What is the max ram Macbook pro 2.5ghz can take?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by iangibson, Nov 8, 2008.

  1. iangibson macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    #1
    Hardware Overview:

    Hey hey, just wondering what is the maxmum and type of RAM I can install in this puppy. I wanna go big, any tips? What brand is the best?

    Model Name: MacBook Pro
    Model Identifier: MacBookPro4,1
    Processor Name: Intel Core 2 Duo
    Processor Speed: 2.5 GHz
    Number Of Processors: 1
    Total Number Of Cores: 2
    L2 Cache: 6 MB
    Memory: 2 GB
    Bus Speed: 800 MHz
    Boot ROM Version: MBP41.00C1.B03
    SMC Version: 1.27f1
    Serial Number: YD84*********
    Sudden Motion Sensor:
    State: Enabled


    Thanks!
     
  2. rdowty macrumors 6502a

    rdowty

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
  3. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #3
    You'll find answers to this and many other commonly asked questions under the Guides tab at the top of this page:

    If you have questions that these sources doesn't cover, you can check to see if it has been answered in another thread by doing a Google search of the forums. I hope this helps!

    Try reading the specs from Apple's site:
     

    Attached Files:

  4. 11800506 macrumors 65816

    11800506

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Location:
    Washington D.C. Area
    #4
    The SR Macbook Pros, like the new ones only officially support up to 4 GB but unofficially they can use 6 GB without problems.
     
  5. Pr0digy Guest

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2008
    #5
    Entering your mac's serial number here: www.appleserialnumberinfo.com will show you some handy info including max. amount of RAM for that machine.
     
  6. ru4real macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    #6
    6GB? That seems random... would that be 1 x 2GB + 1 x 4GB? Why would 6GB work, but not 8? I'm not questioning whether you're right, just how it works :)
     
  7. Neolithium macrumors 6502a

    Neolithium

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Location:
    Wherever the army needs me.
  8. gnasher729 macrumors P6

    gnasher729

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2005
    #8
    The explanation: Every computer is built to have a certain amount of "address space", usually 4 GB, 8 GB, 16 GB, 32 GB, 64 GB and so on. That address space is mostly used by RAM, but some space is needed for things like video card and other hardware. So a computer with 8 GB address space _cannot_ use 8 GB of RAM, maybe only 7.5 GB.

    Now if your computer has 8 GB address space, which is not enough to use 8 GB of RAM, and you put in 6 GB, then everything is fine. If you put in 8 GB of RAM (2 x 4 GB chips) then depending on precisely how the computer is designed, _one_ of the following three things _must_ happen:

    1. The computer only uses the first chip because it cannot use both (4 GB).
    2. The computer only uses the first chip and 3.5 GB of the second chip (7.5 GB).
    3. The computer uses both chips, but because it cannot handle it, things go wrong (kaboom).

    The old MacBooks seem to fit in category (3). The new MacBooks apparently have 16 GB or more address space, so they can handle 8 GB with no problem. If the old MacBooks had been designed a bit more clever, then you could have plugged in 8 GB and used 7.5 GB.
     

Share This Page