iPad Watching movies

Discussion in 'iPad' started by anp77, Nov 25, 2013.

1. anp77 macrumors newbie

I am looking into getting an iPad mini with retina display but I am a little hesitant. I would use it mostly to pull up documents when I'm in class, I would also bring it with me when I travel instead of my macbook pro. I would want to watch some movies and tv shows on it as well as play a few games on it and that is where I get a little concerned about the screen size. For anyone who has a mini, is it enjoyable to watch movies on? I don't want to buy a mini and then wish I had gotten the air instead. I'm a college student so I don't really have the extra money but I also don't want to regret anything later.

2. redkamel macrumors 6502

If you primarily want the size and just want to watch a movie once in a while while bored, its fine. This is not the device for movie watching in bed.

I had an iPad 3, moved to a mini, then now have an iPad air. The mini was small, but it was honestly too small. It was fine for goofing around on, viewing some documents etch etc. It really just felt like a toy. It would be great as an ereader or for children. But (for me) it was too small to work on, to play games for long periods of time and to watch real movies I rented. I do presentations from iPad now, regularly email, and now my laptop stays on my desk much more.

I have an iPad air and am MUCH happier. I actually use my iPad now daily over my laptop. I would get the air and never look back.

3. wacky4alanis macrumors 6502a

I used my iPad mini retina to watch movies on a couple of flights last week, and it was fine!

4. Mactroki macrumors member

I watch movies all the time on my (r)Mini. For me this is really fine and not too small.

5. PDFierro macrumors 68040

How is a 7.9-inch screen not good for movie watching in bed? Sounds like you are just spoiled by the bigger screen.

6. Mactroki macrumors member

7. shenan1982 macrumors 68040

shenan1982