Vista on Mac

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by xy14, Sep 28, 2007.

  1. xy14 macrumors 6502

    xy14

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2004
    Location:
    Minneapolis
    #1
    Please don't scold me for wanting to do this, because I NEED to do this.
    --0--0--0--0--0--0---
    I need to put Vista on my iMac because I'm enrolling in the Minnesota Online High School which requires Windows. Is it possible (im not worried about legalities) to put Windows Vista Home Basic Upgrade or whatever on my Mac without having a prior version of Windows installed? I don't have $250 to buy the full version and if I need to I'll just buy Windows XP. I know I used to have Redhat Linux on my old eMachines and Windows XP Home Upgrade worked fine, even though Windows was not installed prior to that.

    Thanks for your help.

    anyone?
     
  2. angelwatt Moderator emeritus

    angelwatt

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    USA
    #2
    This isn't really the right forum for this question. I've never touched Vista and don't plan on it so can't help you, but I'd guess the answer is no.
     
  3. Cromulent macrumors 603

    Cromulent

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Location:
    The Land of Hope and Glory
  4. ClassicBean macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2004
    Location:
    Torontoland
  5. Celeron macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2004
    #5
    Actually, it is possible to do a clean install with the upgrade version. There's instructions for it everywhere, hit Google for more info. It technically is a violation of the EULA to install an upgrade version on a machine where you did not have a version of Windows already installed.
     
  6. Slarti42 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2007
    #6
    But what about OEMs? Can I install an OEM version of Vista via Boot Camp or do I really necessarily need a retail version?
     
  7. ClassicBean macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2004
    Location:
    Torontoland
    #7
    I responded to this yesterday - and didn't break any rules in doing so - but my post was deleted (and I think yours to if you're the one who asked the question). I don't like to be censored, especially when I didn't say anything harmful or illegal, but such is macrumors life.
     
  8. Carrot007 macrumors regular

    Carrot007

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    #8
    The OEM version is fine, all it means is that as you can only get suport from your OEM not microsoft (unless of course you pay) and it will mean your OEM is you.

    I spose wheather of not you should use an OEM windows on a mac is a grey area, I use OEM windows on my PC's but then I also build them myself so that seems reasonable.

    Furthermore, VISTA? Ugh. Please get XP instead. No one in their right might would willingly use vista.
     
  9. gnasher729 macrumors P6

    gnasher729

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2005
    #9
    Apple has no problem with this (legally), but Microsoft does.

    I would one hundred percent recommend that you leave Vista and install Windows XP instead. Whatever advantages Vista might have, you don't need them because you have a Mac which is better. But Vista has many compatibility problems with older Windows software, so if you are told you need Windows to run certain software, then you will be much better off with Windows XP.
     
  10. Slarti42 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2007
    #10
    For me there's no problem to buy an OEM. In most of Europe you can buy a single OEM version of Windows without problems. Since a lawsuit, Microsoft must not make cheaper versions available only for buyers of a new PC system within the European Union.
     
  11. metropolitim macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    #11
    Crossover

    1) Microsoft has said that OEM installations are fine - you can look it up. It's tied to a single motherboard, can't be upgraded, and if you need some help with multiple installations with Parallels, Fusion, etc., forget it.

    2) Crossover Mac allows you to run Windows installations without installing Windows. Not all Windows apps, but the list is quite impressive -- should cover most people's needs. It's super-easy to install, and offers a free trial.
     
  12. iJawn108 macrumors 65816

    iJawn108

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    #12
    Install as a trial without your S/N

    then from within windows upgrade and enter the S/N

    not illegal just a hack MS knows about it and says users can do so if they want to they just dont make it well known.
     

Share This Page