What did you do with your Ram after upgrading to 4 gigs?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by blueprint1983, Mar 21, 2008.

  1. blueprint1983 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2007
    Location:
    Missouri
    #1
    I've heard only two things:

    1 - Keep the ram if you have Applecare (or they won't service your MBP).

    2 - Sell it on ebay (going rate's like $15 a stick last time i checked, Correct me if im wrong..)

    What did you all do with your old (but still new) RAM?

    (Ive had my MBP for 4 days exactly before the 2 to 4 gig upgrade).
     
  2. NIPRING macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2008
    Location:
    Waukesha WI
    #2
    I just keep throwing them into the parts drawer, just incase.
     
  3. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #3
    I kept it just in case I have to send my laptop in for repairs.
     
  4. mashinhead macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2003
    #4
    why wouldn't they service your computer? It's a user replaceable part. I mean i can see them not replacing it if the ram is the problem, but not checking it out?? Anyway I sold mine. CL $35
     
  5. jsnuff1 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2003
    Location:
    NY
    #5
    ive put mine in ebay for 15 bucks...no bids yet :(
     
  6. blueprint1983 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2007
    Location:
    Missouri
    #6
    I heard that Apple doesn't take in MBP's that have a memory problem with 3rd party RAM. But if it's a different issue ie - cracked screen - that's a different story?

    Correct me if im wrong.
     
  7. MascisMan macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    #7
    put my stock ram into my girlfriend's MacBook. She has 2 gigs now instead of 1 for free!
     
  8. UltraNEO* macrumors 601

    UltraNEO*

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Location:
    近畿日本
    #8
    I sold mine to someone with a 1Gb MacBook...
    they seemed pretty chuffed...
     
  9. aaronw1986 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    #9
    Kept it in case I need to send in the comp for repairs.
     
  10. GRN99EX macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    Location:
    South Jersey
    #10
    I did the same thing. I put mine in my wife's new MacBook.
     
  11. rychencop macrumors 65816

    rychencop

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Location:
    http://www.northaugusta.net/
  12. hotdamn macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2007
    Location:
    Ottawa, ON, Canada
    #12
    I thought I posted this at first haha
    but yeah, same thing! she's happy about it, too ;)
     
  13. fredrickyoon macrumors regular

    fredrickyoon

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Location:
    Seoul, South Korea
    #13
    You should always hold onto the stock RAM in case later on, if you decide to sell it or if it goes in for repair, you have them handy. Only takes about 15 minutes to swap them in and out though.

    Hold onto them ...
     
  14. markrivers macrumors 6502a

    markrivers

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    Valencia, California
    #14
    +1 on this..
    you'll never know when you have to bring your MBP for repair,
    it's best to have the stock RAM inside when they look at it..
    incase they give you another replacement, you won't be buying another RAM
     
  15. pcmofo macrumors member

    pcmofo

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Location:
    New York
    #15
    I sold mine to my buddy who has a pre-SR MB with 1gb ram and maxed it out with my 2 gigs. Going to sell his 1gig on ebay... everyone gets to upgrade yeay! If my gf had a MB I would have given to her.... in some cases the barter system is much better than cash.
     
  16. Mo Tiggas macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    #16
    I hope you kept her original 512 sticks, in case....
     
  17. michaelsviews macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    #17
    You do NOT need the original memory

    At the apple store in albany ny you do NOT need to have the original memory, everyone upgrades there memory for the most part. Besides my 4 gig is the same as the 2 gig that came with it "Samsung" same stickers.
     
  18. jjahshik32 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    #18
    I just kept my 2gb ram and if u send ur mbp in for repair you dont have to put the original (I think you dont at least) but if you leave your 4gb in and send to apple care you might get ur mbp back with 2gb stock again (known to happen).
     
  19. ChrisN macrumors 65816

    ChrisN

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Location:
    Demarest, NJ
    #19
    If that happens I would only put 1 gb of ram in and hope they upgrade it to 2 :).

    ChrisN
     
  20. woodekm macrumors 65816

    woodekm

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    #20
    B I N G O ! ! ! Let a buyer pay $600 from Apple. The way I see it, Im doin' Apple a favor!
     
  21. lauph macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Location:
    30 mins from Cupertino
    #21
    HAHAHAHA best!
     
  22. vansouza macrumors 68000

    vansouza

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Location:
    West Plains, MO USA Earth
    #22
    I kept the ram for my iMac but for the MBP and MB I sent it back for a rebate refund...
     
  23. markrivers macrumors 6502a

    markrivers

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    Valencia, California
    #23
    apple is so happy to have customers like you!:D
     
  24. Twe Foju macrumors 6502

    Twe Foju

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    Location:
    Jakarta
    #24
    i sell mine for like Rp.300.000

    that's like about $ 30?? yep

    i think its quite a good deal for it :D
     
  25. jjahshik32 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    #25
    Actually downgrade you to 2x512mb.
     

Share This Page