Vertex 3 issues in a MacBook Pro?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by DustinT, Mar 1, 2011.

  1. DustinT macrumors 68000

    DustinT

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    #1
    So, Anand says that the beta Vertex 3 was having some pretty serious issues in his 15" MBP. Apparently there was some extreme latency during reads and writes from time to time. He posted he's expecting OCZ to fix it before release.

    I'm just curious if anyone has more information on whether this has been fixed or not. Are there any other issues with these SSDs? I'd like to use one in a 2011 13" MBP I just got but not until Sandforce\OCZ fixes any remaining issues.
     
  2. idea_hamster macrumors 65816

    idea_hamster

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    Location:
    NYC, or thereabouts
    #2
    I would expect Anand to be among the first -- if not the first -- to know. I'm watching his site for this bit of info too.

    Only other issue is that it's useless to use this or any other SATA III drive as a replacement for the optical drive because Apple hooked that up to a SATA II port, leaving one SATA III empty.
     
  3. johnnyturbouk macrumors 68000

    johnnyturbouk

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    Location:
    on the yellow [oled] brick road to tech nirvana.
    #3
    Really do not understand apples logic in doing that!

    Really would love to raid 0 x2 vertex 3s
     
  4. hehe299792458 macrumors 6502a

    hehe299792458

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    #4

    Where did you hear Anand say this?
     
  5. nailofwit macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
    #5
    I'm having real issues with my MBP 15" and Vertex 3 drive...

    I cloned the drive using Carbon Cloner as a clean install produced errors... Now the machine won't boot from the drive and when I try and use the Startup Disk tool on the install disk I get the following error: -

    "You can't change the startup disk to the selected disk. The bless toll was unable to set the current boot disk"
     
  6. bugout macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Location:
    is everything!
    #6
    No issues here on my 15" 2011 2.3 with a 240GB V3

    Benches are still at just about 500 read write 2 weeks in.
     
  7. brokeneck macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #7
    No issues here in my 17". Just don't enable TRIM.
     
  8. fogma macrumors newbie

    fogma

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Location:
    NZ
    #8
    No problems on my system, great super fast

    Took out my 750GB 5200rom HD, popped in the vertex 3,
    formated in disc utils, installed 10.6 and all is great.

    I have had no slowdowns or beach balls etc. Really significant upgrade
    in speed terms, do a lot of high end retouching and Photoshop flies along.

    Still getting high benchmarks. Would recommend. Cheers
     
  9. fineaddme macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    #9
    great news that its working well on mbp i am planning on getting one in next few days
     
  10. JasonH42 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    #10
    He always has issues. He's either a really unlucky guy or perhaps it's the beta drives he gets which he then hammers with benchmarking tools?

    Mine is fine. It's not a beta though. And I haven't tried to kill it. Yet.
     
  11. JasonH42 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    #11
    Which benchmark tool gives you 500 read/writes?
     
  12. JasonH42 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    #12
    Another thread suggests that there's been a silent revision and the optical drive port is now Sata 3 capable. Sadly I was an early adopter and mine is crippled but I've still bought a second Vertex 3 to RAID0; guessing they'll still be better than just one on the Sata 3 port.
     
  13. bugout macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Location:
    is everything!
    #13
    disk speed test in the mac app store.
     
  14. Virlich macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2011
    #14
    VErtex 3 issues in a MacBook Pro

    That's weird, my Macbook shows this:


    Intel 6 Series Chipset:

    Vendor: Intel
    Product: 6 Series Chipset
    Link Speed: 6 Gigabit
    Negotiated Link Speed: 1.5 Gigabit
    Description: AHCI Version 1.30 Supported

    MATSHITADVD-R UJ-898:

    Model: MATSHITADVD-R UJ-898
    Revision: HE13
    Serial Number: UL21 0506LR
    Native Command Queuing: No
    Detachable Drive: No
    Power Off: Yes
    Async Notification: No

    Intel 6 Series Chipset:

