What computer do you use to encode movies?

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by dlegend, May 9, 2011.

  1. dlegend macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Location:
    Northern VA (outside DC)
    #1
    Just curious as to what everyone is using to encode their movies? I currently use my 3 year old macbook but I hate leaving it burning up for hours on end. Was thinking about getting a cheap PC to use and then once everything is caught up using it as an iTunes server.

    What are you using and how long does it take to convert a movie?
     
  2. Gav2k macrumors G3

    Gav2k

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    #2
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3_2 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8H7 Safari/6533.18.5)

    C2d 2.4 mini for me
     
  3. wordoflife macrumors 604

    wordoflife

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    #3
    I use my PC desktop that I built myself. Pretty speedy with an i5-750. Can't remember if I overclocked it or not. Will check later.
     
  4. Primejimbo macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2008
    Location:
    Around
    #4
    Same here
     
  5. MacBookPr0 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2011
    #5
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8G4 Safari/6533.18.5)

    17 inch 2.53 i5 MacBook pro
     
  6. blevins321 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2010
    Location:
    Winnipeg, MB
    #6
    Now a Mac Mini with Plex as an HTPC. I leave it running 24/7 usually (hard drive sleep), running Seti@Home (soon to be Folding@Home) when it's not doing encoding. The base line 2.4Ghz is a tad slow on encodes (high quality BRRs taking 7 hours), but since it's on anyway I don't care. Worth a look :)

    Ps. I have AppleCare in case I melt something ;)
     
  7. P Mentior macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ohio
    #8
    I used to use a 2008 MBP with a 2.5 C2D but since December I use a custom PC running a i7-970 overclocked to 4.2GHz. I love having encodes of hour long tv shows take 6-7 minutes.
     
  8. ibglowin macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
  9. Aidoneus macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
  10. jhsfosho macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Location:
    Houston, TX
  11. chrismacguy macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2009
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #12
    2010 Mac Pro... fastest Movie Encoder I could justify for personal use.
     
  12. b-rad g macrumors 6502a

    b-rad g

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
  13. ljonesj macrumors 6502a

    ljonesj

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Location:
    Kingsport TN
    #14
    i use 3 machines a windows 7 acer dual core 3ghz amd 4gigs of ram a late 09 mac mini with 8gigs of ram 2.53 intel core 2 duo and a 2.4 ghz 2010 macbook pro 13in depends what i need ot do
     
  14. roidy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Location:
    Nottingham, UK
    #15
    Just built a new i5 sandybridge system thats overclocked to 4.7Ghz. A 45 minute TV episode encodes in about 9-10 minutes.
     
  15. From A Buick 8 macrumors 68040

    From A Buick 8

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Location:
    Ky Close to CinCinnati
    #16
    I let my iMac chug away at it overnight, i can do about 10 movies a night.
     
  16. KevinC867 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    Location:
    Saratoga, CA
    #17
    I just built an inexpensive, but great performing, PC for this. It's based on a 4-core, 3 GHz AMD Athlon II available for $100. Total build cost was under $400 including a Blu-Ray drive, 2TB disk, etc. With a smaller hard drive and a DVD instead of the Blu-Ray, it could have been about $300.

    It's so much nicer to have this system tucked away in another room than to run the conversions on my C2D MBP which would make it hot, noisy and less responsive. Not to mention the fact that the cheap PC is several times faster. It takes about 35 minutes to run Handbrake on a movie.
     
  17. ghostlyorb macrumors 6502a

    ghostlyorb

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Location:
    Virginia, USA
    #18
    Sandy Bridge i7 2.3GHz quad MBP.... it's amazing.
     
  18. ghostlyorb macrumors 6502a

    ghostlyorb

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Location:
    Virginia, USA
    #19
    wow.. that's a beast!
     
  19. P Mentior macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ohio
    #20
    Sandy Bridge is a very impressive chip. I would have used it in my recent build if not for the enthusiast socket (LGA 2011) not being out yet. Over all I'm glad that I went with LGA 1366 instead as I got a 6-core which isn't available on Sandy Bridge until LGA 2011 comes out. The only thing I regret is not having such an easy time overclocking like a Sandy chip does.
     
  20. roidy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Location:
    Nottingham, UK
    #21
    Yep, the sandybridge chips are fantastic for overclocking, I've had it upto 5Ghz but the temperatures were a little bit too high for my liking. Once I get some better cooling for it I'll try again, I want to see just how far I can push it :D
     
  21. irishtike macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011
    #22
    I'm using a Gateway PC, pentium 4, 1gb of ram, does an 45 minute TV show in 25 minutes using Magic DVD Ripper, does a 2 and half hour movie in around 3 hours, i used DVD decoder, and handbrake but that takes 4 -6 hours total, its not connected to the internet so it doesn't try to update, etc.
     
  22. uaaerospace macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Location:
    Alabama
    #23
    I use a headless 2.66 i7 970 Hackintosh tucked away in the closet. It's OCed to 3 GHz, but I don't have the cooling for anything higher. I also use it as my media server, but that's a pain because it won't sleep.
     
  23. dlegend thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Location:
    Northern VA (outside DC)
    #24
    hmmmm...might be time to build me a custom PC. Really no need right now for a blu-ray drive or such a big internal drive...
     
  24. blevins321 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2010
    Location:
    Winnipeg, MB
    #25
    You might want to think about getting a blue-ray reader. That way you could rip those disks. Burners are still expensive, but you would only need a reader to rip movies.
     

Share This Page