Verizon - Data Usage at 4gb?! Huh?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by agentphish, Feb 7, 2011.

  1. agentphish macrumors 65816

    agentphish

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    #1
    Phone has been activated for no more than 2 hours. Under usage stats it shows 4.0gb of data usage?!

    Anyone else seeing this?

    photo.PNG
     
  2. AuroraProject macrumors 65816

    AuroraProject

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Location:
    Right there
  3. iserian macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Location:
    Palo Alto Apple Store
  4. agentphish thread starter macrumors 65816

    agentphish

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    #4
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_6 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8E200 Safari/6533.18.5)

    I have been on wifi in my house too! The whole time!
     
  5. devilstrider macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
  6. agentphish thread starter macrumors 65816

    agentphish

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    #6
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_6 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8E200 Safari/6533.18.5)

    I mean I have unlimited data so I don't really care.
     
  7. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #7
    Enjoy being throttled.
     
  8. Polekat macrumors regular

    Polekat

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    #8
  9. Krevnik macrumors 68040

    Krevnik

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    #9
    He'd have to be downloading at peak bandwidth (1.5mbps) for an hour straight to produce that level of traffic. Worth investigating, but I'd think that there could be a bug in the display as well.
     
  10. eyefoniac macrumors 6502

    eyefoniac

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2008
    Location:
    Everywhere and nowhere
    #10
    Ouch! Yeah, even if you had no way of attaining that, you will want to call and straighten out everything. Best of luck!
     
  11. barkingDog macrumors regular

    barkingDog

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    #11
    I find it odd that the Sent & Received stats are exactly the same. Haven't seen that before, IME.
     
  12. Hummer macrumors 65816

    Hummer

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2006
    Location:
    Queens, New York NY-5
    #12
    I looked at the usage on my CDMA iPhone and I have 4 gigs of received data, also; however, it is apparent that this information is from my backup, as my new phone already has a call life of 3 Days.
     
  13. iMaven macrumors 6502

    iMaven

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    #13
    Watch out for those HD videos, if you want to watch your data.
     
  14. Jimcoleman1 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    #14
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_6 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8E200 Safari/6533.18.5)

    Don't worry, mine said the same thing and I know I have not used a fraction of that much data.

    Just reset everything.
     
  15. zorinlynx macrumors 603

    zorinlynx

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    #15
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8C148 Safari/6533.18.5)

    Dial *3282# and wait for the resulting text message.

    The numbers there are what the CARRIER thinks you have used. This is what you should worry about. :)
     
  16. Daveoc64 macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    #16
    This is a relatively common glitch in iOS.

    Not sure what triggers it, but I've seen the usage meter jump up far beyond the data usage since I got an iPhone.

    As others have said the other possibility is that you have carried data over from a backup, although if this is your first iPhone that wont be the case.
     
  17. adztaylor macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009
    Location:
    Preston, UK
    #17
    I have found that under my usage stats it often says I've used more data than what my carrier says I've used. Nothing to that extreme however haha :D
     
  18. zorinlynx macrumors 603

    zorinlynx

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    #18
    The carrier's number is usually out of date by a few hours, so it'll generally be smaller. If you stay on Wifi for about 24 hours, they should match up fairly well.
     
  19. agentphish thread starter macrumors 65816

    agentphish

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    #19
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_6 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8E200 Safari/6533.18.5)

    Like I said I'm not worried. There was no previous backup ive never had an iPhone before. I also thought it could have been tested at the factory and it could be from that but it's unlikely. I reset my usage stats and it is calculating normally at this point. So again no worries it was just strange to see
     
  20. JRoDDz macrumors 68000

    JRoDDz

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Location:
    NYC
    #20
    somehow this made me LOL :D
     
  21. tjb1 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Location:
    Pennsylvania, USA
    #21
    Its #3282 to get the text or #DATA, not *3282#
     

Share This Page