Wall-E & Handbrake

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by rwoolsey, Jan 4, 2009.

  1. rwoolsey macrumors member

    rwoolsey

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #1
    Anyone had any luck Hanbraking Wall-E? My chapters are scrambled, same as Narnia's Prince Caspian.
     
  2. marcusgee macrumors newbie

    marcusgee

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    #2
    I haven't tried Wall-E, but I had a heck of a time with some other Disney titles. Best bet is to use Fairmount (available for a free download at http://www.metakine.com/products/fairmount/) to decrypt and copy the VIDEO_TS folder to your hard drive and then use Handbrake to transcode folder that you copied rather than using the orginal DVD as the source. Again, I haven't tried this with Wall-E, but it has worked very well with my other Disney titles.
     
  3. plinden macrumors 68040

    plinden

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    #3
    I used Ripit followed by Handbrake to rip these two movies. Worked fine, although Prince Caspian had 1h 08m of scrambled scenes before the movie actually started, although the rest was good. I was able to use MPEG Streamclip to remove the scrambled video .
     
  4. rwoolsey thread starter macrumors member

    rwoolsey

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    Location:
    Indianapolis
  5. TheZA macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    #5
    I used Mac The Ripper 14M to rip the correct title set, ran it through DETOX, and that Handbraked fine. I forget what the title set was. Visit the Ripdifferent.com and the title specific topic for the complete low down.

    I've been able to rip/encode some things directly with the new Handbrake, what is it, 0.9.3, with the latest VLC installed. Handbrake now doesn't "natively" support ripping, but will use VLC's libraries if you have it installed. Actually seems to work better than ever. Fairmount uses VLC as well. My question, is there any need for the Fairmount route any more - aren't you sort of doing the same thing now with Handbrake and VLC? I wonder if I could have Handbraked Wall-E directly if I knew the correct title. I was able to rip/encode The Dark Night directly.
     
  6. dynaflash macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    #6
    Well, yes and no. Both Fairmount and HandBrake 0.9.3 use one thing and one thing only from VLC .... the libdvdcss dynamic library. HB used to include this library in its mac binary. But since 0.9.3 ( or more specifically right after 0.9.2 was released ) the mac version of HB looks for that library in the vlc.app package ( as fairmount always has) instead of having it built into the HB app.

    However, the way HandBrake and Fairmount actually read each dvd's structure including all of the intentional crappy mastering is quite different.

    Fairmount is imho best used with dtox as dtox does a fantastic job of cleaning up intentionally f'ed up mastering of dvd's (like Wall-E). Though having said that, HB's dvd reading code in 0.9.3 is quite a bit more robust than in 0.9.2 (which is why HB 0.9.2 will not touch Wall-E and 0.9.3 can rip it right from disk if you just select title 30).
     
  7. TheZA macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    #7
    Beautiful, thank you Dynaflash. I just came back to add to my post and saw your response.

    To the person who first asked the question, do you know how to select a title in Handbrake? When you open Handbrake, select cancel when it comes up and asks for a source. Then go to file, open title set (or something like that), then change the title from 1 or whatever the default is to Title 30 in the case of Wall-E. Oh, and you will need to have the latest VLC installed.
     
  8. dynaflash macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
  9. rwoolsey thread starter macrumors member

    rwoolsey

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #9
    No, I was not aware of the go-around. Can the same be applied to 'Prince Caspian?'
     
  10. MacBoobsPro macrumors 603

    MacBoobsPro

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    #10
    Theres a BIG dark knight thread around here somewhere about ripping it. Gives the title number to choose but I cant remember what it was.
     
  11. Keebler macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    Location:
    Canada
    #11
    it was chapter 23 or 29 i think? can't quite remember.

    put the wall-e dvd in, go through the menus and warnings and starting the movie, then right click on the screen and go to title, see what number is showing.

    then go to HB and choose that title # and you're good to go.

    i had the same prob - all the chapters were messed up :)
     
  12. gdeusthewhizkid macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Location:
    NY|NJ
    #12
    i never had a problem i just downloaded the movie online. full version dvd rip. Great quality.
     
