VNC Lite now in App Store

Discussion in 'iOS Apps' started by Mike2128, Jul 15, 2008.

  1. djwobble macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    Location:
    Virginia Beach, Virginia
  2. Mike2128 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    #3
    I don't see it through the phone's app store, but through iTunes it's listed under Mocha VNC Lite.
     
  3. Dipdip macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
  4. almostaskater62 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
  5. djwobble macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    Location:
    Virginia Beach, Virginia
  6. baseballcp2002 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Location:
    Irvine
  7. Strategy macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    #8
    Feels much better than the jailbreak version.

    With all this stuff coming to the app store, I won't even need to jailbreak 2.0
     
  8. almostaskater62 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    #9
    ahhh this is sweet, much easier than the web-app telikinesis, though fewer features
     
  9. MacGeek7 macrumors 6502a

    MacGeek7

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    #10
    This looks rather interesting - I'm gonna have to try this out
     
  10. almostaskater62 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    #11
    when is the non-lite version appearing?
    anyone know?
    anyone know how to get it setup over edge not wifi?
     
  11. djwobble macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    Location:
    Virginia Beach, Virginia
    #12
    Edge would require a VPN connection or a router configured to forward the 5900 or 5100 (if you use the default ports) to point to the host running VNC...
     
  12. almostaskater62 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    #13
    (smacks self in head) DUH

    got it thanks
     
  13. gr8tfly macrumors 603

    gr8tfly

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Location:
    ~119W 34N
    #14
    Works very well with WinVNC on Win2k.

    Haven't tried with Leopard and/or ARD, but I suspect it'll be very useful.

    A bit off topic, but since this is part of my server tools, Leopard Server Admin tools on iPhone would be a nice addition to the current tools. Apple listening? ;)
     
  14. almostaskater62 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
  15. sneeks macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    Location:
    Glasgow, UK
    #16
    I can't get this to connect to my computer. It reaches the 'VNC Negotiation' stage and then never fully connects. The icon on my work PC changes to show a incoming connection but I then get a 'Host has closed connection' message after a minute or two.
     
  16. DogcowUK macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    #17
    Got it to connect to Leopard ARD, you must first enable "VNC viewers may control screen with password" under Screen Sharing Prefs -> Computer Settings.

    It's pretty slow refreshing even over WiFi, scrolling around the screen is smooth though.
     
  17. CutsAu macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2008
    #18
    Do I just punch in my IP address to connect once I have port forward 5900 and setup remote desktop in OSX ??
     
  18. joshysquashy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 13, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #19
    Yes, but make sure its your external one, not the one for the lan. Here
     
  19. CutsAu macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2008
    #20
    Thats what I figured.

    Thanks for the quick reply.
     
  20. m477h3w macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    #21
    This ap is excellent on my home WiFi network, but I can't get it to connect when outside of my network. I am running leopard on a MacBook Pro, do I need to do something to allow external access?
     
  21. CommanderData macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2007
    #22
    The answer is right in Post #12. Reading FTW... :p
     
  22. Spanky Deluxe macrumors 601

    Spanky Deluxe

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Location:
    London, UK
    #23
    Since its resolution limited to 1680x1200, its effectively useless for anyone with a screen bigger than Apple's standard 20" models. Shame.
     
  23. m477h3w macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    #24
    I am very new to this and that post makes no sense to me :confused: sorry. Simpleton terms???
     
  24. CommanderData macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2007
    #25
    m477h3w, I don't know if you can make it any simpler than that.

    If you have a router ( little linksys or netgear box that is between your computer and cable modem/internet connection ) log into it using your web browser and do several things:

    1) get your external IP Address (the one the rest of the internet sees you as). This is the IP address you'll use for the connection over Edge.

    2) set up port forwarding to send requests on Ports 5900 and 5100 to your PC or Mac (you can get it's IP address from the DHCP list, which will also be in your router).

    Every router is different, you'll need to look at your user manuals or google for more details if this does not make sense to you.

    Alternately, get a better router that supports VPN connections and define a VPN connection on your iPhone to connect to that VPN. Then you can just use your regular PC/Mac IP address with no port forwarding. I use a Linksys RV082, and the VPN allows me to connect to any computer in my house. Port Forwarding as described above will only let you connect to ONE computer in your house.
     

Share This Page