Vista: 32-bit vs 64-bit

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by Stridder44, Apr 6, 2008.

?

Which Windows Vista (Ultimate Edition) version do you recommend?

  1. 32-bit

    18 vote(s)
    32.1%
  2. 64-bit

    38 vote(s)
    67.9%
  1. Stridder44 macrumors 68040

    Stridder44

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2003
    Location:
    California
    #1
    I want so badly for 64-bit to be the way to go, but I'm unsure still as I've heard very mixed reviews. So I want your opinion on which one to go with for gaming, general use, etc. What do you recommend from personal use: Vista (Ultimate) 32-bit or 64-bit?

    EDIT: I also found this little benchmark article comparing the two (done April 2nd, so SP1 is included obviously).

    (I searched for other threads but non seemed to really answer this question).
     
  2. MacsRgr8 macrumors 604

    MacsRgr8

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #2
    I have done it differently...

    I have partitioned my Windows HD (got one 320 GB HD dedicated to Windows) in two pieces:
    1) for Windows XP Pro SP 2 32 bits
    2) for Windows Vista Ultimate SP 2 64 bits

    Why?
    Because all "older" (2005 and earlier) games gave me one issue or another in Vista, so I decided to grab my dusted XP SP2 CD and install it for "ol' time's sake"

    Vista. Yeah... you can get a 32 bits version.. but why? If your Mac is capable of running a 64 bits OS, and you will upgrade your memory to > 4 GB in the future, why invest in 32 bits?
    Vista Ultimate 64 bits runs 32 bits apps very well, as your own link underlines. And once more apps become 64 bits, you'll be glad you got the required OS.
     
  3. Nugget macrumors 65816

    Nugget

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2002
    Location:
    Houston Texas USA
    #3
    I went with the 64 bit flavor on my Mac Pro (since I have more than 4GB of RAM) and it hasn't really posed any problems. The few games I've installed have all worked well enough. I say go for the 64 bit version.
     
  4. Quillz macrumors 65816

    Quillz

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #4
    I recommend 64-bit editions of operating systems, even though I'm currently running 32-bit Vista Ultimate on VMware Fusion. I do plan to set up a new 64-bit virtual machine for testing, though.
     
  5. steveza macrumors 68000

    steveza

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #5
    If you are talking about the MBP in your sig then the fact that you have 2GB RAM makes the difference zero IMO. If you are planning on installing 4GB then get the 64 bit.
     
  6. Stridder44 thread starter macrumors 68040

    Stridder44

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2003
    Location:
    California
    #6
    And I am, seeing as RAM (ddr2 anyway) is dirt cheap now. I found another interesting discussion here: http://forums.anandtech.com/messageview.aspx?catid=31&threadid=2144497&FTVAR_STKEYWORDFRM=&STARTPAGE=1&FTVAR_FORUMVIEWTMP=Linear

    After dozens of different configurations, games, and tests, this pretty much sums it up right here:

    On that note, I quickly remembered that I don't think my Leopard DVD comes with 64-bit boot camp drivers anyway. :(

    So 32-bit it is (for now anyway)! :D
     
  7. Stridder44 thread starter macrumors 68040

    Stridder44

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2003
    Location:
    California
    #7
    So, just want to update my statement. Apparently the 64-bit drivers that come on the MP install disc work with MBP's as well. So x64 it is!
     
  8. Siron macrumors 6502

    Siron

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #8
    I have a related question. I have XP Pro on a second disk that runs under BC and Parallels. I have ordered another disk that will go in Bay 3 with Vista 64 on it. Can Parallels be configured to run both OS (with an option at start up)?
    Alan
     
  9. The Flashing Fi macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    #9
    You can install Vista 32-bit now and install Vista 64-bit later when you're ready to move. The license is good for either 32 or 64-bit.
     
  10. Zwhaler macrumors 603

    Zwhaler

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2006
    #10
  11. Nugget macrumors 65816

    Nugget

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2002
    Location:
    Houston Texas USA
    #11
    I don't know about Parallels, but VMware fusion is unable to boot a 64-bit Boot Camp partition up in a virtual machine. That feature is limited to 32 bit Boot Camp partitions.
     
  12. Stridder44 thread starter macrumors 68040

    Stridder44

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2003
    Location:
    California
    #12
  13. kinless macrumors regular

    kinless

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2003
    Location:
    Tustin, California
    #13
    Actually that's not entirely accurate. I have Fusion running my 64-bit Vista boot camp partition. It's a bug in Fusion where it doesn't properly detect that it's 64-bit. If you go into the proper VMX file, you can change the guest property of "winvista" to "winvista-64" and then you won't get that error message. Works great on my Mac Pro.
     
