War Hammer?

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by rock909, Aug 14, 2008.

  1. rock909 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    #1
    Will Warhammer run good on my mac pro quad 2.66 with 7300 graphics card?

    (Bootcamp i know)

    Also what about a macbook pro 2.4 intel core 2 duo with 8600GT?

    Thanks!
     
  2. jeremytehjerk macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    #2
    On beta, running warhammer through bootcamp has been sluggish to the point of being unplayable for myself and everyone else ive talked to who has tried it. On the beta help FAQ, EA Mythic states that running the game under bootcamp is not supported, and there are no plans currently in the works to support that or a mac version.

    However, the beta version of the game does not allow for any of the adjustments available to the user via the settings screen or many of the changes your computer/graphics card would make for you. Many windows users have also found the beta unplayable and EA mythic has said that graphics cards not listed are not supported. It is likely that many (and hopefully most) of the people running into issues like that with the beta will find the full client to be very different, though until it is out or EA mythic releases a new beta which allows more graphical options than the few screen resolution options currently offered it is hard to say if the way the game appears currently via bootcamp is by design or a problem with the current beta's lack of broad graphics support.
     
  3. punkybadhip Guest

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    #3
    With Bootcamp, you create a partition, with windows on it. It is not emulation software. The comment the other user made is rather futile.

    As long as you ensure you have the latest drivers for all your hardware, and you have around 2GB ram, you wouldn't have a problem.
     
  4. soms macrumors 6502

    soms

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2007
    Location:
    Seattle
    #4
    Correct. I've been running the closed beta client on my MBP 2.2 for quite awhile now and it works just fine. Not sure what the other poster was thinking, but bootcamp is NOT emulation.
     
  5. Chone macrumors 65816

    Chone

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    #5
    Maybe he means to say that if you bitch to EA about problems happening in your Mac running Windows they will simply tell you to **** off because they don't "support" Bootcamp.

    :)
     
  6. palebluedot macrumors 6502a

    palebluedot

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    #6
    Will we be able to rap this game in a home made CIDER port or perhaps Crossover Games 7.0.1 or are the graphical requirements and the way it handles API too advanced?
     
  7. kahine macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    #7
    Play it myself - it's gotten much better recently -

    I'd say a 7300 is going to be able to run it but not well at all , an 8800gt or 3870 runs it quite well , 3870's in Xfire in Windows best for higher resolutions

    Not sure what poster a few above is talking about - I have several friends running it very well these past few weeks -

    And there's not really any need for them to "officially support" bootcamp - it's a windows machine with a realtek sound card and whatever video card you have once under that - you don't have to even bring up the bootcamp part -

    There are several people running it fine on Mac's in beta - honestly the macbook with the 8600 will probably run it a little better than the pro with the 7300 - still not great but doable
     
  8. bobber205 macrumors 68020

    bobber205

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Location:
    Oregon
    #8
    If I preorder this at Gamestop, do I get a beta key?
     
  9. Huntn macrumors G5

    Huntn

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Location:
    The Misty Mountains
    #9
    I recently read the PC Gamer writeup for Warhamer Online. When they started talking about raids, I was hmmm, maybe not. I just don't think I'm the raiding MMO type. I much prefer exploration or small group action.
     
  10. bobber205 macrumors 68020

    bobber205

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Location:
    Oregon
    #10
    I'm sure there's some of both?
     
  11. Huntn macrumors G5

    Huntn

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Location:
    The Misty Mountains
    #11
    I think there is, but my impression is also that there is an end game and likely that it is structured like WoW. Raiding seems to be the thing the the hard core types like.
     
  12. kahine macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    #12
    The end game "raiding" is city sieges as in PvP , if you aren't into that then no it's not going to be fun

    Me I rather PvP 10000x more than do some stupid PVE 40 man raid ,

    The end game here is nothing like WoW's
     
  13. rock909 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    #13
    Well I got into the Preview weekend and will let you all know how it performs on both my systems...

    WAR is awesome because EVERYTHING you do goes towards your realm so its not just questing/grinding adds a neat spin on things but only time will tell. I will post my first impressions as this preview is only for the weekend till the open beta...
     
  14. bobber205 macrumors 68020

    bobber205

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Location:
    Oregon
    #14
    What's with the preview? Is it only this weekend?
     
