Very Strange....(widget related)

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by BigDogg, Jun 11, 2007.

  1. BigDogg macrumors member

    BigDogg

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Location:
    TN
    #1
    Hi all,

    I took the plunge Saturday and upgraded my G3 ibook clamshell tangerine to a shiny new mbp. Anywho I have been doing what most new owners do an customize the new rig to their likings.

    I am at a loss to explain what is going on in what I'm about to tell you, its hard for me to explain completely so bare with me.

    Late Saturday I downloaded many widgets to make my dashboard look less empty, among these one of my favorites, the gas 3.0 widget, wikipedia widget, and the package tracker widget. Earlier today while helping the Mac Rumors folding team, I check on my widgets and the 3 I just mentioned wereacting very strange. The gas widget looks normal until you hit i to flip it around, and then all I see is a gray box with a place to put in a zip code. The problem is, there is no i to flip the widget back around. Also the menu is very screwed up. On the wikipedia widget, there is now no search field for me to type anything. And finally the package tracker widget messes up when you choose which carrier you are using.

    Keep in mind these widgets worked flawlessly up until that. I have around 15 widgets, and have no other problems out of the others. I have tried deleting, reinstalling, hell I even called Apple to no avail.

    What makes all of this even stranger, when I go to the Apple store to try to redownload these 3 widgets, you know the brief description that is posted before you click? The description for these 3 widgets all share the same words:

    Apple - Downloads - Dashboard Widgets - Wikipedia
    A Texas Hold ‘em Limit Tournament from the creator of iPoker.

    Apple - Downloads - Dashboard Widgets - Gas
    A Texas Hold ‘em Limit Tournament from the creator of iPoker.

    Apple - Downloads - Dashboard Widgets - Package Tracker
    A Texas Hold ‘em Limit Tournament from the creator of iPoker.

    Sorry for the very long post. Is anyone else having these issues? Any Clue to whats going on?
     
  2. BigDogg thread starter macrumors member

    BigDogg

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Location:
    TN
    #2
    Any ideas?? Im a little on the uneasy side about this I know they are just widget but I want to make sure there is not a more serious underlying problem.

    P.s. The safari 3.0 beta is the last thing i had installed before it happened I think.Also remember I was running folding at home which strains the cpu like no other.
     
  3. BigDogg thread starter macrumors member

    BigDogg

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Location:
    TN
    #3
    Ok Im at a loss as to whats going on. I just did a search on the Apple widget downloads for "Texas hold em" and returned 2612 results. All of these widget have that in their description?? Is this just a problem I have?
     
  4. The Man macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    #4
    Yes, Safari 3 beta is breaking some widgets, like the Wikipedia widget. Not cool. I think that going back to the previous version of Safari using the Safari3BetaUninstall.pkg that came with Safari 3 beta will correct the problem. Or maybe wait for a new beta. The problem is: I like Safari 3 so much!
     
  5. BigDogg thread starter macrumors member

    BigDogg

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Location:
    TN
    #5
    Yea me too it is super speedy but my widgets are top priority

    Safari 2.0 here I come :(
     
  6. BigDogg thread starter macrumors member

    BigDogg

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Location:
    TN
    #6
    Ok I uninstalled the safari beta everything is working back to normal. My widgets are happy again :D
     
  7. gr8tfly macrumors 603

    gr8tfly

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Location:
    ~119W 34N
    #7
    Killed my IMDB widget. Maybe I can Dashcode one up until it and/or Safari 3 fixes it. Ahh progress.

    Don't really want to go back to 2.0. v3 is just too snappy and we all know how fast one gets used to speed.
     
  8. bueb macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    Location:
    switzerland
    #8
    I think I found the problem.
    It seams that with Safari 3 installed, searchboxes in widgets (and maybe anywhere else?) don't work anymore.

    To solve this problem, you can replace the searchbox with a normal inputbox.
    In order to do that, you have to change the type of the input element from 'search' to 'text' and the attribute 'onSearch' to 'onChange'


    E.g. for the imdb widget you have to replace:

    <input id="searchtxt" type="search" size="14" placeholder="Search" results="10" onSearch="Search(this.value);">

    with:

    <input id="searchtxt" type="text" size="14" placeholder="Search" results="10" onChange="Search(this.value);">


    Now the imdb-widget works just fine, the only downside is the loss of the nice look of the searchbox.

    Greetings from Switzerland
    bueb
     

Share This Page