WD My Passport will not mount

Discussion in 'macOS High Sierra (10.13)' started by art_design_magazine, Feb 5, 2018.

  1. art_design_magazine macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2018
    #1
    WD My Passport will not mount will not mount in HighSierra 10.13.3 (17D47)
    I Have WD Drive Utilities 2.1.1.64
    Does anyone have any suggestions of what I can do? I have looked everywhere for a solution!
     
  2. techwarrior macrumors 65816

    techwarrior

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    Location:
    Colorado
    #2
    Shutdown your Mac, unplug it if it is a desktop. Unplug the WD Passport. Boot it up and then plug in the drive.

    If it still won't mount, then reboot but do CMD+OPT+P+R to reset PRAM. Try mounting again.
     
  3. art_design_magazine thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2018
    #3
    It didn't mount after the reboot.
    DiskUtility won't see it either
     
  4. cruisin macrumors 6502a

    cruisin

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Location:
    Canada
    #4
    Can you try a different computer? Or at least a different cable? If both fail, then your external might have died.
     
  5. chscag macrumors 68030

    chscag

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Location:
    Fort Worth, Texas
    #5
    Remove the utilities, erase the drive, reformat it as HFS+, and try again. It if still refuses to mount, call WD and get an RMA (assuming the drive is still under warranty). WD warranty is 3 years.
     
  6. art_design_magazine thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2018
    #6
    The drive was fine until I updated both my macs to HighSierra-I can feel it spinning and its lit.
    --- Post Merged, Feb 5, 2018 ---
    I will certainly do so once I get the data off- I have 10 issues of my magazine on it and I'm under deadline
     
  7. cruisin macrumors 6502a

    cruisin

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Location:
    Canada
    #7
  8. Fishrrman macrumors P6

    Fishrrman

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #8
    OP wrote:
    "I will certainly do so once I get the data off- I have 10 issues of my magazine on it and I'm under deadline"

    Your first priority is to PROTECT THE DATA.
    I suggest you take the drive to ANOTHER MAC (not the one giving you problems).
    Can you get the drive mounted?
    Can you see the data?

    Then, the next step is to attach ANOTHER DRIVE and "copy over" the data.

    Once the data "is safe", now it's time to "go to work" on the drive.
    I suggest you follow the advice in reply #5 above:
    - GET RID of the proprietary WD software
    - ERASE the drive using Disk Utility (Mac OS extended with journaling enabled)
    - TEST the drive using DU's "repair disk" button. Run it once. What report do you get?
    - IF you get "a good report" from DU after doing the above, REPEAT THE TEST FIVE TIMES in succession. Do you get a good report each and every time?
    - IF SO, I'd continue using the drive.
     
  9. anyhorizon, Apr 3, 2018
    Last edited: Apr 3, 2018

    anyhorizon macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2018
    #9
    I have exactly the same problem.Time Machine backup (WD Passport) does not mount after upgrading from High Sierra 10.13.2 to 10.13.4 (on Desktop). I have checked the disk on my lap top running Yosemite and the disc is fine. What have Mac done this time?
     

Share This Page

8 February 5, 2018