What can one do with a biology degree?

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by goodtimes5, May 14, 2007.

1. goodtimes5 macrumors 6502a

goodtimes5

I'm majoring in integrated biology right now at Berkeley, and I have always intended to go to medical school and become a physician. However, I've quickly come to learn that I'm just not smart enough, and no med school will accept me with my low GPA. So what are some things I can do with my future degree in biology?

2. iSaint macrumors 603

iSaint

teach, research, field work...

My brother and his wife are both wildlife biologists. She works for a branch of the government called the Jackson Guard, and they help maintain the wildlife on a large military base. My brother works for a wildlife refuge and does a lot of animal rescue.

And, I really don't know about med school, but I think if you have the passion and ability, grades won't matter. I would think someone would give you a chance, at least. Or, go back when your older. One of my best friends just finished med school and he's 44. He's happier than he's ever been!

3. ToddW macrumors 6502a

i know a guy who became an electrical engineer with his biology degree, but that is only at the jacked up place i work at. oh to live in bizzaro world!

4. pooky macrumors 6502

I'm a wildlife biologist. I get paid to go hiking, camping, and count birds and rats. There are definitely worse things to do.

That being said, if you're not interested in it, you'll hate it. There are lots of other things to do with a biology degree. I have some friends who became zookeepers. Lots of people who don't really *like* biology but really wanted med school wind up going to pharmacy and dental school.