Warning! Your Flash Player may be out of date. Please update to Continue .... Virus?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by gregsmith, Mar 9, 2014.

  1. gregsmith macrumors newbie

    Jun 14, 2013
    Recently almost every time I try to open google, facebook or youtube I am diverted to a page which displays this message "WARNING! Your Flash Player may be out of date. Please update to Continue" in a pop up. The website I am diverted to looks like a the flash player website but is obviously fake. I stupidly clicked download and tried to install the download.

    (I am using Mac OS X version 10.6.8, running on Safari) When I tried to install it it opened up in text edit with loads of nonsense. I tried searching with ClamXav and many other Virus Searchers. I have tried restarting Safari. Deleting Cache. All Extensions turned off or uninstalled. I tried DNSChanger Removal Tool and Kapersky Flashfake Removal Tool.

    So far I have not managed to get rid of the problem. How to I get rid of the potential phising/malware I have downloaded and correct my Safari?

    I then completely re-installed Mac OS X on my laptop using the installation discs. I completely erased my whole hard drive and any partitions.

    I ran Software Update and downloaded the latest Flash player from the real website.

    I then had to restart my mac because of the software up dates....

    Once restarted I see this first message pop up on my desktop saying "Adobe flash player is out of date. The version of Adobe flash player on your system does not include the latest security updates and has been disabled. To continue using flash player, download an updated version from adobe's website." with an option to "download flash" or "Cancel" so I click cancel.

    I then install the real flash player which had been downloaded from the official site....

    I then opened up safari and within 30 seconds of use the same 'Flash player pro' message popped up when I tried to go to google.com :mad:

    I am completely stumped?!?! :confused: How is this affecting me after a completely new installation and wiped Hard drive?

    Could this be something to do with my internet router?
    I have a desktop PC at home also and yesterday 'once' something similar appeared talking about ' flash player pro'. But only once.

    Thank you so much for any help ...
  2. McGiord macrumors 601


    Oct 5, 2003
    Dark Castle
    download from adobe website, keep it up to date.
    Recent updates were released, apple forced one of them.
  3. macs4nw macrumors 601


    After all those draconian measures, anyone would be a little more than peeved to again see that @#$%^&* message. Welcome to the exciting world of Flash, the real "bag of hurt". See also SJ's early 2010 open letter to Adobe: "Thoughts on Flash". http://www.apple.com/hotnews/thoughts-on-flash/

    What I hate most about it, is that unless you have enabled automatic updates, which I haven't, when those frequent updates come, your flash player is unusable until you do the update. Adobe seems to be permanently preoccupied with plugging security vulnerabilities. Flash might need a whole new re-write from the ground up, if it ever hopes to become more secure, and less annoyingly functional.

    But I don't think that's going to happen, and I can't wait until more and more sites are going to switch to HTML5. Sorry Adobe, Flash hasn't adapted to the mobile revolution, and doesn't measure up to today's standards for desktops either.
  4. arn macrumors god


    Staff Member

    Apr 9, 2001
    Someone emailed me this

    Can't vouch for it, but worth checking out
  5. Fishrrman macrumors P6


    Feb 20, 2009
    [[ Recently almost every time I try to open google, facebook or youtube I am diverted to a page which displays this message "WARNING! Your Flash Player may be out of date. Please update to Continue" in a pop up. The website I am diverted to looks like a the flash player website but is obviously fake. I stupidly clicked download and tried to install the download. ]]

    Here is how I would suggest dealing with this in the future.

    Whenever you get a "warning" like this, dismiss it WITHOUT "accepting the install".

    I would suggest you close your browser and all other applications.

    Now, open System Preferences and click on the "Flash Player" tab.

    Click on "Advanced".

    Down where it says "Updates", click the "check now" button.

    You will either get a window that says flash player is up to date, or
    A window that says an update is available.

    So... choose to update this way.

    The Flash installer will download and install the update, and at the end of the process, it will offer you a choice (and you'll also have to re-enter your administrative password):
    - Allow Adobe to install updates
    - Notify me to install updates
    - Never check for updates

    I recommend that you choose option #2.

    I don't like ANYTHING installing updates "behind my back", and that goes for Apple's software update as well.

    If there's an update, I don't mind being notified, BUT, afterwards I will do the update MANUALLY, at my own discretion...
  6. Zxxv macrumors 68040

    Nov 13, 2011
    Just stop using sites that won't use HTML5, the sooner you do the quicker they get the message and drop flash. If you can't be assed then why should they ;)
  7. Dub-se7en macrumors newbie

    Mar 21, 2014
    Hi, I've joined up to add some input on this as i have dealt with this a few times now.

    chances are it's not your macbook at all, i would be looking at the router!

    I have been called out on 2 occasions where all devices are doing this and it turned out the router had been hacked and all traffic directed though the DNS of a rogue server.

    one way to check is to ping google.co.uk, the ip should be, if it's not then the chances are your router has been compromised.

    The 2 routers in question were both TP-Link routers, one of which i had supplied and setup myself. I had (perhaps foolishly) left the default login as admin/admin and this had also been changed to stop me accessing.

    A factory reset sorted things out and i made sure i had changed the default login and turned OFF remote administration.

    hopefully this will be of help to people

  8. wilson7 macrumors newbie

    Oct 24, 2013
    I think this is a global attack as i was experiencing same but it was not even my computter that has the problem as my iPhone connected to same network also pop up same warning, it is the router i later fixed it but resetting the router following the instruction i got on a site about the recent global attack here hope it helps you

  9. Macman45 macrumors G5


    Jul 29, 2011
    Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
    From the email that arn received the implication is that the router's password is changed?

    If that's the case, simply checking it by logging in to your router should confirm that you have not been compromised?

    I know I haven't but it could be a quick check if it's true.....IE: if you can access your router via your usual password you are okay?

    Somebody should be able to confirm this.
  10. wilson7 macrumors newbie

    Oct 24, 2013
    In some cases router password was changed as i have read online by some other victims but some still have their passwords working, but trut me if you ever get that pop-up window asking you to update your adobe flash player when you try to visit sites like facebook, youtube, google then you were attacked too, i did a lot of research on this to have come up with this conclusion
  11. dushyantvasani macrumors newbie

    Mar 24, 2014
    It affects your Router not your computer

    I faced the same problem 2 days back. I use windows. I also format my lappie twice. But when I tried to access other devices connected to router I got same issue.

    Finally I changed my router DNS automatic to static. and its working perfectly fine now. Or you can also reset your router. I didn't do it as I am using IPTV and
    I don't know its settings.

  12. Cave Man macrumors 604

    Cave Man

    Feb 12, 2007
    Neander Valley, Germany; just outside Duesseldorf
    I've gotten this message twice this week using Safari on Mojave 10.14.3. This is a malware attempt, right? The originating URL is:

    hhttps:// save on linetype app clicks .top/ (I added an extra 'h' and spaces so no one can click on it.)
  13. sxl1681 macrumors newbie

    Jan 18, 2019
    Yes. Ignore any email/pages/links for Flash updates. Go To Adobe's site directly if you want to verify you are running the latest version.

Share This Page

12 March 9, 2014