run Crysis 2 on full settings but Portal 2 at full would be nice. Is this possible to find one that can do that around that price or is that wishful thinking? Thanks!
     
  2. ashman70 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    #2
    The only Mac Pro's you are going to find for that price range are first gen Intel Mac Pro 1,1's. They are certainly upgradeable but have certain limitations, so it really depends on whether or not you want one or can save a little more for a 2,1 model or perhaps 3,1 model, but you'll need upwards of an additional 5-700.00 if you want to get even a 3,1 used. While you may think, get the 1,1 now, you'll just end up spending that extra 5-700 on upgrading the RAM, Video card and CPU's anyway, so it will be money better spent if you can get a 3,1 model.
     
  3. iMarcusx thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    #3
    I'd like to have something I can fix myself and upgrade as well. Thats the main problem with that iMac thing is no DIY fixes =/
     
  4. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #4
    Both the 1,1 and 2,1 systems use EFI32 (2006/7 model years), as they use the same exact logic board and firmware. What this means, is you cannot run the newer nVidia cards under OS X, as they're EFI64 only.

    This will also limit you at some point in terms of being able to upgrade OS X (so far, Lion <10.7> works with EFI32, but that may not be the case with the final version <RTM>). Assuming 10.7 continues to support EFI32 in the final version, that's likely the last one (Apple's already announced some time back they're not interested in continuing mixed OS Kernel support).

    So if you plan to run OS X and for more than a year or so, then you'd be better off going no earlier than a 2008 (3,1), as that was the first EFI64 based system.

    Now if you're a Windows or Linux user only, the EFI issue isn't a problem (the earliest Intel based Mac Pros run that just fine, and you can use any PC based graphics card you wish, so long as you can get sufficient power to it).
     
  5. ashman70 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    #5
    While there has been no indication that Apple is going to drop support for EFI 32 I really think the whole thing is FUD, I seriously can't see Apple making the Mac Pro 1,1 and 2,1 models unable to run Lion, but that's my opinion. As I said, I think it would be money better spent to get at least a 3,1 Mac Pro, but I am happy with my 1,1 which I am upgrading and waiting to run Lion.
     
  6. philipma1957 macrumors 603

    philipma1957

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Location:
    Howell, New Jersey
    #6
    look for a 2009 model a base 2.66 quad. read the threads on how to hack a 2009 quad so that you can put a hex core w3670 in it. a quad 2009 can be had for 1300 to 1500 with careful shopping.
     
  7. ashman70 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    #7
    Careful or lucky shopping?? Where have you seen 2009 models going for those prices? Those prices are for what 2,1 or 3,1 models go for???

    AM
     
  8. philipma1957, May 13, 2011
    Last edited: May 13, 2011

    philipma1957 macrumors 603

    philipma1957

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Location:
    Howell, New Jersey
    #8
    ebay has had a few base 2009 mac pros for 1550 they sell fast and you need to really look at them every day. you also need to understand ebay discount programs. right now until may 18th if you have windows 7 and explorer 9 there is a 10 percent discount on ebay. so 1550 minus 10 percent is 1400. also craigs list can have them at 1400. 1200 is more luck but 1400 is more a matter of persistence then any thing else. right now here is a 2010 2.8 quad for sale on ebay. It is under 900 at about 10:30 am. the auction ends today. it may be sold at 1400


    http://cgi.ebay.com/Apple-Mac-Pro-Q...le_Desktops&hash=item19c56ac17b#ht_2398wt_982
     
  9. iMarcusx thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    #9
    Thank you!
     
  10. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #10
    There was a front page article on this some time ago (around the time SL was being released to RTM).
     
  11. philipma1957 macrumors 603

    philipma1957

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Location:
    Howell, New Jersey
    #11
    you are welcome and good luck with that. Phil
     
  12. The Beatles macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    #12
    Hey, I hope my experience is of some help.

    I have a 2010 iMac 27" i7 with 16GB of memory. This system has been a pleasure to work with. I work at a variety of different creative studios and my iMac is more powerful than any of their systems even though they use mac pros. I know this is because i have a lot of ram and they dont.

    Remember that you can always add externals. Other World Computing has an option to install an eSATA output for even more hard drive performance. Great for Photoshop scratch disks and video editing.

    I just did a photoshop illustration that was 5.5 GB. My iMac didnt have a problem pushing that file around. Again, I have 16GB of ram. My suggestion would be to get that eSATA connector from Other World Computing if you want more hard drive performance than what the iMac will give you. Just make sure that the Other World Computing eSATA upgrade will work with the iMac you decide to go with. Also remember that my experience is with the i7 no the i5.
     
  13. ashman70 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    #13
    It sold for $1,857.00
     
  14. hammten macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    #14
    That was probably about right if not a little low for what 2010 models go for on ebay. There was no way that the auction linked was going to go less than 1400, if for no other reason than that it was advertised on these forums. Good luck with your search OP!
     
  15. gotzero macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Location:
    Mid-Atlantic, US
    #15
    Look around locally and see if any companies surplus. I usually keep the latest unused generation of my workstations as instant backups and then surplus the really old ones. I have and 8x2.8 2008 MP ready to go soon, but it is completely loaded, so I hope to find someone specific willing to pay extra for upgrades.
     

Share This Page