VGA Out on iMac G3

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by bunnspecial, Jun 2, 2015.

  1. bunnspecial macrumors 603

    bunnspecial

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #1
    I was looking at one of the iMacs I bought yesterday, and noticed this on the back of it. I assume it's aftermarket, as i don't recall seeing anything of this sort before. Both came from the same seller and, as per him, were bought at the same time(one for each daughter). Has anyone run into this before?

    I haven't hooked up a monitor to it yet.

    IMG_1571.jpg

    BTW, the seller also threw a big stack of goodies in with the sale, including two Macally swivel bases that integrate a 4-port powered hub, 2 RS-422 ports, an ADB port, and a floppy drive.

    This was the best prize, though-a Harmon Kardon iSub, aka the iJellyFish. Unfortunately, Leopard deprecated support for these(a little bit of internet searching turned up an installer that adds the needed kexts) but it worked great this evening for testing under OS 9.2 with the(excellent) built in iMac speakers.
    IMG_1572.jpg
     
  2. CapnCrunch53 macrumors member

    CapnCrunch53

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2012
    Location:
    Indiana
    #2
    Some of the slot-load models came with that VGA port stock. Unfortunately, I believe it can only be used for screen mirroring, not extended desktop. There's a brief Apple support page about it here: https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT2682

    Also, that iSub is sweet!
     
  3. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #3
    Way back when I went to Collins College in Tempe (pronounced tim-pee) Arizona for a while. Collins College offers degrees in Graphic Design so a lot of their Macs were iMac G3s. Most, if not all of them had some sort of VGA out.
     
  4. redheeler, Jun 2, 2015
    Last edited: Jun 2, 2015

    redheeler macrumors 603

    redheeler

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    #4
    That's right, the 400 MHz+ models all came with a VGA out port for mirroring the display, and both mine have it. My graphite one still has the door that goes there, but it seems to be common to find them missing it.
     
  5. 128keaton macrumors 68020

    128keaton

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
    #5
    My slot load has VGA out, but I don't know if it extends or mirrors. Mines a 500Mz
     
  6. bunnspecial thread starter macrumors 603

    bunnspecial

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #6
    Thanks guys.

    The slot-loading iMacs are one of the few NWR Macs that I haven't taken completely apart...I'll have to check my others and see if the port is there.

    BTW, here's the full set-up. Both were graphite, although I only got one matching graphite "Hockey Puck" attached to a graphite Macally keyboard. I'll need to track down a graphite keyboard. I'll work on getting the stickers off from above the screen :)

    IMG_1574.jpg
     
  7. 128keaton macrumors 68020

    128keaton

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
    #7
    Funny story, my friend, about two years ago, found a graphite iMac keyboard in the garbage. Fast forward 1.5 years later, I find a (now mine) Graphite iMac G3 on craigslist without a keyboard. :D
     
  8. MacCubed macrumors 68000

    MacCubed

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Location:
    Florida
    #8
    Getting the stickers off shouldn't be too hard. Peel them off and if they rip, use a q-tip and rubbing alcohol to get it off
     
  9. bunnspecial thread starter macrumors 603

    bunnspecial

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #9
    In the worst case, I'll haul it into the lab where I have a good selection of solvents :)

    I've actually generally found naptha to do a better job with sticker residue(aka petroleum ether, benzine, Coleman fuel, "light petroleum distillates", Ronsonol/Zippo lighter fuel), and it tends to be fairly plastic safe. Acetone tends to be the best solvent, but acetone and acrylic don't get along so well :) . Of course, isopropyl alcohol(rubbing alcohol) and high proof proof ethanol(denatured alcohol, or methylated spirits for those of you in the UK) tend to have good solvating properties for most adhesive residues and are also safe on acrylic.
     
  10. MacCubed macrumors 68000

    MacCubed

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Location:
    Florida
    #10
    I bought an Xbox 360 from my friend and it had a large "Turtle Beach" sticker on it. It was one of those stickers that had plastic covering on it so the rubbing alcohol couldn't get to the sticky part. Then I had to use an Alan wrench to get it off and ended up scratching the plastic really bad. Good thing it wasn't glossy! Guess I should have looked into it before I acted. The only reason I didn't was because it was a gift for my brother was was getting home in 10 minutes so I kinda had to rush
     
  11. Dronecatcher macrumors 68000

    Dronecatcher

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2014
    Location:
    Lincolnshire, UK
    #11
    I'm sure they're plug and play - along with Macs, I used mine with Windows XP, XBMCbuntu and even an iPad with the usb adaptor.
     
