What justifies no ACD 30" upgrade for six years?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by 2contagious, Feb 12, 2010.

  1. 2contagious macrumors 6502a

    2contagious

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #1
    See thread title ;)

    I don't understand how Apple can let a product get so old-tech considering that a lot of professionals are using these and now, with bigger and bigger HD TVs and the iMac's 27" screen Apple's got "consumers" longing for huge screens as well.. I think they are missing out on something here and I hope they realise that it's not only about time to release new ones, but also THE right time.
     
  2. GoCubsGo macrumors Nehalem

    GoCubsGo

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    #2
    You see it is a stellar panel but people want more inputs so it makes the ACD less appealing to those who don't care about the look of the display.

    What justifies it? Apple does. :cool:
     
  3. milk242 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    #3
    I don't think the computer industry will ever release a panel greater than 30". Seems like getting higher pixel density in larger screens is too costly.
     
  4. Jaro65 macrumors 68040

    Jaro65

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #4
    Makes you wonder, right? It's basically embarrassing. All these billions in the bank, and they can't update a monitor.
     
  5. Max(IT) Suspended

    Max(IT)

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Location:
    Italy
    #5
    You may be right, but what do you need that current model can't provide ?
     
  6. Transporteur macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #6
    Just for the record, the 30" hasn't been updated for 4 years, not 6.

    In March 2006 they got new panels with more brightness and contrast.
     
  7. Max(IT) Suspended

    Max(IT)

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Location:
    Italy
    #7
    but it isn't a LED panel, is it ?
     
  8. Transporteur macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #8
    Well I can't speak for the OP, but for me.

    It could be a little brighter (even though it is one of the brightest panels on the market and brighter than every other display Apple sells).
    Mini DP input would be nice and of course LED backlight, which would automatically reduce the power consumption. These 30" screens draw about 150W. Just as much as my Pro does!

    And they have to update the FW400 ports. They don't even sell computers with that port any more.
    Don't get me wrong, I'm totally satisfied with my ACD, but there is definitely a need for an update!
     
  9. Transporteur macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #9
    Nope, still CCFL.
     
  10. Max(IT) Suspended

    Max(IT)

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Location:
    Italy
    #10
    thank you, it was just curiosity on my side.

    I think that LED backlight is the "big issue" here.
     
  11. Btom macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    #11
    When the 4000 x 2250 display?

    I think Apple is waiting for a viable 4000 x 2250, or even 4000 x 2500 panels (and graphic drivers) to bring in "The Next Big Thing".
    This would create some excitement, wouldn't it?

    The present 2560 x 1600, 30" panels are not really "Cinema Displays" anymore, since the digital movies are made in 4000 pixel formats.
    Just my $0.02

    Tom B.
     
  12. Transporteur macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #12
    4k consumer displays?
    Definitely not in the foreseeable future.

    Apple just switched to Display Port which has a maximum resolution of 3840 × 2160.
     
  13. Max(IT) Suspended

    Max(IT)

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Location:
    Italy
    #13
    I think 3840 × 2160 will be the maximum resolution in a 30" ACD. Maybe something less ..
     
  14. Transporteur macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #14

    Unless Apple will finally implement the resolution independency, it is highly unlikely that they will force 3840 pixels in a 30" display. That would be a pixel density of 146. Even the 17" high res MBP has "only" 133PPI and the majority of people (including me) find that to high.

    Personally I think they will go anywhere near 3200x1900 in a 16/9 32" display.
     
  15. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #15
    As far as I know, only the Red One and the Origin II record in 4K, even the ARRI D21 only records in HD (2K).

    And btw, do you really need a 2K display for editing 2K footage? That's what reference monitors are there for.
    You can edit 4K footage on a 2K monitor quite easily.
     
  16. Max(IT) Suspended

    Max(IT)

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Location:
    Italy
    #16
    Make sense
     
  17. Btom macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    #17
    3840 would be close enough, Also I don't think it would necessary be in a 30" format.

    Tom B.
     
  18. cube macrumors G5

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
  19. Max(IT) Suspended

    Max(IT)

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Location:
    Italy
    #19
    Do you mean something bigger ?
     
  20. Max(IT) Suspended

    Max(IT)

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Location:
    Italy
    #20
    No, but they need a companion for their MP lineup
     
  21. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #21
    You can multi-quote via the [​IMG] button on the right of the [​IMG] button.


    When selected it looks like this: [​IMG] [​IMG]
     
  22. Transporteur macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #22
    They are not? Well, the small Apple logo on my display says something else.

    Just because they use 3rd party panels (from LG, Philips, Samsung etc.) does not mean that they are no display company.
    The 27" high res displays was the second time Apple introduced new displays to the market, now other manufactures like Dell are going to sell displays with a similar panel too.
    Apple also was the first company that sold 30" displays. It took more than 3 years for other companies to sell them!
     
  23. cube macrumors G5

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    #23
    If they can't innovate, they should leave it to someone else.
     
  24. cube macrumors G5

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    #24
    Apple is in the innovation, not in the me-too business.
     
  25. Btom macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    #25
    There is a number of relatively new computer display standards, I think it would be tempting to offer a Cinema Display being able to work in some of them. It could be a good proof of technology leadership for the manufacturer, probably a price breakthrough point (and a nice status symbol for the buyer).
    And yes, it is not a must for editing.

    Tom B.
     

Share This Page