WD Passport Essential works on Mac but Windows no!

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by yaser1987, Aug 4, 2010.

  1. yaser1987 macrumors member

    yaser1987

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia
    #1
    Hello there, hope you doing well,

    I bought this Hard and I did install it on my Macbook pro and I did it into 2 parts

    [​IMG]

    everythings alright?

    but when I tried to copy some movies from my mac to my windows through my hard! it doesn't work on windows ?

    How can I make it works with both systems whatever if mac or windows

    please help :confused:
     
  2. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #2
    What's the file system? Did you use a GPT partition? Which version of Windows?

    Get Info and Disk Utility come into play here.
     
  3. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #3
    If you formatted for HFS, then it won't work.
     
  4. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #4
    FAT32
    • Read/Write FAT32 from both native Windows and native Mac OS X.
    • No individual file larger than 4GB.
    NTFS
    HFS
    • Read/Write HFS from native Mac OS X
    • To Read/Write HFS from Windows, Install MacDrive
    • To Read HFS (but not Write) from Windows, Install HFSExplorer
     
  5. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #5
    HFS Explorer works fine for me.
     
  6. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #6
    Thanks for the tip. Added to the list.
     
  7. yaser1987 thread starter macrumors member

    yaser1987

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia
    #7
    now I did format it so it says ' No writable WD smartware partition found on your My Passport Essential drive '

    How can I partition it with 2 parts but it does accept windows and mac ( like drag and drop ) without any programme?

    also Can I partiton it through Windows Xp ?

    Xp and 7

    Please help, thanks a lot
     
  8. yaser1987 thread starter macrumors member

    yaser1987

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia
    #8
    How can I do this througt Windows Xp please?

    so in this partition I'll be able to just Drag and Drop but no more than 4gb? sounds pretty cool
     
  9. clientsiman macrumors 6502

    clientsiman

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Location:
    Crete,Greece
    #9
    You can use the disk management tool.

    Click Start, click Run, type compmgmt.msc, and then click OK. Disk Management is located in the console tree on the left side of the window.


    http://www.theeldergeek.com/disk_management.htm ( more info )
     
  10. yaser1987 thread starter macrumors member

    yaser1987

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia
    #10
    [​IMG]

    If you look at Disk 1 I think this is the hard and i created before the 2 parts, when I click right on it I only see Delete partition.

    Shall I delete it and partition again with FAT32?

    thanks a lot
     
  11. clientsiman macrumors 6502

    clientsiman

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Location:
    Crete,Greece
    #11
    No. You just need to assign a letter for this disk. As you can see your other drives have a letter assign to them , C:, D:, E:, so you just have to assign a letter. It should be easy: http://www.ehow.com/how_2131593_assign-drive-letter-usb-drive.html , http://support.microsoft.com/kb/307844
     
  12. yaser1987 thread starter macrumors member

    yaser1987

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia
    #12
    ok can I do it all HFS and leave a small space for FAT32 just in case if i want to take files from my friends ? how can I do through MAC

    thanks a lot and I am sorry for asking a lot of questions.
     
  13. MCRunning macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2008
    #13
    How big are the files you are trying to transfer? If they are smaller than 4 GBs then just format it to FAT32 and you can transfer back from your PC and Mac no problem.
     
  14. yaser1987 thread starter macrumors member

    yaser1987

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia
    #14
    it is not up to 4GB it is all TV shows 350MB each or movies around 700 DVDrip

    but the problem is how can I format it to FAT32 through MAC, Can you help me please :eek:

    ( The file it selfs not bigger than 4GB) for example, If I have Lost all the seasons which is bigger than 10GB for example but as overall each episode is 350MB. Is that alright?!
     
  15. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #15
    Disk Utility

    How do I format my external HD to FAT32/NTFS?
     
  16. yaser1987 thread starter macrumors member

    yaser1987

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia
    #16
  17. Caleb531 macrumors 6502

    Caleb531

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    #17
    You should be able to just leave it as GUID Partition Table. I don't think you will be booting any OS off your external HD, so it really shouldn't matter. ;)
     
  18. yaser1987 thread starter macrumors member

    yaser1987

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia
    #18
    Oh My GOD Fainlly Ive done it :D

    Thanks a lot guys for your help thanks and I am really sorry for annoying you.

    Peace be upon you all

    bye
     

Share This Page