Video claims: Apple uses water damaged boards in Apple refurbished devices

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by ZeDog, Dec 7, 2016.

1. ZeDog macrumors member

ZeDog

Look what this person has to say... I am speechless

2. rockstarjoe macrumors 6502a

rockstarjoe

Wow that is a pretty shocking claim if true.

3. tubeexperience macrumors 68030

No kidding!

Seriously, this has been known for a while now.

4. craig1410 macrumors 65816

craig1410

I'm an electronic engineer and used to work as senior process engineer at a company who did repairs to LCD displays for, amongst other people, Apple. I'm also qualified to military standards in soldering, including the hand soldering of quad flat pack ICs by hand using a microscope. Just giving this background to show some competency in this area before I comment.

1. Yes, the board she is criticising is indeed in poor condition and has clearly been reworked by someone to a relatively poor standard.

2. We can't say, and neither can she with any certainty, that this board was untouched by anyone other than Apple. Customers don't always tell the whole story in situations like this, especially when they have caused some accidental damage themselves. We'd need a lot more rigorous evidence on how this device got from original manufacture to be on her workbench before I would feel comfortable casting doubts on Apple's quality standards.