  13. TheZA macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    #13
    Didn't do it this way for Prince Caspian as I was looking for a DVD backup for that, but I believe it should work (the new Handbrake is impressive). Ripdifferent.com says Title 58 (not to be confused with Titleset 10). You could do like Keebler suggested, start watching it in DVD Player noting what title is playing.
     
  14. Robbadore64 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Location:
    Jacksonville, Florida
    #14
    Thanks!
    I can't wait to try title selection by watching the DVD itself to see where it was. Can't believe I didn't think of that. When I tried Wall-E last month I did about 15-20 test runs of the first ten minutes of several titles, all of which were hosed. It just p!sses me off to charge more for a movie that includes the digital copy as well.
     
  15. rwoolsey thread starter macrumors member

    rwoolsey

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #15
    I'm missing something... how do you find out which title it is to begin with? What about the movie 'End of the Spear?'
     
  16. pagansoul macrumors 65816

    pagansoul

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Location:
    Earth
    #16
    I used TVmax on both but the quality isn't the best. It just copies whatever is playing in my DVD player in real-time.
     
  17. TheZA macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    #17
    The simplist way is to play the DVD on your computer using DVD Player. When I do it I do not go full screen (there are other ways, I'll just tell you the way I do it). Once you are actually watching the movie, not the intro or warnings or bonus features, on the little controller below the movie it gives you the option of what it is displaying. The default is the elapsed time of play, but right below that you see where it says chapter/title. Click that and you can cycle through several options, one of which will show you the title you are watching out of the total number (another option is the chapter out of the total number, and I was a dummy once and mistook the chapter instead of the title - make sure the title is highlighted in the controller instead of the chapter, and you can note the difference if you cycle through the options).

    Or you can go to the difficult titles topic on the forums at ripdifferent.com and see if somebody mentions it there.

    I also ripped the bonus features on the Wall-E DVD, Burn-E and Presto, by noting the title number and ripping these seperately with Handbrake.

    Sorry, no experience with End of the Spear.
     
  18. Fantabulous macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009
    #18
    The Key for Me

    VLC media player Version 0.9.8 (installed in Applications)
    HandBrake Version 0.9.3 (2008112300)
    Select Title 30

    I always convert to a 640x??? resolution with h.264 so it will play on my iPod 5G and my iPhone 3G and still look nice on my wide screen tvs. I use the iPod Legacy setting.

    You don't need to run VLC just have it installed so Handbrake can use its decoder

    2 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo iMac with OS X Version 10.5.6
     
  19. Cave Man macrumors 604

    Cave Man

    #19
    HB transcodes the Blu-ray fine, too, except that it's a DTS track (thus DPLII after the transcode). Sure looks nice at 720p on the ATV. :)
     
  20. clk430 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    #20
    Blu-ray?

    Cave Man: What hardware/software (besides HB) to you use for Blu-ray? Any limitations with the DPS/DPLII audio?
     
  21. Cave Man macrumors 604

    Cave Man

    #21
    See the thread Blu-ray to Apple TV to get info on how it's done. The disadvantage of DPLII is that it's 5-channel analog and not 5.1 digital (you lose the LFE). It still sounds very nice, though.
     
  22. bflowers macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    #22
    good info on this thread. When I looked at ripping both of those, the computer told me they were each about 70 gig! I figured there was something fishy going on with repeat files each pretending to be 1 gig.
     
  23. Ginseng macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    #23
    Chapters 1-33.
    I use the "iPhone & iPod Touch" preset, weak Denoise, Deblock 5.

    I also ripped Burn-E, Title 74, chapters 1-13.
     
  24. paduck macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    #24
    Did you buy it from iTunes? That would be the best quality for a download. Also, perhaps the only legal download.
     
  25. NC MacGuy macrumors 603

    NC MacGuy

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    Location:
    The good side of the grass.
    #25

Share This Page