Visual Voicemail problem

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by Bzump, Jun 30, 2007.

  1. Bzump macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Location:
    Miami
    #1
    I can't seam to figure out how to get the visual voicemaill screen up any body been able to do it.

    I did have the wifi conect problem that people where having secure networks.
     
  2. DanB91 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    #2
    tap phone and then the icon all the way to the right on the bottom
     
  3. Bzump thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Location:
    Miami
    #3
    when i do that it calls my voicemail does not give me the visual voicemail screen
     
  4. terrrrrible macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    #4
    go to settings - phone - change voicemail password. even if you haven't put a password in yet, put whatever you want it to be in for old password, and then put it in for new password/confirm. after that, try and access the visual voicemail.
     
  5. Strafe macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    #5
    I have the same problem, not getting the visual voicemail screen, just dials voicemail like a regular phone. I went into settings - phone but there is no change voicemail password option. =(
     
  6. slim31 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    #6
    Just curious as to what software you have.

    Settings>General>Version

    I have 1.0 (1A543a) and my visual voice mail only goes to the old system and as described in the iPhone_User_Guide.pdf on page 36.

    Change the voicemail password
    From the Home screen choose Settings > Phone > Change Voicemail Password

    Does not exist for me either. I wonder if it was because I never had to set that up because I was an existing customer already having a set up voicemail. Just upgraded phones on the same package and added the data package. I thought that the visual voice mail was part of the data package though.

    On another note I am currently connected via WiFi on my home network and I have not received a voice mail while away, yet.
     
  7. point665 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2004
    #7
    Same problem here, one of our iPhones works fine with visual voicemail - the other is doing old fashioned... Think its AT&T related...
     
  8. slim31 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    #8
    Per AT&T support page

    Requirements

    * iPhone
    * Visual Voicemail feature present on account
    * Internet connection via AT&T's wireless network (WiFi connection not supported with Visual Voicemail)
     
  9. Catgofire macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    #9
    Wow so you actually have to turn off WiFi so Edge activates to get visual voicemail? That'd be ridiculous.
     
  10. slim31 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
  11. point665 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2004
    #11
    Of course its gonna have to be done through AT&T's network - but for some reason the other phone just aint going (and they were side by side)...

    Both are same version too.

    Edit: Im gonna play around with it in a bit - think its cause the visual voicemail is not enabled on the account, lets see.
     
  12. sonictonic macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2006
    Location:
    Central Coast, California
    #12
  13. confirmed macrumors regular

    confirmed

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2001
    Location:
    New York, NY
    #13
    I had the same problem. had to call support. it seems the activation did not correctly rove my old data plan and give me the iPhone data plan. once that was switched over the visual voicemail started working right away.
     
  14. point665 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2004
    #14
    Knew it :) Thanks for confirming it... confirmed.
     
  15. Strafe macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    #15

    Thanks for the info, I'm working now too! It really depends on who you talk to at support. The first time I called AT&T, they couldn't figure it out and sent me to Apple tech support. Apple of course couldn't figure it out because it wasn't their problem. After reading your message, I called AT&T back and the CSR could tell immediately that I didn't even have a data plan on my account and couldn't figure out how it was working at all! Thanks again!
     
  16. point665 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2004
    #16
    Yep,

    On the phone now and the data plan seems to be the problem - they said the blackberry plan was still on there so there fixing it now (knock on wood)... Im on hold.
     
  17. flintmica macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    #17
    i spoke w. two att reps that could not fix this...i asked if I had visual voicemail enabled on my line and they told me I did but could not figure out why it wasn't working. :confused: do you remember what option you pressed when calling att? thanks
     
  18. point665 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2004
    #18
    Got it working - I googled AT&T support contact and got the contact us page, then called the AT&T wireless support (theres a plain AT&T support too)... Then kept pressing 0...
     
  19. Strafe macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    #19
    I called 1-800-888-7600 from my iPhone and chose option 3 'help with voicemail', then 0 to speak with a CSR.
     
  20. jaykk macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2002
    Location:
    CA
    #20
    same issue, resolved in few mts.

    I had the same problem, followed the same instructions. Now my visual voice mail working. thank you.

    (Just ask them if the iPhone plan added to your account. In my case it wasn't added, she just added it, and everything works now.)
     
  21. akimball macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2000
    #21
    iPhone Voicemail Problem

    We were not able to connect using Voicemail. Everytime we touched the voicemail, we simply got some message that said we could not connect to voicemail. We could access voicemail via the indirect phone number but not via iphone.

    After a dozen calls, being transfered back and forth between AT&T and Apple (don't know why... voicemail is supposed to be the part that AT&T was servicing!) and making sure it was not the phone since the guy at the Apple store kindly replaced it, we finally got transfered to some guy at AT&T who knew the under-pinnings of voice mail and was able to fix the problem.

    He stated that voicemail works by accessing things through the internet... and there is a port which must be enabled for that to happen. He found that we did not have proper access to that port, which he was quick to fix, setup and it fixed the problem instantly.

    He also stated that this problem was beyond the training of most AT&T help employee's (most of whom didn't know squat really about the iPhone in general... even tried to "sell" us an additional voicemail plan ... it's INCLUDED" we emphasized... needless to say, it was not that person who finally helped us.

    If you can't get voicemail to connect, have them check your internet portal settings for voicemail... you're probably not set up correctly... insist on talking to someone who even understands this problem... most AT&T people we talked to didn't know the first thing about it. Good luck getting through... it's a real phone maze and you just have to get lucky enough to get the right person who is knowledgable.
     
  22. dhaila macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    #22
    Rate plan change disabled voicemail and visual voicemail

    My issue was slightly different but has been resolved now… Visual voicemail worked until I made a rate plan change through my local AT&T store. After the rate plan changed voicemail stopped working for all 4 of my lines (including visual voicemail on 2 iPhones). After calling customer service for the third time the issue is resolved. The first CSR told me that when my rate plan changed all of the voicemail services were deactivated. That CSR reactivated voicemail for all of the lines but the visual voicemail on the iPhones still didn’t work. As others have commented, hitting the voicemail option called voicemail instead of taking me to visual voicemail. I called a second CSR who verified for me that the iPhone data plan was added to both of my iPhone lines. What that CSR didn’t check was the voicemail option. After restoring my iPhone though iTunes and still having the same behavior I called a third CSR who was quite helpful. She checked a different setting and saw that when the other CSR had re-added/reactivated voicemail they added basic voicemail and not visual voicemail to the plan. She dropped the iPhone data plan and re-added it and now it works.

    In sum: Have the CSR add (or drop and re-add) the iPhone data plan and also have them verify that it is visual voicemail and not basic voicemail that is on the account. She also said that you could use the wireless account manger through the website to drop and re-add the iPhone data plan and it should fix the issue, too. Since mine is working now I haven’t tried or verified this.
     
  23. scaredpoet macrumors 604

    scaredpoet

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    #23
    For the record: no, you don't need to turn off WiFi. In fact I just tested it with WiFi on.

    What happens is the iPhone will use the EDGE network to retrieve the voicemail, even when WiFi is on and connected. As long as the phone gets a signal from both, it will stay connected to both... it'll just favor the WiFi when it can, and use EDGE when it must.
     
  24. talazem macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    #24
    UK o2 visual voicemail problems

    Is anyone having problems accessing their o2 *visual* voicemail, similar to the OP here, on a normal contract?
     
  25. Frozentoast macrumors 6502

    Frozentoast

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    #25
    Yep. Every time I tap the button it just dials the regular voicemail number... :(
     

Share This Page