What hardware do you like to program with?

Discussion in 'Mac Programming' started by MarkSTi04, Apr 29, 2009.

1. MarkSTi04 macrumors regular

What is the most used Mac to write programs with? I'm going to be using my MBP for a long time to write programs, and I was curious if anyone or how many people are using Mac Pro, or an iMac to program? I'm not going to be stepping up to a Mac Pro until sometime later when I have all the money saved up for the exact one I want.

2. ChrisA macrumors G4

I've been writing software now for a few decades. It used to be that when you stared up a compiler you'd go get some coffee or leave for lunch or wait overnight. But now ALL computers are fast enough that speed durring complie is a non-issue. You do need a computer that can run our program, the one you are writing.

Once you have the above, I think the screen maters the most. Programmers tend you use a lot of windows and terminal sessions all at once. I'd go nuts on a 15 inch screen. 20" is about the smallest I'd want and 24 is bettr but I do like the 30" LCD screens we have in our lab.

3. lee1210 macrumors 68040

lee1210

#1 in my view is monitor size/resolution. I would recommend 1 or 2 external LCDs. At work I program on 2 19" displays. You might be able to get by on the internal display (especially if it's 17", you didn't say) and 1 external, but if you can afford 2 externals, I'm sure you'd appreciate it.

-Lee

EDIT: just noticed your sig says your machine is 15". External display(s) is/are a must, IMO, if you're programming more than a couple of hours a day.

4. Catfish_Man macrumors 68030

Catfish_Man

I write most of my code on a 2GHz Core 2 Duo Macbook.

5. savar macrumors 68000

savar

Me too!! (Except mines a Core Duo -- the original)

The speed's actually not bad. I have a 24" monitor at home and 2x19" at work.

Screen space and RAM, that's really what it comes down to.

6. kainjow Moderator emeritus

kainjow