All iPads What makes you upgrade?

Discussion in 'iPad' started by HTK, Apr 6, 2013.

1. HTK macrumors newbie

What makes you upgrade to a new iPad. I've had my iPad 2 since it launched. It's my 2nd Apple device that I have owned. Now I'm a huge tech fan in general and do understand the appeal of latest and greatest. But my iPad 2 hasn't given me a reason to upgrade. I regularly use it to browse web, YouTube, email, Netflix, Spotify, Skype video/audio chat, gaming, books and in some cases create content. This iPad 2 is now over 2yrs old and it shows no sign of slow downs or anything that would prevent me from my daily tasks listed above. My only reason to upgrade would be to have another one around the house since this one is used a lot by myself and my girlfriend.

Just wanted to see what are some of the reasons why you upgrade and can your old iPad still preform most of the tasks today?

2. BenTrovato macrumors 68020

BenTrovato

For a lot of people here, we like technology and we all know you don't need to upgrade to the latest devices as the previous models still work just fine. The new ones just perform better. My iPad 2 was fantastic when I bought the 4. It seemed fast and the battery lasted over 10 hours. I picked up the 4 and it's faster and the screen is more crisp. I didn't need it... but the heck, I bought into the marketing propaganda and picked one up. I could be using an iPad 2 today and still be content.

3. jojoba macrumors 68000

I upgraded my 2gen iPad (which was my first) when retina came, because I use my iPad extensively to read scientific articles and it made the reading experience that much better. I'm currently perfectly happy with my 3gen and don't expect I'll upgrade for a while. It's fast for my use patterns, and I have nearly 20 GB left of storage of my 64. Some kind of storage upgrade or a major weight reduction might be attractive in the future. The one thing that would make me upgrade in a minute is predictive text keyboard.