What OS do you use?

What OS do you use?

  • OS 9

    Votes: 8 19.5%
  • OS 10

    Votes: 0 0.0%
  • OS 10.1

    Votes: 32 78.0%
  • OS 10.2

    Votes: 2 4.9%

  • Total voters
    41

iGav

macrumors G3
Mar 9, 2002
9,025
1
OSX.1 normally.......

And OS 9.2.2 for AE and Combustion rendering, also use it for scanning, audio work and the net.

Affraid there's still software I'm waiting to be released before I can truely make the jump over to OSX.......

Come on Macromedia...... :rolleyes:
 

ear2ear

macrumors member
Feb 23, 2002
59
0
Toronto
9.1

Until Digidesign releases a OSX version of ProTools, my audio computer will remain in the 9.1 domain. The ibook I intend to grab for everyday use will be where I have my 10.1 fun.
 

Beej

macrumors 68020
Jan 6, 2002
2,139
0
Buffy's bedroom
10.1. But if anyone has a copy of 10.2 they'd like to share, I might be willing to give it a try... ;)

I used to boot into 9 every week or so, but I don't think I've been in 9 for a couple of months now. I still wouldn't comfortable not having 9 around, though.
 

Hemingray

macrumors 68030
Jan 9, 2002
2,915
26
Ha ha haaa!
Originally posted by Beej
I used to boot into 9 every week or so, but I don't think I've been in 9 for a couple of months now. I still wouldn't comfortable not having 9 around, though.
Ditto. It's been pretty nice now that I have GoLive 6 (for some reason I couldn't connect to the internet through classic, I'd have to reboot into 9). I can't remember the last time I booted into 9. I miss the speed, but OS X is just so much more convenient.
 

cleo

macrumors 65816
Jan 21, 2002
1,186
0
Tampa Bay Area, FL, USA
I'm a relative newbie to the world of Macs... I have a G4 iMac and an iBook, neither of which has ever been booted into OS 9.

(Which reminds me of a question I was going to ask. If I were to get rid of OS 9, 1) how would I go about doing it, and 2) would I still be able to use Classic?)

There is a G3 iMac in the house that gets booted into 9 occasionally for some audio mixing, but that one's not mine. :)
 

jefhatfield

Retired
Jul 9, 2000
8,803
0
os 9 with photoshop, illustrator, and pagemaker on an ibook with 160 MB of ram...things work ok

this machine would not run os x and those os x-ready graphics programs with any decent speed so i have not upgraded

my next mac, sometime next year, will be my full functioning os x machine and i will get the suite with photoshop illustrator pagemaker and acrobat on it...cheaper that way

on my compaq laptop, it's windows 98 and i tried windows 2000 but it wasn't fully compatible

so there is something to be said of having your hardware and software come from the SAME COMPANY

go apple inc
 

Beej

macrumors 68020
Jan 6, 2002
2,139
0
Buffy's bedroom
Originally posted by cleo
(Which reminds me of a question I was going to ask. If I were to get rid of OS 9, 1) how would I go about doing it, and 2) would I still be able to use Classic?)
You would not be able to use Classic if you deleted OS 9. For that reason, I would suggest not doing it, but hey, if you're comfortable with it, go for it. Just make sure you don't blame me when you need it :p

You'd have to give more specifics on how it is installed - is it as per Apple factory settings?
 

jefhatfield

Retired
Jul 9, 2000
8,803
0
why does this poll have one os 9 and three os x's

i only think of things in simple terms like os 9, os x, windows 98, windows xp, etc.

are there any BIG, i mean truly noticeable, differences between os x, 10.1, and 10.2?

i assume each time, the os becomes better and more efficient
 

iGav

macrumors G3
Mar 9, 2002
9,025
1
Originally posted by jefhatfield
why does this poll have one os 9 and three os x's

i only think of things in simple terms like os 9, os x, windows 98, windows xp, etc.

are there any BIG, i mean truly noticeable, differences between os x, 10.1, and 10.2?

i assume each time, the os becomes better and more efficient
True.......