  12. bunnspecial thread starter macrumors 603

    bunnspecial

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #12
    I tried to use it under 10.9 on my MBP and then 10.5 on my Quicksilver. It didn't work with either. It showed up in system profiler, but no sound came out. In fact, I thought it was dead until I plugged it into the iMac, and it definitely worked there.

    A little bit of Googling led me to some discussion around the time Leopard came out, and apparently Apple removed/modified three kexts that were needed to support it. Since it was an iMac G3 accessory(never mind that it would work on pretty much any USB Mac) and no G3 would run Leopard, I guess they thought they were safe.
     
  13. Dronecatcher macrumors 68000

    Dronecatcher

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2014
    Location:
    Lincolnshire, UK
    #13
    That is peculiar, mine worked ok with Leopard. You have selected it as the output under the Sound System Prefs? Maybe it's uncooperative unless the satellite speakers are connected (I'm assuming they're missing as not in photo).
     
  14. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #14
    The iSub is not supported in Leopard. Some users have gotten it to work with a USB audio device connected in addition to the iSub or by inserting Tiger kexts. It has never worked on Intell Macs.
     
  15. bunnspecial thread starter macrumors 603

    bunnspecial

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #15
    This is the original iSub-it's just the subwoofer that was designed to work in conjunction with the built-in iMac speakers. There are no satellite speakers.

    I think maybe you have the HK Soundsticks that have the "jellyfish" included with them, or at least going by your description.
     
  16. Dronecatcher macrumors 68000

    Dronecatcher

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2014
    Location:
    Lincolnshire, UK
    #16
    That'll be it, I didn't realise there was a difference. Yes, mine were the first gen USB Soundsticks and bass unit. How annoying to have hardware so similar yet hobbled by software.
     
  17. bunnspecial thread starter macrumors 603

    bunnspecial

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #17
    I got the iSub working on my dual 1.6 Quicksilver in Leopard using the extension pack that's available online to make it work.

    I don't normally listen to overly "bassy" music, but have had the Oak Ridge Boys and some good JD Sumner gospel music playing on Youtube to test it out, and it's working great. I just wish that I had the Pro Speakers hooked up to this computer(I need to buy a few more sets of them).

    BTW, I've been playing YT videos all evening on this computer with virtually no hesitation and only the rare dropped frames. The full details are:

    Gigadesigns dual 1.8 running at 1.6 Gigahertz
    1.5gb PC-133
    Dual factory 80gb 7200 RPM Seagate Barracudas in Raid 0
    OS X Leopard
    TenFourFox 7450
    Internet via ethernet
     
  18. MacCubed macrumors 68000

    MacCubed

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Location:
    Florida
    #18
    Hey how's the CRT working?
     
  19. bunnspecial thread starter macrumors 603

    bunnspecial

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #19
    No change...
     
  20. A.Goldberg macrumors 68000

    A.Goldberg

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2015
    Location:
    Boston
    #20
    I just pulled dug out my brother's SoundSticks (version I) from storage.

    I wished I pulled them out earlier. My only complaint is they are too loud at the lowest volume!
     
  21. mikiotty macrumors 6502

    mikiotty

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2014
    Location:
    Rome, Italy
    #21
    Which plugin?
     
  22. bunnspecial thread starter macrumors 603

    bunnspecial

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #22
    This is what I used

    http://sourceforge.net/projects/isub-fix/

    It's strictly PPC only(no Intel Macs regardless of the OS) but makes the iSub function under 10.5 just like it does under 10.4. You get the separate volume slide for it under "sound" in system preferences, and the sub itself works perfectly.
     
  23. mikiotty macrumors 6502

    mikiotty

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2014
    Location:
    Rome, Italy
    #23
    Ahah sorry, I didn't specify the topic :) I was asking about YouTube :D
     
  24. bunnspecial thread starter macrumors 603

    bunnspecial

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #24
    No plug-ins. I'm just using a straight 7450 install of TFF.
     
  25. Dandu macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2009
    #25
    All the iMac have a VGA output, even the first one : the CRT display is connected with a VGA output.

    I have try with my model : with adapter (it's a DB15 "apple" with 2 row of pins), i have connected a LCD display. And you can even connect a MacBook to the internal display.
     

Share This Page