What games can my MacBook handle...

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by dfnj123, Sep 22, 2007.

  1. dfnj123 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    #1
    ... will any of ea's new mac games work on macbook (in a usable speed)

    Anyone know any serious game that run fine on a macbook...
     
  2. mrgrieves macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    #2
    I can report that minesweeper runs at a very robust and playable 23 FPS.
     
  3. dfnj123 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    #3
    lol...

    Seriously though, I'm thinking about using my $100 iPhone credit to buy some games, does anything work at a usable fps
     
  4. iBookG4user macrumors 604

    iBookG4user

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #4
    On the EA games that I looked at it said that GMA950 was not supported and that's what the MacBook uses.
     
  5. compuguy1088 macrumors 6502a

    compuguy1088

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2007
    Location:
    In the Sub-Basement of Solitude
    #5
    Uh, probably CnC 95 will work....:D (On Windows/Boot Camp)

    Seriously, your not going to be really playing any sort of game on that, well maybe World of Warcraft...
     
  6. compuguy1088 macrumors 6502a

    compuguy1088

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2007
    Location:
    In the Sub-Basement of Solitude
    #6
    In reality, no. Probably not even on windows/boot camp.
     
  7. dfnj123 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    #7
    damn...
     
  8. robPOD macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2006
    Location:
    NZ
    #8
    I can Play the UB version of Call of Duty 2 on my Macbook with no problems on medium/high settings also Halo runs quite well even though these arnt the newest games they are still pretty fun.
     
  9. dfnj123 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    #9
    really... anything else...
     
  10. Ken Wind macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2006
    #10
    Older Blizzard games (Diablo II, Starcraft, Warcraft III) should work, and they run natively on OS X. Diablo II is still one of my favorites.
     
  11. hockeymonkey83 macrumors member

    hockeymonkey83

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2007
    Location:
    Norfolk, VA
    #11
    i was playing stalker SOC on boot camp in low setting really smooth
     
  12. mahonmeister macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Location:
    Redlands, CA
    #12
    Get an Wii or Xbox 360 if you enjoy quality gaming. I have my 360 hooked up to my 22" LCD monitor so I get great resolution and great game selection. You can also use it like an AppleTV for video. Otherwise you are kinda stuck it seems...
     
  13. dfnj123 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    #13
    I got a wii and stuff... I've just always wanted to get into computer game. (I guess mac isn't a good chose for that :p )
     
  14. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #14
    Any computer with integrated graphics isn't a good choice.
     
  15. Ken Wind macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2006
    #15
    That is an erroneous and misleading statement. Integrated graphics are not good for playing the latest games, but they will lengthen battery life and produce less heat than dedicated graphics.
     
  16. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #16
    Quite true, but sadly the situation in this thread is for gaming.

    Try again.
     
  17. Alienbrain macrumors member

    Alienbrain

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    Location:
    New England
    #17
    Just look at the requirements on the box of the games.
     
  18. quigleybc macrumors 68030

    quigleybc

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Location:
    Beautiful Vancouver British Columbia, Canada
    #18
    i play Civ 4

    Lego starwars 2

    halo

    HL2 on bootcamp

    Starwars Empire at War

    It's not nearly as bad as some people make it out to be, at least not for less graphic intense games.

    WoW works fine etc...
     
  19. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #19
    Only the MacBook and mini are poor game players because of the graphics card. Most PCs can't play games well either as integrated graphics make up over 50% of the market and many low-end dedicated video cards are poor performers too.
     
  20. pederg macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2007
    Location:
    Switzerland
    #20
    i currently have PGA tour 2005 and Call of Duty 2 both playing perfectly...
     
  21. Jiddick ExRex macrumors 65816

    Jiddick ExRex

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Location:
    Roskilde, DK
    #21
    Not entirely true. Only Warcraft III with the latest patch runs natively on an Intel OS X. On the other hand, they are emulated so fast via Rosetta that you cannot feel a difference :p
     
  22. dannewell15 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    #22
    nobody has reffered you to this thread and I feel that I should as a fellow curious macbook user.

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=209966

    The only games I have tried in OSX are Lego star wars 1 and 2 and they work fine. I used to have HL2 in bootcamp and the gameplay was beautiful but it crashed on the autosaves. Hope this helps you! :)
     
  23. sbluetruck macrumors regular

    sbluetruck

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Location:
    Wisconsin der hey
  24. fearxtragedy macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2007
    #24
    i dont want to say you guys are all wrong, but i disagree with what seems to be a consensus that mb graphics suck.

    i play wc3 and guild wars on my mb and the graphics are smooth and fast, even though the graphics card only has half the memory of my pc's.
     
  25. seanneko macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2007
    #25
    The most demanding game that I've tried is Civ IV.

    It's playable with all the settings on low, but certainly isn't fast. You must upgrade to the Rev A patch though, it improves performance literally by about 10x.
     

Share This Page