I forgot to say I sometimes have to use Windows 2000 Pro for development work, and cross platform issues, I normally get away with running it on my TiBook, although there are times when I need a real PC.... :rolleyes: :D :p
 

eyelikeart

Moderator emeritus
Jan 2, 2001
11,897
0
Metairie, LA
I use OS 9.1 at work...

and on my TiBook I run X in most cases...unless I need to do work....in which case I go back to 9.2...

so I voted for both... ;)
 

chibianh

macrumors 6502a
Nov 6, 2001
783
1
Colorado
Well, I ditched the Mac when they went from 7.6 to 8. Missed OS8 and OS9. When OSX came out, i became interested again. I'm gonna be using OSX.1 the whole way. Only had to boot into 9 once to install Starcraft. It didn't change much from Os7. OSX was a drastic change. All in all, I like OSX.
 

Hemingray

macrumors 68030
Jan 9, 2002
2,915
26
Ha ha haaa!
Originally posted by jefhatfield
why does this poll have one os 9 and three os x's
Yeah, I think the 10.0 was a little unnecessary; no one in their right minds wouldn't have upgraded to 10.1. And the 10.2 is just an option for people to show off that they have software they shouldn't. ;)
 

Hemingray

macrumors 68030
Jan 9, 2002
2,915
26
Ha ha haaa!
Originally posted by chibianh
Well, I ditched the Mac when they went from 7.6 to 8. Missed OS8 and OS9. When OSX came out, i became interested again. I'm gonna be using OSX.1 the whole way. Only had to boot into 9 once to install Starcraft. It didn't change much from Os7. OSX was a drastic change. All in all, I like OSX.
Wow, you missed OS 8 AND 9? You missed a lot! ...and then again, you didn't. :D OS X must have been quite a refreshment from 7.6!
 

eyelikeart

Moderator emeritus
Jan 2, 2001
11,897
0
Metairie, LA
Originally posted by Hemingray


Wow, you missed OS 8 AND 9? You missed a lot! ...and then again, you didn't. :D OS X must have been quite a refreshment from 7.6!
hmm....anything is a refreshment from 7.6!!! :D
 

McFreggle

macrumors 6502a
Jul 18, 2001
524
495
Dendermonde/Leuven, Belgium
Originally posted by dukestreet
You need to add a catagory in your poll. I go both ways, 9 and 10.:D
Euhm dunno but isn't it possible to use checkboxes, so you can check multiple operating systems...


[ ] OS 8
[ ] OS 9
[ ] OS X 10.0
[ ] OS X 10.1
[ ] OS X Codename 'Jaguar'

[ ] Windows 95/98/Me
[ ] Windows NT/2000
[ ] Windows XP

[ ] Linux
[ ] Other (please specify in post)


Just a thought...

k.
 

McFreggle

macrumors 6502a
Jul 18, 2001
524
495
Dendermonde/Leuven, Belgium
Anyway... I myself have

  • One OS X only iBook
  • One OS 9 only iMac
  • One Windows 2000/Windows Me/Red Hat Linux trial boot PC
  • Two Windows 2000 PC's at work
  • Administration over one Windows 2000 PC and one Unix server

Understand why I want to select multiple os'es? :D

k.
 

Mr. Anderson

Moderator emeritus
Nov 1, 2001
22,561
0
VA
I didn't think you could select multiple choices! Oh well, I can't go back and edit my vote. I'll remember that next time. Thanks Eye
 

eyelikeart

Moderator emeritus
Jan 2, 2001
11,897
0
Metairie, LA
Originally posted by dukestreet
I didn't think you could select multiple choices! Oh well, I can't go back and edit my vote. I'll remember that next time. Thanks Eye
in some polls....whoever creates it can set multiple votes or not...this did not have it...

I used my capabilities to my advantage to vote for both... ;)

sorry...I read about the moderator thing going to my head...so I had make light of it...he he he :D
 

stromie952

macrumors regular
Apr 22, 2002
201
0
Rochester, NY
Using OS X.1.4 and loving every minute of it.
Can't wait for new Freehand and Dreamweaver MX

Definitely going to switch to 10.2 after it comes out though
 

eyelikeart

Moderator emeritus
Jan 2, 2001
11,897
0
Metairie, LA
Originally posted by stromie952
Definitely going to switch to 10.2 after it comes out though
I think that goes without saying...

everyone is going to 10.2 when it comes out...whether it's free or not... ;)
 
Register on MacRumors! This sidebar will go away, and you'll see fewer ads.