W1 Chip Question

Discussion in 'iPhone Accessories' started by Macaddict16, Sep 28, 2016.

  1. Macaddict16 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2002
    #1
    Is the W1 chip in the AirPods and the new PowerBeats3 just in the headphones? I have a 6S Plus and an Apple Watch Series 2, will I be able to take advantage of the easy pairing if I get a pair of headphones with the W1 in them?
    Thanks!
    Macaddict16
     
  2. AustinIllini macrumors demi-god

    AustinIllini

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2011
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #2
    The W1 is compatible with iOS 10 devices. The devices don't require any special hardware (The pairing is still Bluetooth)
     
  3. Macaddict16 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2002
    #3
    Awesome! Thanks so much!
     
  4. Relentless Power macrumors P6

    Relentless Power

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2016
    #4
    Just to clarify, the W1 chip will be exclusive to the Airpods when released.
     
  5. Macaddict16 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2002
    #5
  6. Relentless Power macrumors P6

    Relentless Power

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2016
    #6
  7. Macaddict16 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2002
    #7
    No worries :)

    BeatsX also has them as well. Forgot to mention that earlier.
     
  8. AustinIllini macrumors demi-god

    AustinIllini

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2011
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #8
    I have the Solo3. The W1 is nice. The pairing is pretty cool, but the battery life is INSANELY GOOD
     
  9. bigjnyc macrumors 601

    bigjnyc

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    #9
    So what is so special about the W1? currently when I turn on my Jaybird X2 headphones they pair with my iPhone immediately like within a second.... So what are the other advantages because fast pairing seems to take place with most other bluetooth headphones.... Initially I thought the W1 chip was meant to replace bluetooth when using it with new Apple devices.
     
  10. jjk454ss macrumors 601

    jjk454ss

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    #10
    I thought mostly battery life, could be wrong though
     
  11. matrix07 macrumors 68040

    matrix07

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    #11
    If you have only 1 device you don't need it. If you have 2 you should consider it. If you have 3 or 4 (iPhone, iPad, Mac, Watch) it's a no brainer. It can switch sources on the fly.
     
  12. Macaddict16 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2002
    #12
    How do you switch sources? Have you done it or seen a video showing it? I haven't come across one, but it would be cool to see the connection getting easily switched between all 4 compatible device types!
     
  13. matrix07 macrumors 68040

    matrix07

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    #13
    When you connect it to iPhone it will be connected to every devices in your iCloud account at once. Jim Dalrymple said in podcast with John Gruber that when he was out walking listening to music from his watch he ask SIRI on his phone something and music was paused and he can listen to SIRI on his phone. When SIRI finished the music from the watch resumed after a few seconds.
    It's just like what you get from iPhone with wired headphone when you're asking SIRI while listening to music, just that this is 2 devices and you didn't have to switch your headphone.
     
  14. bigjnyc macrumors 601

    bigjnyc

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    #14
    Ok got it, that is actually pretty handy.
     
  15. AustinIllini macrumors demi-god

    AustinIllini

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2011
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #15
    It looks like I'm going to have to charge these Solo3 once per week, which is really great.
     
  16. Macaddict16 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2002
    #16
    Found this video online showing the Beats Solo 3 headphones showing up everywhere. The good stuff starts about 5 min in.

    https://9to5mac.com/2016/09/15/hand...eadphones-featuring-apples-new-w1-chip-video/

    The question I still have is, if I am going on a run with just my watch and not my phone I need to put my iPhone in airplane mode to make sure that the GPS is from the watch. As long as my W1 chip headphones are paired to my watch when I turn the iPhone into airplane mode I should be good, right?
     
  17. AustinIllini macrumors demi-god

    AustinIllini

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2011
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #17
    I believe so. I would try it, but unfortunately i don't own the watch
     
  18. Macaddict16 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2002
    #18
    That's how I am assuming they will work as well. I will probably be getting the PowerBeats3 when they come out mainly for the W1 chip. My current Bluetooth headphones tend to cutout when running with the watch alone due to the Bluetooth having to cross from left wrist to right ear for the transmitter. Hoping the PowerBeats3 will remedy that!
     
  19. AustinIllini macrumors demi-god

    AustinIllini

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2011
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #19
    The range on the Solo3 is pretty insane. Like 30 ft through walls.
     
  20. bgro macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Location:
    South Florida
    #20
    Have this same issue with the powerbeats 2 so annoying
     
  21. Macaddict16 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2002
    #21
    Sounds like the 3s will fix that if they have even half the range of the solo 3s
     
  22. aawil macrumors 6502a

    aawil

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    #22
    I would assume all of these new W1 headphones are class 1 bluetooth. The powerbeats 3 are anyway. Most headphones are probably class 2. Class 1 puts out a lot more radiation, still a fraction of what the phones put out but a lot more than others. How safe that is I don't know but it accounts for why the range seems to be so good.
     
  23. DAMAC3 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2009
    Location:
    Noblesville, IN
    #23
    One question I have is will the W1 chip work with the Apple TV? I would love to be able to switch between my phone and the Apple TV. Does anyone know?
     
  24. Macaddict16 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2002
    #24
    That is a very good question! I would assume so since you have all of the necessary things like iCloud login and iOS 10. Don't have any W1 headphones to test out though...
     
  25. DAMAC3 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2009
    Location:
    Noblesville, IN
    #25
    I just read in another thread on here that someone tried this and had to pair their Solo3 to the Apple TV manually. Bummer!

    I have tried the Solo3 at the Apple Store, and I thought it sounded like crap. I am not an audio elitist. I listened to the Bose QC35, and I thought it was amazing. The Solo3 was so bad, I am wondering if there was something wrong with the pair I tried out. I think I have decided to purchase a pair tomorrow to try them out.
     

Share This Page