What is your Transmit Rate for 802.11N?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by micleeso, Mar 21, 2008.

  1. micleeso macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    #1
    I am trying to determine if my WIFI connection is achieving 802.11N class. I have a Netgear WNR854T router set for 300Mbit (N only) speeds. My Macbook reports a transmit rate of 130. I assume that means the networks current theoretical maximum transmission rate is 130Mbit/sec.

    I measured a binary file transfer @ 6.5 - 6.9MB/Sec or roughly 54Mbit/sec. I assumed N class would be much faster such as 270Mbit. I have been bench testing this with the router 5 feet away.

    The question I have is what rate are you reporting? (hold option key down and click on your WIFI fan on your menu bar.) I am trying to determine if my router or mac book is malfunctioning or is this 130 correct?


    My mac reports:
    Channel 11
    RSSI: -35
    Transmit rate: 130
    I have 801.11 A/B/G/N in network utility
     
  2. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #2
    I get 300mbps when I am next to my AEBS and 270mbps when I am 1 room away.
     
  3. dmarch macrumors regular

    dmarch

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    Big Sky, MT
    #3
    I am across the room from my AEBS and get 300.
     
  4. Darge13 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    #4
    It looks like that router is only 2.4 Ghz. You're only going to get 130Mbit connection from it. Your transfer speed seems a little low but what was the connection on the other side?
     
  5. crayonshin macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    Location:
    Japan
    #5
    I get 300 from across the room to my AEBS. Mine is also set to N only, 5GHz. Channel 36, RSSI -43 if that helps any.
     
  6. micleeso thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    #6
    What router

    What router are you using, I will be shopping around...
    I will need one that would allow custom routes. Thanks in advance.
     
  7. northernmunky macrumors 6502a

    northernmunky

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Location:
    London, Taipei
    #7
    I've got a Linksys WRT300N, I get 130mbit/s in MacOS but when I boot into Windows I get the full 300mbit/s. I haven't been able to figure out why. :confused:
     
  8. micleeso thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    #8
    1Gbit file server. What router do you recommend?
     
  9. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #9

    I have an Airport Extreme Base Station (AEBS). What do you mean by custom routes?
     
  10. micleeso thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    #10
    router, instructions on how to route information out side the local network other then default set with default gateway.
     
  11. jdaniel macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    #11
    no point starting a new thread...

    So i have a DIR 825... i have N and G i am on mixed mode.

    I followed instructions here: http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=3444.0

    weird thing is when I am on 5ghz...I my transmit rate is 54 ????????? and when I am on 2.4 my transmit rate is 130?????

    Some advice to fix this?

    THANKS !!!
     
  12. jdaniel macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    #12
    ok so i rechecked my settings and found some errors but I have 2 named connections 2.4 and 5ghz.. I made sure the 2.4 is g only and 5 is N only but I am still getting a ****** speed..
     

    Attached Files:

  13. waw74 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    #13
    where are you when getting these numbers?
    5GHz is really bad about going through things, compared to 2.4.

    in my old apartment, i used to get a stronger 2.4 in certain rooms, even though i was closer to the 5 base station. because the 5 went through more walls.
     
  14. jdaniel macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    #14
    but the max i was getting was 54..... for 2.4 and 5.. i am only getting 100s but i read from that forums i can possibly be getting up to 300, i only have one wooden door separating my room and router.
     
  15. waw74 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    #15
    wireless travels basicaly in a straight line, so it can also depend on the angle it's going through the wall, if your computer and the router are on opposite sides of the same wall, but at different ends, if you drew a line, it would be like going through a 10 foot thick wall.
     
  16. jdaniel macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    #16
    not really its a str8 line through a wooden door. and I am getting really sucky speeds

    http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=3444.0

    they mentioned something about compatibility of chips... i will try sitting next to it.. i bet I wont get any much faster I will post back
     
  17. jdaniel macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    #17
    Anyone with any tips? I sit next to it I still get 150 max.
     
  18. lexvo macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #18
    150 is the max for WiFi-N 2.4 GHz

    Are you sure you are on 5GHz? Then the max should be 300 (in good conditions of course).
     
  19. jdaniel macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    #19
    yeah am sure. it sucks..I am in the next room with only a wooden door separating the signal and for both 2.4 and 5 I am getting only 40ish% signal as shown by iStumbler.

    ok for the first time I saw a 200 ish transmit rate but it went away as soon as it came..I went right infront of the d-link DIR825 and the signal was still low hardly changed... so I wonder if my hardware is faulty..as in the router.
     
  20. maril1111 macrumors 68000

    maril1111

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Location:
    Denmark
    #20

    Interesting I am on 2.4 but by transmitrate is about 100 and my link speed 217 with the newest gen time capsule
     
  21. jdaniel macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    #21
    2.4 i get 130 usually.. whats link speed?

    5 its really weird sometimes its worse..sometimes i dont even see my 5ghz signal.......just not there.... I am gonna swap my modem see if that helps..
     
  22. lexvo macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #22
    I think 130 is pretty good for 2.4GHz. Maybe it is just your 5GHz that's broken.
     
  23. nivekr11 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    #23
    you'll get 130 using standard channels on 802.11A or B/G. If you are channel bonding you can get 300. Some routers running on B/G will bond 2 channels giving you 300. Not all of them do.
     
  24. DaveTheRave macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 22, 2003
    #24
  25. jdaniel macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    #25
    thats what I think too..

    And yes I have tried 161 and i tried various channels no change I did get 200+ but that lasted for minutes never to be seen again
     

Share This Page