Using an SSD

Discussion in 'iMac' started by cali shot doc, Sep 7, 2012.

  1. cali shot doc macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011
    #1
    I'm thinking of getting an iMac since it looks like the next generation is going to be announced soon. I want to have a SSD for start up and my core programs. It seems pretty expensive to have apple install it so I was wondering if it could be used externally? My goal is to have 2-3tb HD with a 40-80gb SSD (only looking to put OS on it along with my office for mac programs, aperture & iTunes)
     
  2. mabaty macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011
    Location:
    Boise, ID
    #2
    You can install both an SSD + mechanical drive in new iMac's, why not do that? it is not very hard to open it up if you have some good suction cups. But i suspect the refresh will support USB3, so either that or Thunderbolt external could work OK.
     
  3. ixodes macrumors 601

    ixodes

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012
    Location:
    Pacific Coast, USA
    #3
    This is a great suggestion.

    I opened up a friends to install a larger drive for him. It was very fast & easy.
     
  4. cali shot doc thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011
    #4
    my only thing is that i have read that it will void your warranty and that its easy for dust to get under the screen when you put it back on.
     
  5. Nova Sensei macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2012
  6. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #6
    For an iMac that was originally made with an HDD? Yes. Placing an SSD in an iMac is beyond tedious and you can break something.
     

Share This Page