  14. rasmasyean macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    #14
    Go 64-bit

    You want it to last so get 64-bit Vista Home Premium or Ultimate. It’s mega-fast with 64-bit apps as well as lets you upgrade > 4GB TOTAL RAM (system RAM + graphics card + other devices). 64-bit also requires “MS approved” (a.k.a. digitally signed) drivers so this “might” help with hardware compatibility, etc. This is MS’s way of trying to get everyone to “move on” if they are able to.

    But if you have old programs, they might not work (esp. with 64-bit version). Google “Vista compatibility list”. Knowing a bit about computers helps getting the old problematic ones to work (Internet has a lot of solutions that smart people share).

    Vista uses extra RAM to store commonly used files in a new activity known as “disk caching” (SuperFetch). The computer uses artificial intelligence to determine which files will be used most and copies it to RAM (where it is much faster than accessing your hard disk). This includes components of the programs you use on a regular basis. When you need more RAM for programs you launch, etc. the computer purges the “least likely used” files from RAM to make room for the new program. That’s why if you look at the performance monitor, Vista always has near zero “free” RAM. So in theory, the more RAM (for disk cache) you have, the faster your computer will operate. This can also be augmented (to a lesser effect) with a flash drive/card with a technology called ReadyBoost. Just stick it in and select “Speed up my system” and leave it there. Google “AnandTech ReadyBoost Performance” for basic test examples.
    http://blogs.techrepublic.com.com/window-on-windows/?p=735
    High RAM will be especially helpful for those people who like to leave all their windows open and use Vista’s “S3 sleep mode” (2 watts) so they can resume where they left off almost immediately after they turn their computers on.

    If this matters... the nextgen Adobe CS4 64-bit will only be available for Windows. OSX will only get CS4 32-bit. :(
    http://www.macrumors.com/2008/04/03/adobe-photoshop-cs4-to-be-64-bit-for-windows-32-bit-for-mac/
     
  15. powz macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    #15
    Does anyone know if it's possible to simply "upgrade" from Vista 32 bit to 64 bit or will I have to do a fresh OS install?
     
  16. MKnight macrumors regular

    MKnight

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    #16
    Nope, you need to reinstall the OS.
     
  17. rasmasyean macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    #17
    Well...If this is any indication that 64-bit is the wave of the future and 32-bit will be “obsolete”…

    “There appears to be a shift taking place in the PC industry: the move from 32-bit to 64-bit PCs.
    We've been tracking the change by looking at the percentage of 64-bit PCs connecting to Windows Update, and have seen a dramatic increase in recent months. The installed base of 64-bit Windows Vista PCs, as a percentage of all Windows Vista systems, has more than tripled in the U.S. in the last three months, while worldwide adoption has more than doubled during the same period. Another view shows that 20% of new Windows Vista PCs in the U.S. connecting to Windows Update in June were 64-bit PCs, up from just 3% in March. Put more simply, usage of 64-bit Windows Vista is growing much more rapidly than 32-bit. Based on current trends, this growth will accelerate as the retail channel shifts to supplying a rapidly increasing assortment of 64-bit desktops and laptops.”
    http://windowsvistablog.com/blogs/windowsvista/archive/2008/07/30/windows-vista-64-bit-today.aspx

    Not sure what bootcamping supports, but I guess you'll have to research this.
     
  18. Stridder44 thread starter macrumors 68040

    Stridder44

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2003
    Location:
    California
    #18
    Oh my God this thread is still alive? Well for the record, I've been running Vista 64 and it's been awesome. If you can, go for 64.
     
  19. emda82 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    #19
    No. of Processors.

    Found out today that all Vista Home editions only support 1 physical processor. So I would go for either Business edition or Ultimate.. just a thought.
     
  20. Stridder44 thread starter macrumors 68040

    Stridder44

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2003
    Location:
    California
    #20
    Oh God yes Home Basic is useless. Home Premium/Business is where it's at (if you don't want to go for Ultimate).
     
  21. rasmasyean macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    #21
    You mean a whole processor? Or just one core?

    You can have 1 Core 2 Quad with it right?
     
  22. emda82 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    #22
    Home Basic and Premium supports unlimited cores, but not two processors say like the MacPro.. But with your Core 2 Quad you'll be fine. Was a little bit tired last night when i wrote that reply. ;)
     

Share This Page