WARNING: Sprint users

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by rocknblogger, Oct 30, 2011.

  1. rocknblogger macrumors 68020

    rocknblogger

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #1
    I tried restoring my iPhone 4S. After the restore completed I got an error message saying that I have an incompatible SIM. I called tech support, both Spring and Apple, and neither was able to help. I have to go to a Sprint store tomorrow to get this resolved.

    Just because this happened to me doesn't necessarily mean it will happen to you. I just wanted to put this out there just in case any of my fellow Sprint users want to restore their phones in an effort to fix some issues.
     
  2. Arnezie macrumors 65816

    Arnezie

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011
    #2
    What issues were you experiencing that made you attempt a restore ?
     
  3. ijohnbro macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    #3
    restore or hard reset?
     
  4. dave006 Contributor

    dave006

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    Location:
    Just West of East
    #4
    Since you are a Sprint customer you don't really need a Micro-SIM to use the Sprint Network.

    Just pop out the Micro-SIM for now and when you have some free time swing by Sprint.

    Dave
     
  5. wordoflife macrumors 604

    wordoflife

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    #5
    Ideally, this wasn't designed to happen. Hopefully it was just your phone/computer.
     
  6. dukedvl macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    #6
    I am on Sprint and did a restore yesterday and did not have any problems.
     
  7. rocknblogger thread starter macrumors 68020

    rocknblogger

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #7
    I was having battery issues as well as slow data issues. I read that doing a restore and setting it up as new helped a lot of people with battery drain problems. So I figured I would give it a go. No love for me :(
     
  8. rocknblogger thread starter macrumors 68020

    rocknblogger

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #8
    Yeah that's why I said that even though it happened to me it doesn't mean it will happen to every Sprint user. I just wanted to post the warning just in case.
     
  9. Fuchal macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    #9
    I restored mine as well from iTunes and had no SIM errors.
     
  10. rocknblogger thread starter macrumors 68020

    rocknblogger

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #10
    No unfortunately the phone won't allow me to finish setting it up. I can't get to my home screen at all :(
    I think if the Sprint rep would have pushed an activation signal to my phone it would have worked. The Apple support specialist said as much but I had a ying yang on the phone who didn't sound like a top tier tech guy, which he was supposed to be. IDK I may try calling back and see if I can get someone better.

    I honestly have nothing bad to say about Sprint support (I've been with them for twelve years) but occasionally you get a dud. Happens everywhere :)
     

Share This Page