Wait? Buy? Or IBM it.

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by terrym2442, Mar 12, 2012.

1. terrym2442 macrumors newbie

Hi,

I know there's been a lot of discussion about this but perhaps you guys can help. I'm new to Mac, having switched from IBM last May to an iMac (still learning the ropes- it's been tough).

Now, I need to replace my Lenovo ThinkPad, which I've had for 7 YEARS.

Here's my question:

I only use my laptop while traveling and only for email, writing and web browsing. Nothing hardcore. I don't even use it for music. The problem is, I need to get a replacement quickly.

So...do I spend a ton of $$ for a MacPro or Air now? Wait until the so-called new ones come out?

Or buy an inexpensive IBM?

I'm leaning towards a Mac but having a tough time waiting it out if it goes beyond April. And no one seems to know for sure if a new one is even coming out, right?

Any suggestions?

Thanks-

2. heisenberg123 macrumors 603

heisenberg123

first for what your using the laptop for get a cheap IBM one, if you really like Mac get the one you can afford now, you really dont need more power than the current ones offer

3. hafr macrumors 68030

You could get a second hand netbook for a hundred bucks that would be overkill for your needs. Get an a few years old Acer Aspire One until the new MBP/MBA are released and make the decision if you want to spend all that money or not then.

4. dusk007 macrumors 68040

dusk007

According to Intel there will definitely be no mobile Dual Core IB before june. Thus you'd have to wait a while.
    I would just buy one now if you need it now. With that usage you'd probably do just fine with an Air.

5. RRoku702 macrumors newbie

RRoku702

Aloha,