Watch live TV on iPhone/iPod Touch (UK)!

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by m477h3w, Oct 12, 2009.

  1. m477h3w macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    #1
    Go to iphone.tvcatchup.com on your iPhone or iPod Touch and watch live TV in the UK!!! It works really well for me on 3G and WiFi. Just make sure you have 3.x installed and Plug-Ins turned on under Settings-Safari.

    It's in beta right now so it only has 6 channels, but it works really well and more channels are coming apparently :D

    Also, you can add it to your homescreen by pressing the + in Safari when on the site, and clicking 'Add Link To Homescreen'.

    See http://forums.tvcatchup.com/showthread.php?t=4629 for more info :D
     
  2. TomxHow macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
  3. dZp macrumors 6502a

    dZp

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2006
    #3
    This is great. Thanks for the info.

    PS: Obviously, this is for us Brits only! :p
     
  4. justdave macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2009
    #4
    Thanks for that, this is amazing.

    More to come. hopefully sky sports news.

    Cheers
     
  5. koollectablz macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    #5
    Eh?

    Call me cynical, but this actually works.

    Really well!

    No forms, pop-ups, questionnaires etc etc. Just whats on the telly on the iphone.

    I'm stunned.
     
  6. cdinca macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
  7. vinay427 macrumors 6502a

    vinay427

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    #7
    Yeah, me too! No live Top Gear, I guess. By the way, what BBC channel does Top Gear come on? What day/time also?

    Thanks,
    vinay427
     
  8. johnrs macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Location:
    Nottingham - UK
    #8
    Just had a quick look at the site. Can you watch pre-recorded stuff on the site or just live TV
     
  9. csheath macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2009
    #9
    I've been waiting for their app to be approved for a little while now. Guess a webapp is a better idea as I assume Apple can't restrict 3G access
     
  10. Shoesy macrumors 6502a

    Shoesy

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Location:
    Colchester, UK.
    #10
  11. iphone4 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    #11
    It doesn't do prerecorded (even though that used to be tvcatchup's thing).
    Just live channels.

    And it works brilliantly. I'm getting a decent 3G signal here, and the quality is great. Very watchable. It went into buffering once for a few seconds in about 10 minutes. Probably flawless over wifi.
     
  12. Shoesy macrumors 6502a

    Shoesy

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Location:
    Colchester, UK.
    #12
    Absolutely mental. Works really well - highly recommended.
     
  13. Angelo921 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    #13
    when i try to connect to any of the tv channels I get message saying im not authorized to open this file. Im running 3.0 installed and plug ins turned on.
     
  14. Oliver.m macrumors regular

    Oliver.m

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Location:
    Essex, England
    #14
    Wow this is amazing!! An app would make it even better!!
     
  15. The Phazer macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Location:
    London, UK
    #15
    Any app would be rejected as TV Catchup is streaming this content without clearing any of the rights - it claims it's legal, but using legislation for cable companies. Do any of you see the cable going into your iPhone?

    Also worth noting that using this on 3G is a breach of O2's AUP on the iPhone contracts, so don't be surprised if it gets blocked or traffic managed out of existance.

    Phazer
     
  16. John T macrumors 68020

    John T

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2006
    Location:
    UK.
  17. PHILIP1193 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2007
    #17
    i dont often post but this is brilliant, they just need a little section for the tv guide bit so you can see whats on each channel before you click on it much like the main site.

    Phil
     
  18. techguy1 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Location:
    London
    #18
    Keeps telling me I need Adobe Flash Plugin !?
     
  19. m477h3w thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    #19
    I was stunned when I founnd this, and couldn't believe there wasn't more hype about it! I suppose it is mostly Americans on this site, and unfortunately this is UK only. I know you guys like a bit of Top Gear :D

    Wow, way to rain on our parade :D Thanks for the info, but with all due respect I REALLY hope you are wrong ;)
     
  20. The Californian macrumors 68040

    The Californian

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Location:
    Surfers Paradise
    #20
    It says the same thing for me. I'm running 3.1.2
     
  21. WeegieMac Guest

    WeegieMac

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Location:
    Glasgow, UK
    #21
    Unbelievable, the quality is better than the video streamed from the SkyNews app ... and it's such a simple interface.

    I'm going to nip over to Clipalizer and assign the url to an icon so it's always on my iPhone's screen to load with one "press".

    Good find. :D

    Edit: I've just added it to my iPhone's screen via Clipalizer using the following icon: [​IMG]

    When you add it to the home screen, the edges are rounded and it fits in perfectly with your other apps.
     
  22. BergerFan macrumors 68020

    BergerFan

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Location:
    Mos Eisley
    #22
    Lol, yeah.
    It works like a DREAM over Wi-Fi, not tested 3G yet, and i'm glad it's live tv, not pre recorded streaming, which would have turned me off instantly.
    Paid tv channels obviously ain't gonna happen, but hopefully more Freeview ones can be made available. :D
     
  23. dZp macrumors 6502a

    dZp

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2006
    #23
  24. koollectablz macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    #24
    Just tried it on 3g - I'm in B'ham city centre.

    It works just as well as wifi. Crystal clear, no lag.

    I still can't really believe this - its so good it can't last...

    This should be front page news - at least for UK users.
     
  25. andybno1 macrumors 68040

    andybno1

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Liverpool, UK
    #25
    nice little icon, not very up on doing the bookmarks on homepage but how do I assign that icon to the bookmark on homepage?
     

Share This Page