What kind of a cable to I need for this data transfer?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by dferigmu, Sep 14, 2009.

  1. dferigmu macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2004
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #1
    I need to transfer all of my files from a 2005 15” PowerBook G4 1.5Ghz to a new 15” MacBook Pro.

    I think my PowerBook has both FireWire 400 and 800 ports and the MBP has a FireWire 800 port, but I’m not sure how many pins the ports have.

    My question is: what kind of a cable to I need for this?

    Thanks for the help!
     
  2. Peace macrumors Core

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
    #2
  3. reallynotnick macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    #3
    +1
    I personally used a firewire 400 to 800 cable because that was all I had at the time, but 800 would the fastest and easiest way to go.
     
  4. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
  5. cawesjmu macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2004
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    #5
    To expand a little bit. Firewire 800 has 9 pins and Firewire 400 has 6 pins on Macs. Since both laptops have a FW800 port, it'd be easiest to get a 9 pin to 9 pin cable.

    If you wanted to have more options on connecting other peripherals, you might decide to get a 6 pin to 9 pin cable since a lot of external hard drives have 6 pin FW 400 ports and you could use this in the FW 400 port on the Powerbook. Video cameras and such might even have a 4 pin port, but you don't need to worry about that.

    Here's a diagram of the different ports. Link.
     
  6. dferigmu thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2004
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #6
    Very helpful info...thanks a lot!!
     
  7. reallynotnick macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    #7
    Never had any luck with ethernet, mind you I only tried it between my MBP and iMac. Firewire is the way to go.
     
  8. mikes70mustang macrumors 68000

    mikes70mustang

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Location:
    US
    #8
    Use a FW800, youll be happy that you did, youll die of old age using USB or ethernet
     
  9. Bill Gates macrumors 68020

    Bill Gates

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #9
    If his PowerBook has gigabit ethernet then it should be just as fast as FireWire 800 (if not faster), in theory. I don't know how it actually is in real-world performance. FireWire would still be simpler though since all that's needed is for one of the computers to be put in target-disk mode as opposed to configuring static IP's and network shares.
     
  10. mikes70mustang macrumors 68000

    mikes70mustang

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Location:
    US
    #10
    eh, ive used both, and the ethernet thing sucks. FW800 is a sure bet.
     
  11. gr8tfly macrumors 603

    gr8tfly

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Location:
    ~119W 34N
    #11
    That's just the bits/second. There's a lot more overhead in ethernet traffic.
     
  12. dferigmu thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2004
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #12
    Target disk mode?

    I am definitely going to use a firewire cable…my next question is, what’s target disk mode and does my old powerbook have to be in it if I use migration assistant?
     
  13. Shaduu macrumors 6502a

    Shaduu

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2007
    Location:
    Southsea
    #13
    Migration Assistant from PPC to Intel doesn't work via Ethernet.

    No idea why, it just doesn't.
     
  14. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #14
    Sounds like you are not good with googling?

    You can get the files transferred at the apple store for free the last time I checked if you bought a Mac there.

    Or pay someone to do it, here is a place in Bethesda
    macupgrades.com
     
  15. cawesjmu macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2004
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    #15
    We can't all be as smart as you....

    OP, I know this is late but in case you hadn't found your answer yet, follow the directions here under 'How to use Firewire Target disk mode.
     

Share This Page