Waive Att ETF ?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by wzq1943, Apr 8, 2014.

1. wzq1943, Apr 8, 2014
    Last edited: Apr 9, 2014

wzq1943 macrumors newbie

Hey guys, i am sure there are some similar topic in this forum, but many of them are out of date.

Just wondering is it possible to have my att ETF waived

Here's my situation:

I renewed a 2-yr contract on the day iPhone 5s was launched, that means is around Oct-2013.

I am an international student, i will be graduating and leaving USA for good at end of April.

Does the "leaving the country" excuse still works ??

UPDATE:
    thanks for the reply, i just called att and got the fee waived, for 2 lines ($540)
    main reason was i spoke to a very nice customer representative!!!

but they said they can't unlock my phone

well, i got my 2 ATT Locked Gold 5s 3 days after launch, and i sold them for $900 each, that's when the demand was so so so so high.

and i bought 2 unlocked version 5s from apple store for personal use (but waited 2 weeks)

go ahead ATT, don't unlock my phone, haha

after some calculation, I got 2 unlocked 5s for around $330 total. not bad

many replies below said that i am not an honest person, since i knew i will be leaving on apr-14, why would i sign a 2yr contract on oct-13, i wanted to stay in US, it just happen that i got a very good job offer back in my home country.

ATT is ripping us off, activation fee and EVEN upgrade fee for renewing their contract and stay as a ATT customer !! You don't have to be nice to them

2. richwoodrocket macrumors 68020

richwoodrocket

I don't think it will, because you are indeed breaking the contract.

3. 617aircav Suspended

If you are leaving the US for good as you say, why do you care about the etf. Either you pay it as a good and honest person or you don't. AT&T will not waive it. After all you knew you would be leaving when you signed the contract and signed it anyway. Be responsible and pay it.

4. aajeevlin macrumors 6502a