What does symbole [...] mean?

Discussion in 'Mac Programming' started by mikezang, Jun 2, 2010.

1. mikezang macrumors 6502a

mikezang

I am studying Objective-C, I just want to know what does "[]" of [pool drain]; mean in short?

2. MorphingDragon macrumors 603

MorphingDragon

The square brackets are just Objective-C syntax used to apply methods to instances of a class. They dont necessarily mean anything.

3. admanimal macrumors 68040

A more formal way of saying it is that the square brackets are used to denote a messaging expression of the form [receiver message]. The receiver is always either an object or a class (in the case of static methods) and the message is a particular method that you want the object to invoke and its associated parameters.

4. mikezang thread starter macrumors 6502a

mikezang

Thanks for your explanation.

I am reading "Programming in Objective-C 2.0", I found there are a lot of new type syntax, not C neither C++, or Java.

I just want to know why they don't use general syntax if you know the reasons.

I think pool.drain or pool->drain are easy to understand, maybe pool+>drain is better if they want to the newest syntax:(

5. Sydde macrumors 68020

Sydde

Most likely so that you (and the compiler) can tell which parts of the code are Objective-C. You get used to it fairly quickly.

6. GorillaPaws macrumors 6502a

GorillaPaws

Whenever you see square brackets used like [pool drain] you're seeing an Objective-C message. Sometimes you'll see it used with methods that take parameters:

[NSString stringWithString: someString];

even methods that take multiple parameters:

[someObject setValue: aValue forKey: aKey]; in this example "setValue:forKey:" is considered one method (or verb) even though it's split up into multiple parts.

The way I like to think of messaging is [subject verb] or [subject verb: informationTheVerbNeedsToDoItsTask].