What compatability issues in a microsoft home?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by twombles62, Nov 7, 2007.

1. twombles62 macrumors member

Hey all.
    I've noticed that this forum seems to be fairly noob tolerant and I congratulate you guys for running such a great place for information.

Anyway, I am possibly going to buy 2.0 macbook for school work, surfing the net, and mabey some occasional warcraft 3 or cs: source. I'm pretty sure I'm getting the right stuff, and mbp isn't really an option for me, as i'm a poor high school student going into my final year. :D

In our home we have our family computer, and my fathers work dell notebook, all running off a wireless network. We also use an external HD for transferring/storing files.

What compatibility issues am i going to have? Such as the use of memory sticks, format of the external HDD(?), Wireless, file compatability?

I'm not a total idiot, I realize that I'm going to need new copies of my windows software (to run in osx, I'm not sure that i'd be using xp/vista a whole lot through boot camp.)

Thanks alot in advance

2. ale500 macrumors regular

Note that except for Oriffice that "runs" on Macs (the "latest" 2004 is only PPC), the "newer" 2008 is (supposedly) Universal, not only costs a lot of money (for what you get) the rest are all winblows soft (thank God).

Plenty of alternatives, cheaper and free exist. You may run into some file compatibility problems, of course, with above mentioned soft and their winblows counter part.

For school work, get NeoOffice, works very well, native of Macs, and is 100% m$ free, or Apple's alternative, iWork '08.

Harddisks: For usb sticks, winblows uses normally FAT32, is crap, but *works*, fully supported in MacOSX, no problems (except of course for its innerent shortcomings).