    Vendor: Intel
    Product: 6 Series Chipset
    Link Speed: 6 Gigabit
    Negotiated Link Speed: 3 Gigabit
    Description: AHCI Version 1.30 Supported

    OWC Mercury Extreme Pro SSD:

    Capacity: 240.06 GB (240,057,409,536 bytes)
    Model: OWC Mercury Extreme Pro SSD
    Revision: 360A13F0
    Serial Number: MXE24010E52B4888
    Native Command Queuing: Yes
    Queue Depth: 32
    Removable Media: No
    Detachable Drive: No
    BSD Name: disk0
    Medium Type: Solid State
    TRIM Support: Yes
    Partition Map Type: GPT (GUID Partition Table)
    S.M.A.R.T. status: Verified

    Does that means my optical link can do 6Gigabit?
     
  15. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #15
    Yes... there have been some reports in these forums from recent MBP buyers that the optical bay SATA port is now a SATA III connection.
     
  16. JasonH42 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    #16
    It seems very likely, yes. Mine shows a link speed of 3 gigabits.
     
  17. Knuck, Apr 28, 2011
    Last edited: Apr 28, 2011

    Knuck macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    #17
    You can also use AJA System Test.

    These are some of my results on a 240 6G 240 GB:

    I/O Transactions
    Frame MB/sec
    Read Write
    00.0 532.6 399.3
    01.0 531.3 510.3
    02.0 533.3 504.7
    03.0 520.1 505.5
    04.0 529.3 522.4
    05.0 533.6 513.1
    06.0 534.5 501.7
    07.0 527.8 502.4
    08.0 529.0 505.3
    09.0 533.7 509.5
    10.0 535.2 506.6
    11.0 529.5 504.9
    12.0 530.9 333.0
    13.0 536.7 505.8
    14.0 530.4 506.6


    Virlich, your negotiated link speed is really weird. Where do you have it installed, Optibay or HDD bay and which MacBook are you using.
     
  18. maclaptop macrumors 65816

    maclaptop

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2011
    Location:
    Western Hemisphere
    #18
    Mine, just a week old is hyper fast, stable, and a pure joy to use.

    Its my third OCZ Vertex 3 , two in ThinkPads, one in my new 15" MBP, all running just fine.
     
  19. MastaK macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    #19
    Here is my AJA result on OWC 6G 240GB :D

    I/O Transactions
    Frame MB/sec
    Read Write
    00.0 504.9 504.6
    01.0 516.9 525.2
    02.0 515.4 516.0
    03.0 514.9 515.8
    04.0 511.8 522.1
    05.0 519.3 516.8
    06.0 513.1 492.3
    07.0 512.6 469.2
    08.0 520.6 477.8
    09.0 518.9 481.0
    10.0 527.1 470.4
    11.0 523.9 502.4
    12.0 516.7 488.0
    13.0 526.5 487.9
    14.0 516.4 492.7
     
  20. JasonH42 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    #20
    Can you post a screenshot with the settings please because with AJA I get 380/380 with my 240GB Vertex 3... :(
     
  21. MastaK, Apr 28, 2011
    Last edited: Apr 29, 2011

    MastaK macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    #21
    lol this is not easy since I'm doing remote control over my MBP here at work

    [​IMG]
     
  22. JasonH42 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    #22
    Thanks MastaK. With 4GB files I get about 455/490 which is OK given it's about 90% full.
     
  23. Virlich macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2011
    #23
    Vertex 3 issues in a MacBook Pro?


    My OWC is 3g no 6g :(, but now that i know that both connections are 6g I'm thinking to buy 2 240 OWC 6g and pair them raid 0
     
  24. hehe299792458 macrumors 6502a

    hehe299792458

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    #24
    be careful. not all Macbook Pros are made the same. Mine's only SATA2
     
  25. Virlich macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2011
    #25
    Vertex 3 issues in a MacBook Pro?

    Eaven if both says Link Speed: 6 Gigabit? :confused:


    Knuck I have a 15" MacBook Pro 2.2ghz HR glossy bought it on april 4th
     

Share This Page