Vista Home Premium sufficient to run Crysis ?

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by yunk, May 6, 2008.

  1. yunk macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #1
    Hi all

    Is Vista Home Premium sufficient for direct x10 to run crysis on the new top spec imac. As i dont fancy paying over £200 for Vista ultimate.

    Also what would you think about running WAR Age of Reckoning when it comes out.

    Cheers :)
     
  2. Dagless macrumors Core

    Dagless

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Fighting to stay in the EU
    #2
    I think all Vista's come with DirectX10. Even XP will run Crysis, apparently much better too. There's not a giant difference between DX9 and 10, at least not one to warrant the performance boost using DX9.
     
  3. Cromulent macrumors 603

    Cromulent

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Location:
    The Land of Hope and Glory
    #3
    You can get the OEM version of Ultimate for £119.
     
  4. yunk thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
  5. yunk thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #5
    Oh another thing.

    Found the Vista premium OEM disks but what to get? 32 or 64 bit

    Thanks again :)
     
  6. MacBookProJoe macrumors regular

    MacBookProJoe

    Joined:
    May 7, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle, Warshington
    #6
    I have a dual boot PC. Vista Ultimate and XP Pro. Ive ended Crysis in both environments. Crysis looks a little better in the DX10 environment, but it plays better on XP.

    Im going to add XP to my MBP and see how it plays Crysis. You must understand that Crysis is a year or so ahead of its time technologically speaking. The most advanced PC cant play it with everything turned on. I know, because I built a high end PC just for that game.
     
  7. Dagless macrumors Core

    Dagless

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Fighting to stay in the EU
    #7
    Depends what bittage your CPU is. What Mac have you got?
     
  8. yunk thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #8
    Its one of the new imac's, 3ghz all the bells and whistles.
     
  9. JeffTL macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2003
    #9
    I'd strongly advise Vista 32 for Boot Camp. While the Intel Core 2 Duo chips are 64-bit and run as such under OS X, driver compatibility causes serious problems with Vista 64.
     
  10. motoko2030 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    #10
    I am planning on getting a Mac Pro with a 2.8GHz Quad processor, NVidia 8800GT and 4GBs of RAM; which 64 bit Windows OS will give me the best performance in playing Crysis.

    I heard that there is a big problem with XP Pro 64 bit with Mac Pros that causes XP Pro to run slower on a Mac Pro than any other Apple computer; does this problem still exist with the 2008 models of Mac Pro.
     
  11. Chundles macrumors G4

    Chundles

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    #11
    Is Crysis that good a game or is it just an oddity that it requires such high specs to be playable?

    I'm not trolling I just really want to know.
     
  12. Dagless macrumors Core

    Dagless

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Fighting to stay in the EU
    #12
    Crysis is both a technological feat of an engine, but it's also not a very fun game. But this is just IMO.
     
  13. nick9191 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Location:
    Britain
    #14
    Now that bootcamp has 64bit support, I'd say get the 64bit version. It's certainly a lot faster, and supports the full 4gb RAM if you have that in your iMac.
     
  14. MacBookProJoe macrumors regular

    MacBookProJoe

    Joined:
    May 7, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle, Warshington
    #15
    IMO it's by far the best FPS ever! Yes it's that good. Could it have been better, sure. Im not a big fan of all the "Alien" crap. That said, the program is a year or so ahead of todays technology. When the true next generation video card hits the streets we'll be able to crank up the settings in Crysis.
     
  15. Huntn macrumors G5

    Huntn

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Location:
    The Misty Mountains
    #16
    Have you used Fraps? (a free frames per second indicator program). It would be interesting to see your XP DX9 vs Vista DX10 performance. I'm running 32 bit Vista and with some performance adjustments am getting a range of fps centered on about 20 for Crysis.

    So far, I like crawling around in the jungle...
     
  16. yunk thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #17
    Thanks for the great links AppleMatt, good stuff :cool:
     

Share This Page