  15. Huntn macrumors G5

    Huntn

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Location:
    The Misty Mountains
    #15
    Thanks for the info! Something to consider. :)
     
  16. Ryanh856 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    #16
    I've got a 1.83 Ghz, Intel Core Duo iMac w/ 1 gig of DDR ram and a 128 mb Radeon x1600. I was thinking about upgrading to leopard to get boot camp just for this game. However, I don't want to do that if I can't even run it. Any thoughts on whether these specs will run WAR decently?
     
  17. kahine macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    #17
    Run it as in meets min specs yes -

    Decently though ? That depends on your definition of decent , I'm going to say no as it will use over 1 gb of ram by itself if you have 2 or more available , so between being low on ram and the video card barely meeting specs its probably going to be pretty slow
     
  18. Ryanh856 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    #18
    Ok, I just bought a gig of ram, would have bough more but I don't have any more slots. Will an extra gig of ram make a huge difference with this game, assuming I'm running XP?
     
  19. ScottC2105 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    #19
    How much will you have in total now? 2GB? If so, the 1GB to 2GB jump is a big differance especially for gaming. It should make the world of differance for Warhammer Online.
     
  20. Ryanh856 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
  21. Cander macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    #21
    I played it all weekend on my previous gen iMac. 2 ghz, 2 gigs ram, 2400 Mobility.

    It actually ran really well on balanced. Things could get a bit choppy for a few seconds with heavy particle effects on top of you in RvR, but other than that I was pleasantly surprised how well it ran.

    Should note I also set spell effects to Party only to help reduce the screen lag during RvR.

    The reduced settings really didnt make the game look bad either.

    Edit: Forgot to add, the game itself was fun too. The Tier 1 RvR was action packed with constant back and forth pushes. I got some limited Tier 2 keep siege and defense in, but not as spectacular which I chalk up to limited number of players. When sieging, there was only 1 to 3 people on defense versus 15-20 opponents. But I did enjoy shooting huge ballista arrows into the attacking healers from the 2nd floor of the keep. Up until they busted the door down and in one last valiant charge I ran down stairs to get gang raped by the WAAAGH! Hopefully at release with guilds actively defending keeps, this will be much more action packed.
     
  22. Ryanh856 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    #22
    Hmm, how does the 2400 Mobility stack up against the x1600 128mb? Other than GPU our iMacs are about the same...
     
  23. soms macrumors 6502

    soms

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2007
    Location:
    Seattle
    #23
    I have a 2.4 MBP and it runs the game fine. Theres a little bit of lag when lots of people are on screen, we had our guild in 4 war bands, so thats like 90+ people and it was lagging a little bit. Also realize this is still beta and its running in debug mode, hence why it takes up 1 gig of memory, and once its the full client it will drop way down.

    For the person above saying it looked like it was only raiding:
    There are Public Quests, scenarios, RvR, and lots more. The ultimate end game is taking keeps in order to take over the enemies capital city, which is a combination of PvP and sieges.
    There is a small bit of raiding, but only once you are inside the capital city, big instanced dungeons with loot etc once you take it over.
     
  24. Cander macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    #24
    The x1600 has a much slower core and memory clock speed. The memory clock speed is like half the speed of the 2400 XT. You MIGHT still get playable framerates with everything turned way down, but I can't guarantee that.

    Definatly plenty to do. I kept bouncing between scenarios, public quests, and RvR. Whatever 'floated my boat' at any given time. I guess depending on you look at it, the game is focused to raiding in a sense. But it isn't raiding where you spend 1 hours forming a 25 man team then spend 5 hours in an instance. Public Quests are raids, but they generally dont last long and are easy to just walk into and still have a chance and getting 'epix'(PQs have a rolling system where at the end of the quest, a random number generator rolls 1 - 1000, adds any contribution points you get from participating and assign awards to the top 3 or more rolls by letting you loot a loot bag from the chest), and sieges and open world RvR is raiding in the sense that you are squaring off against larg groups of opponents trying to sack their keeps. You just have to stop thinknig of raid as a naughty 4 letter word. It isn't in Warhammer.
     
  25. Kenza macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    #25
    I guess there's no chance my normal white Macbook 2Ghz with 2 Gigs of RAM will run it because of the integrated graphics chip, right? Anyone tried it?
     

Share This Page