Verizon owners! Ugh!! Can't activate new phone for 24 hrs!

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by iHeartsteve, Sep 21, 2012.

  1. iHeartsteve macrumors 65816

    iHeartsteve

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    #1
    Im so mad. I used another family member upgrade to get subsidized price. However they won't let me for 24 hours switch it over to my phone line yet!! I problem sounded super bitchy to Verizon sales rep at the store lol.

    Anyone else have this problem?
     
  2. gemnilocs macrumors 6502

    gemnilocs

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011
    Location:
    california
    #2
    this is normal. it should be up and running tomorrow.
     
  3. FierceDeityLink macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    #3
    I just cut down a micro-SIM. Funny part is when the rep said that I couldn't do that and it wouldn't work.
     
  4. Riiyah macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2012
    #4
    I made a thread about this but no one posted.

    Even if you switched on the phone.

    1.If you switched on the phone, connect it to iTunes, and restore the iPhone
    2. Once the download finishes (960mb) complete the restoration
    3. Once it is complete turn off the phone right away
    4. Call Verizon 1800-922-0204
    5. Tell them that you got the iPhone 5 today under your name and you would like to switch it to the other line
    6. They will go through the steps and it should work

    I spoke to a man named Michael and he didn't even need the IMEI or SIM number. I am also able to keep my unlimited data
     
  5. iHeartsteve thread starter macrumors 65816

    iHeartsteve

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    #5
    Ok good to know. Sales rep at store of course tried telling me that corporate prob wouldn't do it. Ugh support is closed now at 11pm!
     
  6. Olivia23 macrumors 6502a

    Olivia23

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Location:
    around
    #6
    I wonder if after restoring if it would work switching online instead of calling Verizon. I'm going to try it.
     
  7. Sub.0 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2011
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    #7
    Yup, same thing happened with me. The first lady I spoke to though said I had to wait till midnight and then the 2nd rep told me 24 hours. I will try the midnight thing out and see how that goes.
     
  8. ThaBlink macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011
    Location:
    New York
    #8
    Let us know how it goes... I'm doing the restore right now.
     
  9. Sub.0 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2011
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    #9
    Yup. I have a few more hours to wait. I will post here if I am able to do it at 12 Midnight. Let us know how the restore process goes.
     
  10. Frasern1 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #10
    Why didn't you just switch the upgrade when you ordered?
     
  11. Sub.0 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2011
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    #11
    Probably had a UDP.
     
  12. ThaBlink macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011
    Location:
    New York
    #12
    I just tried calling from the East coast, looks like their support closed at 11pm..
     
  13. jester0723 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2011
    Location:
    Virginia
    #13
    I did the same thing and the rep gave me the same story. I went to the apple store and asked for a new SIM and they gave it to me. I called Verizon and gave them the IMEID and SIM card number and it's working perfectly with unlimited data already!
     
  14. Cozmo85 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    #14
    You an also activate your sim on the verizon website.
     
  15. sedano06 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    #15
    I was told the same thing, I looked online at my account and the iPhone doesn't show up anymore. I think I'm going to try to activate later tonight and hopefully it works.
     
  16. Sub.0 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2011
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    #16
    You will be able to do it online on verizonwireless.com
     
  17. ThaBlink macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011
    Location:
    New York
    #17
    I've been trying, I keep getting the following page:
    [​IMG]

    After I enter my info, the next page just goes blank and that's it.
     
  18. Sub.0 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2011
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    #18
    No idea there. When I try to do mine it goes to a page saying my transaction could not be completed or something.
     
  19. ThaBlink macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011
    Location:
    New York
    #19
    Now I got this, but still doesn't show as activated:
    [​IMG]

    Oh well, guess I'll just have to wait until tomorrow.
     
  20. sedano06, Sep 21, 2012
    Last edited: Sep 21, 2012

    sedano06 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    #20
    Have you tried doing the *228 thing they make us do when were activating phones.

    If anyone tries to do it online before the 24 hour wait and it works can you please let us know how you did it
     
  21. RowdyRude macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2012
    #21
    That's what I did. Ordered the phone on another lines upgrade. All I had to do was log on the site say activate new phone, selected my number instead, typed in the phone code and sim code, and boom within 5min I was up running and managed to keep my unlimited data without paying full price. So happy!!! =)
     
  22. sedano06 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    #22
    I tried activating again and still nothing. This time it let me put in the IMEI number then the ICCID number and it went through without saying saying the simcard was assigned to a different number. It just told me that verizon couldnt process the action at the time, so hopefully in the morning ill be able to activate it.
     
  23. iHeartsteve thread starter macrumors 65816

    iHeartsteve

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    #23
    Ugh. On the line with customer service rep. And they keep saying they can't switch the line yet for the full 24 hrs and that I'd I want it activated now, I'd have to buy a sim card!!
     
  24. Sub.0 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2011
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    #24
    I just hope this "24 hour" rule works because I would be pissed if they change their story.
     
  25. iHeartsteve thread starter macrumors 65816

    iHeartsteve

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    #25
    Yeah same here! Customer rep said sim cards are free! I'm so mad rep at the store didn't tell me about this earlier today or id have an activated phone NOW, for free.
     

Share This Page