wait for next mac pro?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by DZL, Jul 9, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. DZL macrumors regular

hey all -

i'm a 3D animator and video editor, and i've recently decided to switch from pc to mac. i have, on order (not yet shipped) this:

mac pro

but, after reading up on some threads here, i've re-thunk (is that a word?) my decision - i've heard the actual hardware in the machine is a year old, and apple is going to upgrade in the near future...

so the million dollar question is, should i wait?

thanks,

matt

2. iBookG4user macrumors 604

iBookG4user

Can you afford to wait? There are new processors scheduled to come out in Q3 of this year, but if you can't afford to wait, then buy now.

3. DZL thread starter macrumors regular

how far into Q3 are we talking here?

right now i have an ancient PC - my patience is wearing thin... but, if it's only a month or so, i can probably wait...

thanks,

matt

4. Wild-Bill macrumors 68030

Wild-Bill

July 22nd Intel is dropping prices by a considerable amount on all of its processors. Many believe we will see an update shortly after that. Apple will then have the ability to beef up the standard configurations and still keep their high margins. Also, FBDIMM prices have fallen since the Mac Pro came out last August. This could mean perhaps 2 gigs as standard in the base config (pure speculation though). They could also go 8-core all around and dump the quad core configs as a result of the price drops. (again, speculation, but we are talking about 8-core chips costing the same as the current quad cores, come July 22nd)

The video card offerings are indeed old. I don't know when the base nVidia 7300GT came out, but the ATi x1900XT was released in Jaunary of 2006. Apple has gone almost a year without updating the Mac Pro, and as a few other posters have pointed out, the addition in April of quad-core processors was not an update, just another option.