VIDEO: Tested Sprint iPhone 4S with International Sim + Speed comparison

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by AlvinNguyen, Oct 22, 2011.

  1. AlvinNguyen macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    #1
    Our data sucks but at least here's proof that it comes unlocked. Bear with me on the length of the video because it takes time for the phone to start roaming.

    Sprint: Please don't lock up our phones - we already have to deal with the terrible data speed!

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LFE7ENCqHY0
     
  2. DroidRules macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
  3. AlvinNguyen thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    #3
    you're welcome?:apple:
     
  4. DCAlexandria macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2011
  5. rocknblogger macrumors 68020

    rocknblogger

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #5
    Where are you located and where is the sim from?

    And more importantly what was the music?
     
  6. wordoflife macrumors 604

    wordoflife

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    #6
    Thanks for the video.
    I wish AT&T unlocked iPhones :(
     
  7. AlvinNguyen thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    #7
    Seattle suburb :( fml

    Music is The Glitch Mob - Animus Vox :) good stuff!

    ----------

    Np bud. I think if you guys band together you can force AT&T to do it - I mean Verizon already agreed to (with requirements) and Sprint is on board too. Just AT&T now!
     
  8. DroidRules macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    #8
    If you need an unlocked phone why don't you just buy an unlocked phone?
     
  9. AlvinNguyen thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    #9
    He's probably on a 4S and signed a 2 years contract. iPhones costs $649 + tax for just a 16gb unlocked so it's really quite high for most people to just spend the money for :/ unfortunately.

    I'm feeling pretty happy about this with Sprint because I'm about to go to Asia next month!
     
  10. coolweirdo macrumors regular

    coolweirdo

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2011
    Location:
    Fl
    #10
    woooow!!!!! that goes to show that sprint 3g is really slow, what sim did you use?
     
  11. AlvinNguyen thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    #11
    Yeah it's crazy slow! Vodafone UK SIM
     
  12. coolweirdo macrumors regular

    coolweirdo

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2011
    Location:
    Fl
    #12
    so with that sim you can use att data speeds??
     
  13. AlvinNguyen thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    #13
    Yeah, they roam onto AT&T's network - sometimes it gives a numeric carrier and sometimes it says AT&T - it gives me 3mbs down and around 2 up which is so much faster. Sadly, the unlocked iPhone 4S is the only good thing Sprint is giving us :/
     
  14. coolweirdo macrumors regular

    coolweirdo

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2011
    Location:
    Fl
    #14
    I know right? so how do i get one of these sims? and how much is the data when its roaming on att network
     
  15. wordoflife macrumors 604

    wordoflife

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    #15
    That's not the solution.
    Sprint unlocks iPhones. Verizon unlocks iPhones. But, with AT&T, I have to pay an outrageous price for an unlocked version. I don't know if AT&T realizes this or not, but it's really not encouraging people to use their service.
     
  16. coolweirdo macrumors regular

    coolweirdo

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2011
    Location:
    Fl
    #16
    bump... do anyone know the answer
     
  17. AlvinNguyen thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    #17
    It's incredibly expensive to roam internationally so I don't suggest it - it's a UK sim.
     
  18. beret9987 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #18
    This forum makes me feel like I'm the only one that gets decent speeds on Sprint. I just speed tested and got 1.1 Mbps down and am usually ranging from .9-1.5Mbps. It's not AT&T speeds but for a CDMA network, thats pretty good in my opinion.
     
  19. verwon macrumors 68030

    verwon

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011
    Location:
    Seattle
    #19
    No, I also get decent speeds, usually around 1 on Sprint, when on 3G.

    There appears to be something screwy with the network here recently. I'm not getting a good signal , at home, like I usually do. But it's the same on my Android phone, so not isolated to my iPhone.
     
  20. AlvinNguyen thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    #20
    I'm envious of that because I would be happy to hit the .9-1.1 mark. I don't need my internet to be blazing but as you can see in the video - .02 is unacceptable!
     
  21. docgerrard macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011
    #21
    yeah my speed fluctuates between .1 and like .7 but in terms of usability, they are all the same. sufficient for browsing and usually pandora, but unacceptable for videos and downloading apps.
     
  22. beret9987 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #22
    Definitely in agreement with that. I'm hoping Network Vision does Sprint a boatload of good, since I'm not really willing to give up my unlimited data for a long time...
     

Share This Page